Casa de mi padre - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Casa de mi padre Reviews

Page 3 of 6
Ethan Alter
Television Without Pity
March 16, 2012
Maybe it's the language barrier, but Ferrell's mind seems elsewhere for the duration of the movie's slender, but still overlong 84-minute runtime.
Caryn James
James on screenS
March 16, 2012
This Spanish-language spoof of bad old Western movies is like a looser, goofier version of a Christopher Guest film.
James Verniere
Boston Herald
March 16, 2012
'Casa de mi Padre,' a comedy spoof from Will Ferrell and company, may be the mostly Spanish-language answer to Three Amigos.'
Full Review | Original Score: B plus
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
March 16, 2012
Relatively tame when it comes to mindlessness, finding more joy in Armando's inability to roll a cigarette than the potential of his heroic posture.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Susan Granger
SSG Syndicate
March 16, 2012
Racist, repetitive and ridiculous - unless you're a devoted fan of Spanish telenovas.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
March 16, 2012
Ferrell is an hombre loco. Mi gusta.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
March 16, 2012
If Casa de mi Padre does nothing else, it establishes once and for all that comedian Will Ferrell can, within budgetary reason, come up with whatever deranged cinematic concept he can think of and actually get it made.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
Boxoffice Magazine
March 16, 2012
Will Ferrell tiene cojones grandes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Radheyan Simonpillai
NOW Toronto
March 16, 2012
Casa De Mi Padre will only afford you modest pleasures -- dry smirks as opposed to riotous laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Willie Waffle
WaffleMovies.com
March 16, 2012
I can't say the world was crying out for a parody of Spanish language Telenovelas, but this is the best one you will ever see.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
March 16, 2012
A product as cheap, empty and worth of a good beating as a piņata.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
March 16, 2012
For a movie with basically one idea -- spoofing the telenovela -- "Casa" is determined to take it as far as possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
March 16, 2012
Really, Casa de mi Padre is a skit blown up to a feature flick, amusing for a while until its welcome wears out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jim Slotek
Jam! Movies
March 16, 2012
Casa de mi Padre is one of those Holy Grail endeavours that taunt all comic actors -- an attempt to make a deliberately bad movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Sara Stewart
New York Post
March 16, 2012
As a full-length feature, "Casa" is simply a funny concept that starts to go stale around the 10-minute mark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
March 16, 2012
It's perfect for a short clip on FunnyorDie.com. Padded out to feature length, with a bunch of other slight and unmemorable laughs, it wears thin.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Bob Westal
Bullz-Eye.com
March 15, 2012
An often very funny but terribly haphazard spoof of low-budget south of the border pop culture.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
March 15, 2012
A loopy trifle that sticks around and is best remembered in hindsight, this could very well be a cult hit in the making.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
San Francisco Chronicle
March 15, 2012
It's really strange, and it's really subtitled.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
March 15, 2012
Is "Casa de Mi Padre" brilliant or pointless? Indubitably it's both, as Ron Burgundy might put it.
Page 3 of 6