Casa de mi padre Reviews

Page 2 of 60
September 13, 2015
Subtle humor, blend of Mel Brooks and Monty Python sensibilities. Watch closely for the silly discontinuities, sets, dumb edits, etc. A very funny turn, if you take it all in. Ferrell is a comic genius, not to speak of a great actor.
½ August 22, 2015
Entertaining and funny. Will make you laugh long after watching the movie with it campy depictions. Unless you are oblivious to the intentional campiness, you find the move amusing. Violence, special effects, dialogue, scene filming are so intentionally bad as it is intended to make you laugh and succeeding in doing so. .
April 16, 2014
Don't even start to ask me why but I absolutely loved this film! Strangely looking and sounding like one of these 'telenovela' flick from Latin America, this is actually a really funny and entertaining comedy with a Will Ferrell more toned down than usual. It was filled with references to these 50's romantic comedy from Latin America and done with a lot of humor and taste. Just watch it, it's a delight from start to finish.
June 16, 2015

A comedy about two brothers (played by Will Ferrell and Diego Luna) in Mexico, fighting a drug baron (played by Gael Garcia Bernal). Meanwhile, a beautiful women (played by Genesis Rodriguez) adds to the intrigue...

While it has some pretensions to being a modern western, the movie is clearly intended to be a comedy. Problem is, it's not that funny. The humour is offbeat, Mel Brooks sort of stuff. However, Blazing Saddles this is not - Blazing Saddles is funny...

Therein lies the problem, I think - if the joke doesn't hit its mark it bombs entirely, and there are far more misses than hits in this movie.

So what you have is mostly just silliness, rather than humour.
½ June 10, 2015
It's like they tried to make an Austin Powers here, to an extent. They failed, but, what exists is still an interesting way to keep Spanish words flowing into your ears. It was good, it touches on some good stuff, and has some good music in it. The intro song is highly misleading as to how 'big' this movie will feel, but still, it's a good film, in my view.
May 18, 2015
Casa de mi Padre is a tongue-in-cheek satire of western movies set in Mexico and the way American film making has treated the Spanish culture in Hollywood. As the blatant tool, getting Will Ferrel to deliver all his lines in Spanish whilst acting the hero is comedy gold. The mere act of seeing him attempt to act seriously and speak Spanish is beautiful in its own right. Playing on all the cliches, on and "off" screen, Casa de mi Padre leaves no stone unturned in who and what it wants to poke fun of. Some deliveries are flat and predictable, whilst some of pure gold and hilarious. This strange film hits a niche market and will not be appreciated by most, but for those that can appreciate its intentional stupidity, it is genius.
½ May 12, 2015
One of the most entertaining movies I've watched... Humor is in the subtext, so it's not the most riotously funny. But when you appreciate the awkward satire, you love what you see
March 29, 2015
A Funny or Die skit that's been stretched out to a seemingly too long 80 minutes.
March 27, 2015
It was.. odd. Don't expect anything and you'll be pleasantly confused.
½ November 30, 2014
Will Ferrell stars as Armando Alvarez in Casa de mi Padre. Casa de mi Padre, all in Spanish, is a comedy about the drug trafficking, and how although he is a rancher, he finds out his brother has ventured into drugs. Casa de mi Padre is a decent movie, but fails to really to be too funny, and at times takes it self too seriously. Genesis Rodriguez was stunning, but that might be the only take away from this movie.
June 18, 2013
Whilst not being utterly hilarious, you have to admire the attempt. I'd love to know whether this film is a hit in Spanish speaking countries, indeed Mexico. In any language, if you are a Ferrell fan, there is enough to please. Story wise, it's definitely thin, but this fits in nicely to the FOD and Spoils Of Babylon fold of ode's to 70's niche films/TV.
½ January 5, 2014
141102: I'm going to put this one right up there with Nacho Libre. Brought me many laughs. Good movie.
½ October 17, 2014
Spoof of the western films and films of 50 - 70"s good comedy a nice watch.
½ October 9, 2014
When is Will Ferrell going to get credit for being the genius he is? While Casa de mi Padre is certainly no Gone with the Wind or even Anchorman, it is a brilliant experiment that was much funnier than I had been led to believe. Will's lily white ass amongst his supposed Hispanic family, fake white tigers, intentionally poor edits, telenovela drama, all done in Spanish...comic genius. As Roger Ebert once said, if you didn't get this movie, it says more about you than the film itself.
September 12, 2014
It's a fun play on Mexican telenovas with plenty of other satire concerning westerns and movie-making in general. Will Ferrell makes and breaks this movie all at once according to everyone who's bothered to rate or review this one. I enjoyed it but it clearly could have been executed better, but everyone involved had fun.
½ August 31, 2014
"Casa de mi Padre" is one of those regular SNL skits that was somehow extended into a full length movie. And although the movie succeeds at some few funny moments, the film wastes its potential by trying to make us care for characters that are either too over-the-top or painfully uninteresting. Will Ferrell talks spanish real bad, and that is funny the first fifteen minutes, but turns annoying really quickly. Diego Luna and Gael Garcia Bernal are given the most boring dialogues in scenes I felt were never ending. In fact, the whole movie felt an eternity. Casa de mi Padre is a failed attempt at a definite Robert Rodriguez-inspired satire, that is way overlong besides its 1-hour-and-20-minutes duration, and way underproduced for a Will Ferrell Comedy. Just go watch "Machete" instead.
½ August 20, 2014
muy mala no es una pelicula de accion ni comica
½ August 4, 2014
What can I say about this movie? It was a big fiasco with a few good scenes and many bad ones.
July 25, 2014
gringos are crazy, man!
½ July 19, 2014
A valiant effort to make a Spanish-language Western/parody, but it falls a little flat. It's quick (80min), but feels quite long and not a whole lot actually happens. Ferrell is good, but nothing special, and there's no truly funny moments, just lots of little silly bits, such a cameramen in reflections, fake backdrops, mannequins instead of people, etc. Interesting idea, but not suitable for a whole film.
Page 2 of 60