Cast Away Reviews

Page 1 of 8
John A. Nesbit
Old School Reviews
May 16, 2012
one-man show
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Tom Hanks' powerful, brutal and mature story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nick Rogers
September 25, 2010
As melancholy as it is affirming, "Cast Away" tells a darkly comic, occasionally punishing parable about what happens when humans lose sight of humility in life's grand scheme - an interesting thematic twin to Tom Hanks' own "Joe vs. the Volcano."
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Brian Orndorf
December 7, 2009
Remains one of the more vividly transporting films I've come into contact with. It's heartbreaking, darkly comedic, bravely observational, and ultimately, pure emotional poetry.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
A gripping survival drama and one of my favorites of 2000.
Bob Grimm
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
The beginning and ending of the film are a bit underdeveloped, but that's just quibbling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rob Gonsalves
February 3, 2008
Zemeckis' tranquil control never wavers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
December 8, 2007
I wish that all of the film's 144 minutes were spent alone with Hanks.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
This is Mr. Zemeckis' most confident directing to date. If he only had as much faith in his audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Doris Toumarkine
Film Journal International
January 5, 2007
Thoroughly entertaining and skillfully rendered.
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Though Hanks comes across as blandly as ever, at least his solid performance shows he's up to carrying half a movie on his own, and Zemeckis' direction is at first as busily efficient as the protagonist.
Ron Wells
Film Threat
December 6, 2005
It's really kind of ironic. The old Chuck's life is ruled by the clock. Once he's learned better, we don't get enough time with him because the author's decided it was time to go. Oh, well.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
December 6, 2004
While his philosophical ventures seem stuck in the shallow end of the pool, Zemeckis takes an important step forward as a filmmaker.
| Original Score: B
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
January 9, 2004
This isn't a first time a long-awaited movie has turned out to be a crushing disappointment and it won't be the last, but the loss is made even more wrenching when one considers how little it would have taken to make Cast Away a great movie.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jeanne Aufmuth
Palo Alto Weekly
May 14, 2003
It's a risky venture, and a fascinating, straightforward glimpse into the soul of a man.
| Original Score: 3/4
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
March 19, 2003
When I prayed to the film divinities that I wanted less Tom Hanks at the movies, I didn't just mean that I wanted him to be thinner.
Full Review | Original Score: C
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
If all of Cast Away were as gripping as its long midsection, it would be overwhelming; still, even with its flaws, it marks another milestone performance for Tom Hanks as well as for Robert Zemeckis.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Jeff Ryan
December 12, 2002
Cast Away says what you (yes, you) would end up doing if you were on a deserted island.
Matthew Turner
October 30, 2002
An enjoyable, moving drama in which you'll believe a man can love a volleyball. Highly recommended.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
October 21, 2002
Hanks made more faces and walked around with his mouth open more than I might have liked, but he has a way of revealing his thoughts without words that kept me intrigued.
Page 1 of 8