Cat Run Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
September 2, 2013
When Julian(Alphonso McAuley) and Anthony(Scott Mechlowicz) open a private detective business in Montenegro of all places, their first case turns out to be trying to find Catalina(Paz Vega) who also just happened to steal Julian's cell phone and Anthony's car and is now having a lot of trouble trying to get out of the country. She is also the last survivor of a massacre wherein she absconded with a hard drive that Carver(Karel Roden) desperately wants back. So, he sends Helen Bingham(Janet McTeer) to get it back for him.

"Cat Run" is a fairly entertaining comic thriller with a very high body count and delusions of a sociopolitical statement. As such, there is nothing here that we have not seen many times before, especially in its convoluted plot. Well, there is the terrific Janet McTeer taking the movie and running with it in a change of pace role as far as it will go. That's got to be worth something, right?
PantaOz
Super Reviewer
½ December 16, 2011
What a waste of time!

I watched this movie manly because it was made in Montenegro and I am familiar with most of the places there... but I can tell you that it's not worth spending more than five minutes watching it - at the beginning... if you like naked girls scenes (actually even those girls were not very classy).

Having cravings for a movie with gaping holes in a plot, soft porn, stupidity, old Eastern European cars, worst of the European, American and Balkan actors, lots of violence and blood - this is your film!
March 31, 2011
I've been following this movie on various sites trying to figure out if I want to see it. It's starting to grow on me. We'll see...
½ March 31, 2011
Have to love that Janet McTeer is in this movie, not to mention she's one of the killers! April 1st has been reserved on my planner for the premier.
June 19, 2014
Excuse me miss, but could you steal someone else's car?

Cat is a high end escort who gets caught in the middle of a political scandal overseas involving an American senator. During her escape process, she stumbles across two European entrepreneurs and uses them to get away. She doesn't anticipate the entrepreneurs starting their own detective agency and using their encounter with her as their first case. Can the two detectives save her?

"Do you girls know each other?"
"No."
"You soon will."

John Stockwell, director of Under Cover, Blue Crush, Turistas, Middle of Nowhere, Dark tide, Dark Tide, and Kid Cannabis, delivers Cat Run (and the upcoming Cat Run 2). The storyline for this picture was actually entertaining and the dialogue was comical and well written. The action scenes were well delivered but the sex was a bit overdone. The cast delivers above average performances and includes Paz Vega, Janet Mc Teer, D. L. Hughley, Tony Curran, Christopher McDonald and Michelle Lombardo.

"Looking at her beasts, I'm thinking milk."
"You do? I look at her titties and think half and half."

I actually came across this film on Netflix and thought the plot sounded worthwhile (and the Netflix rating was higher than I anticipated). I found the characters very humorous and well written and I would definitely watch the sequel. This is a solid action picture with a decent plot, but not overly unique, and mediocre dialogue. I'd watch this once if you haven't seen it.

"What kind of person does that, cut a one armed man's arm off?"

Grade: C+
½ January 2, 2014
Cat Run is a poorly executed, far too ambitious attempt at a buddy cop (detective) black comedy, that falls for nearly every pitfall, struggling to find its true identity.
December 19, 2013
My Favorite Film Is 1941's Citizen Kane.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
September 2, 2013
When Julian(Alphonso McAuley) and Anthony(Scott Mechlowicz) open a private detective business in Montenegro of all places, their first case turns out to be trying to find Catalina(Paz Vega) who also just happened to steal Julian's cell phone and Anthony's car and is now having a lot of trouble trying to get out of the country. She is also the last survivor of a massacre wherein she absconded with a hard drive that Carver(Karel Roden) desperately wants back. So, he sends Helen Bingham(Janet McTeer) to get it back for him.

"Cat Run" is a fairly entertaining comic thriller with a very high body count and delusions of a sociopolitical statement. As such, there is nothing here that we have not seen many times before, especially in its convoluted plot. Well, there is the terrific Janet McTeer taking the movie and running with it in a change of pace role as far as it will go. That's got to be worth something, right?
May 16, 2013
The Villains were awesome. The heroes were adequate. The story was good. The action was well done. All together, a fun ride and well directed. Janet McTeer stole the show.
April 30, 2013
This movie is a great blend of action, suspense and comedy in the tradition of Boondock Saints and Pulp Fiction. Don't let the other reviewers stop you from enjoying this awesome ride.
½ March 7, 2013
A nonsensical but thoroughly amusing bloody mass killer, Pulp Fiction kind of movie. Loved it.
½ March 6, 2013
This is a terrible movie -- a blatant rip off of Tarantino. The only redeeming thing in the film is Janet McTeer's performance as a merciless killer.
February 26, 2013
Over-the-top European violent chase comedy, if a triple amputee having a fight with a lethal Mary Poppins-like assassin is your idea of fun this is your movie. Bring the popcorn. A senator accidentally kills a prostitute in Eastern Europe and a hooker who is a mother with a heart of gold escapes the slaughter of witnesses and steals the car and cell phone of two Americans. The two decide to start a detective agency. First case - tracking her down before the assassins.
½ September 25, 2012
This is a bad movie but the actors make it fun, especially Janet McTeer who is excellent. Paz Vega is actually the weak link and probably the least important character, oddly enough, considering they tried to market the film around her face and body.
½ July 2, 2012
Lotsa of titties on this movies 12 pairs , I counted but none of them were Paz Vega's . So officially this show blows
June 25, 2012
Not at all original just a ripoff of Red, Snatch, and Taranito's films. Silly plot with some bad acting. It was a little entertaining in parts but a forgetable DTD film.
½ January 2, 2012
After coming close to shutting this film off merely 25 minutes in, I struggled through the next 40, only to shut it off for good 1 hour and 5 minutes into the 106 minute runtime of this disastrous film. Poor casting, bland humour, and a whole host of ridiculous scenes make this film excruciatingly boring to watch. It's hard to care about anything that's at stake, and the childish attempts at humour don't work when this film isn't trying to be like Johnny English (2003). Give this a miss!
December 27, 2011
The script has some holes but in total, it still is likeable.
Page 1 of 4