Cecil B. Demented Reviews

Page 1 of 29
Super Reviewer
½ April 20, 2015
At first, it seems like John Waters wants to make an audacious hate letter to mainstream cinema with some nice moments of brilliance, but then you realize his "revolutionaries" are a bunch of freaking tards and the film gets too over-the-top and all over the place to have a point.
Super Reviewer
May 7, 2008
Full Of GRACE!
Super Reviewer
½ April 18, 2008
De-ment-ed For-ev-er!!! I have no clue why people think this is not as good as Waters' other work. So vastly under-rated, waaaay better than Sunset Boulevard or Day of the Locust when it comes to a movie about movies.
Super Reviewer
½ December 27, 2006
I'll say it: I'm not a big John Waters fan. But I didn't hate this.
Super Reviewer
March 20, 2007
Among the better of the over-the-top films that satisfies pubescent angst in the middle-school years of a teenagers life. Sadly, it doesn't amount to much more than that... Which would be exactly what Cecil would have wanted, anyway. Snuff, porn and action movies are the genres of honor here, and they all have their moments of half-parody, half-homage.
Super Reviewer
December 22, 2006
Very odd... just like all of Waters' films
Super Reviewer
½ November 20, 2006
Not Waters' best, but not his worst either.
Nate Z.
Super Reviewer
½ February 23, 2006
[font=Arial][color=darkred]John Waters' latest excuse to venture outside of the home is a full out assault on the commercialism and corporate sap prolificating the film industry today. 'Cecil B. Demented' is as much a commentary, or a ferocious editorial, than a comedy. Waters' opinion is easily known as a militant group of "film terrorists" attack cinema and any 'Patch Adams' that dare get in their way. Stephen Dorff leads the pack as they kidnap a famous movie starlette (Melanie Griffith) and brainwash her Patty Hearst style. The end result is a band of misfits trying to seize the world from bad movies - a noble cause I'd say. The movie is short but feels long at times. 'Cecil B. Demented' is at its caustic best when the film terrorists are in action battling the ills of society and cinema. What's surprising is the amount of action in a John Watters' film - consider this his 'Die Hard'. Some of the jokes are off kilter but gut-bursting ("Porno fans, your queen needs your help!"), while just a few are tiresome (Forest Gump 2? *sigh*). John Waters' social commentary/comedy is sadisitic joy to see. And who doesn't enjoy seeing a bad movie tortured a bit?[/color][/font]

[font=Arial][color=darkred]Nate's Grade: B[/color][/font]
Super Reviewer
½ April 4, 2012
John Waters manages to take the piss out of commercial cinema, independent cinema, guerilla cinema, and cult cinema in one go. Everything you need to know is in the title. Genius!
Super Reviewer
October 16, 2011
Not As Good As Waters' Ex Films, But Still Worth Watching!!! Watch out for Maggie Gyllenhaal!!!
Super Reviewer
December 10, 2007
I know that John Waters' intentions were good, but he comes across like an angry teenager yelling as loud as he can trying to prove the same point over and over, which is ironic given that this movie was made during Waters' more mainstream (and bigger budgeted) phase. I just saw the movie yesterday and can't even remember the scenes because they are all so much alike.
Super Reviewer
April 25, 2008
This movie is annoying and horrible.
Super Reviewer
May 27, 2007
Being a cinephile of sorts and not being very happy about the state of mainstream cinema, this film really kicks ass for me. It's also made ironic in that it's not an independant film and uses name actors.
Super Reviewer
½ May 7, 2007
A fun film about a renegade filmmaker, who kidnaps an actress.
½ September 8, 2015
Didn't like it the first time I saw it, decided to watch it again, with Dan this time. Might have disliked it even more this time around. Dan didn't even want to finish it.
December 4, 2013
One of those movies you watch as it catches your eye as you change channels. Bad decision. This was a dumb movie with little to like about it. A bad premise with bad execution. Way too much "shoot-em-up" in a movie that was about the rebellious attitude of independent film. Maybe a spoof within a spoof but I didn't like it.
½ January 16, 2010
Combines two of my obsessions: movies and Baltimore. Plus, I've been a lot of places shown in the movie.
½ June 5, 2007
Maggie Gyllenhaal plays a great Satanist. Best role of Stephen Dorff's career, not that that's saying much.
July 4, 2009
The Best Independent Movie of Our Time. It's about an Indie Film Producer trying to make it big in a hilarious and grousome ways. You have to see this movie!!!!!
May 10, 2009
I'm shocked I had to track this film down, I mean something of this calibur. It must be a studio thing. Well, I'm not sure actually. I can't really tell if John Waters is ultimately comitted to the messages conveyed in Cecil B. DeMented or if he's playing it for laughs. Whatever the case I now have a film to point to when asked why the average film-goer deserves a fate worse than death. The story's entire drive is one message: mainstream cinema sucks. While I do admit to enjoying the occasional big budget flick I think I tend to agree with the characters in Waters' film. It's by the book (mine anyway). What a perfect satire. A bunch of radical cinephiles terrorize the Boston area? Amazing. I hope this film reaches a much larger audience, the audience it deserves to have. Demented forever!
Page 1 of 29