Centurion Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Matt Joseph
We Got This Covered
November 9, 2013
Centruion is an exciting and intense action/adventure film with fantastic fight scenes and strong acting.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Roger Moore
Movie Nation
January 18, 2013
A darned entertaining outing from a director who knows action and doesn't share Hollywood's fear of period pieces that don't involve Greek gods.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Michael Fassbender can carry a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
March 10, 2011
With a raucous, gruesome tone, this Roman-era British action movie takes us back in time in such a vivid way that we often feel a bit queasy while watching. If the story were stronger, we'd be glued to the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jason Best
Movie Talk
March 10, 2011
The sight of a technologically superior occupying force coming a cropper in hostile foreign territory inescapably brings modern Afghanistan to mind.
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
January 3, 2011
Auteur cinema of a very narrow stripe, this personalizes a familiar genre to advance a singularly pessimistic view of humanity.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
December 7, 2010
Director Neil Marshall thrills yet again setting forth his own vision of the gladiator epic that pays tribute to the classic tropes of the sub-genre, but is concurrently a revenge film and journey in to darkness...
Brian Tallerico
Movie Retriever
September 17, 2010
Features a commitment to craft that helps overcome issues of storytelling by providing a visceral, violent experience designed to get you in your gut and bones more than in your heart or head.
Mike Russell
Oregonian
September 10, 2010
If I believed in the concept of "guilty pleasures," I'd classify Centurion as one, but I think I maybe just kind of enjoyed it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
September 7, 2010
A pre-chainsaw extravaganza where the Romans talk like James Bond and the Picts have better military backgrounds than the American generals who invaded Afghanistan.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 3, 2010
Marshall's film has a good helping of subtle smarts, but he is more concerned through most of the running time with carnage and bloody thrills.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.9/10
Christian Toto
What Would Toto Watch?
September 3, 2010
Centurion is like 'Gladiator' directed by Freddy Krueger
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Anthony Lane
New Yorker
August 30, 2010
The film has a resigned bitterness, hard to shake off, that feels right for the experience of tough guys, from whatever period of history, who find themselves at the tattered edge of what they take to be civilization.
August 27, 2010
Centurion treats arterial sprays like Sex and the City treats shoes.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Michelle Orange
Movieline
August 27, 2010
Centurion is part heroic mission film, part curious wartime picaresque. It's also a product of Marshall's idiosyncratic idea of period fidelity.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune
August 27, 2010
A gritty, grueling, bloody adventure, with exciting action-set pieces and a dogged refusal to assign white and black hats.
Matt Prigge
Philadelphia Weekly
August 27, 2010
Even for the seasoned gorehound, Marshall's films hack off body parts you've never seen hacked off before -- or ever thought you'd want to.
| Original Score: B
Rob Vaux
Mania.com
August 27, 2010
Lean, riveting, and taking no prisoners.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Rob Nelson
Minneapolis Star Tribune
August 27, 2010
Bloody well done.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Leslie Felperin
Variety
August 27, 2010
Rousing if slightly predictable.
Page 1 of 6