Certified Copy (Copie Conforme) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Certified Copy (Copie Conforme) Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Martin Tsai
Critic's Notebook
October 7, 2015
While the people those characters encounter readily buy into their story as moviegoers ordinarily would, Mr. Kiarostami invites his viewers to second-guess his film and their own perceptions.
Sean Burns
The Improper Bostonian
May 12, 2015
Certified Copy reminded me why I love movies.
Christopher Long
Movie Metropolis
August 21, 2012
Abbas Kiarostami's Tuscan sun-dappled enigma is the cinematic gift that is going to keep on giving for decades.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
May 24, 2012
Binoche and Shimell keep us fully engaged with their characters throughout their conversations, and Kiarostami draws us in with his signature mixture of long takes and intimate close-ups
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Josh Larsen
January 6, 2012
...impossibly romantic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 23, 2011
I could assess the performances (Juliette Binoche is better than ever). ... But I can't treat Certified Copy with a critic's typical detachment. I'm in love with it.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Michael Nordine
Film Threat
October 25, 2011
Kiarostami has woven together a veritable tapestry of the mind: here a stray thought, there an oft-disputed theory.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
September 28, 2011
Tal vez intentar buscar respuestas a tantas preguntas sea no sólo una pérdida de tiempo sino contradecir el discurso sin ataduras que nos propone Kiarostami, lleno de interrogantes que no pretenden ser respondidas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
June 10, 2011
It may be merely a copy of life, but in its power, mystery, confusion and emotional resonance, 'it leads us to the original.'
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
May 20, 2011
The only thing I can say for certain is that we can put our trust in the hands of a master filmmaker like Kiarostami, who engages the mind at the same time he pierces the heart. "Certified Copy" is the real deal.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Margot Harrison
Seven Days
May 18, 2011
It's like watching the two halves of Blue Valentine playing simultaneously.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
May 15, 2011
... an elliptical, unresolved story that may frustrate those who want all accounts balanced by the end of the day.
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
May 6, 2011
So absorbing a work of such obvious mastery on all levels that one comes away immediately certain that the medium has just clicked up another notch.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Dan Gear
May 5, 2011
If the term "arthouse" usually makes you cringe, [...] you'd better stop reading this and see what else is playing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
April 30, 2011
Were it not for the transcendent presence of Binoche (and her transfixing cleavage), I suspect Certified Copy might feel even more like homework.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
April 29, 2011
Sophisticated aspirations are realized without strain
Grae Drake
April 29, 2011
Spoken in three different languages, with various coffee, wine, and bread products consumed by the characters, it satisfies on almost every level.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
April 28, 2011
The best way to look at this is as an acting exercise. As long as your patience holds, it's mildly diverting.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
April 27, 2011
. The basic plot - a man and a woman traveling and talking - is reminiscent of Richard Linklater's Before Sunrise/Before Sunset films, but the way in which Certified Copy calls into question the nature of reality is more akin to Inception.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Michele Kenner
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
April 21, 2011
Prompts many questions about the true nature of art and love, not all of them answered.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 7