Charlie's Angels Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Charlie's Angels is like the trailer for a video game movie, lacking only the video game, and the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
January 1, 2000
There's no style and precious little entertainment value.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
The film is the equivalent of the 'dumb blonde' of action movies. No plot? No problem. Smile pretty now.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
January 1, 2000
Charlie's Angels commits the worst movie sin of all: It wastes our time.
Top Critic
Nigel Floyd
Time Out
February 9, 2006
This is nothing but trailer moments. Ex-pop video director McG couldn't organise a pillow fight in a bedding factory.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
June 18, 2002
This wants to spoof macho action movies.... But lacking a coherent script to link the jokes, these Angels are left without a prayer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
January 1, 2000
Vapid and self-consciously kitschy, these gals are a 13-year-old boy's fantasy of a strong woman. This is Hollywood aiming T&A at little girls, but I wouldn't let any little girl I cared about see this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
January 1, 2000
This is not meant for the more discerning viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
January 1, 2000
The most expensive cheesecake movie ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
April 6, 2001
...an extended music video...flaunting pretty girls, gaudy images, blaring noises, and nonstop activity.
| Original Score: 4/10
Pablo Villaca
Cinema em Cena
May 31, 2002
Há coisas melhores na televisão.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David N. Butterworth
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 1, 2000
The T&A in this film is truly amazing, as if Russ Meyer served as creative consultant. I lost count of how many times an Angel shakes out her hair in slow-mo like a Keeshond wicking rainwater from its pelt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
January 1, 2000
Sure, it's easy on the eyes, but would a little brains be too much to ask?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
An utter debacle.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
January 1, 2000
There's no grace or wit here, no surprise -- and not even much nostalgia.
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
January 1, 2000
This choppily edited film looks like confetti.
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
January 1, 2000
I guess I'm just supposed to sit back and enjoy it, but somehow I feel exploited.
Michael Atkinson
Movieline
April 16, 2001
Aims so low it could stub your toes.
Robert Wilonsky
New Times
January 1, 2000
The director so underestimates his audience, he all but stands in the aisles and tells us what morons we are.
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org
February 7, 2001
...it might not be an overstatement to say that 'Charlie's Angels' actually lowers the paper-thin standard of TV-inspired movie productions a notch further.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4

CinemaBlend.com
August 12, 2002
Page 1 of 8