Opening

90% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
81% Get On Up Aug 01
88% Calvary Aug 01
0% Behaving Badly Aug 01
36% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

59% Lucy $43.9M
63% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
24% Tammy $3.5M
91% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
88% Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
87% What If Aug 08

Premieres Tonight

90% The Honorable Woman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Cheerleader Camp Reviews

Page 2 of 5
February 11, 2013
Cheerleader Camp is a routine, unstructured slasher film that never takes full advantage of the playboy models and even one of the cast members who would later become a high-profile pornstar for the nudity, which is especially sad because the film is a a slasher about cheerleaders.
So much of Cheerleader Camp makes no sense and confuses the viewer, and there isn't much blood or gore except in Pam's death scene, and even then it was unimpressive. A slasher film lacking much blood, gore or nudity is clearly a failure.
But Cheerleader Camp did have a decent premise for a generic slasher film and a decent lead from Betsy Russell considering the standard of the acting in the film, but she didn't have any nudity and considering that she was the immensely sexy woman from 1983's teen sex comedy Private School, that is a shame.
But it also gave a role to Leif Garrett who was better than the average actor in his situation. So Cheerleader camp is forgettable, but semi-decent by low budget slasher film standards, although that isn't much to boast about.
January 3, 2013
God I wish I can erase this one out of my memory but also erase it from ever existing. This low grade slasher film which is part Friday the 13th and Bring It On and some Meatballs-style hi-jinks thrown in for bad measure. 80's B movie Queen Betsy Russell stars as an emotionally fragile cheerleader who, with her squad including her boyfiend(Leif Garrett, yes folks Leif Garrett) go to Camp Harrah, a cheerleader camp where competitions are held. The cheerleaders are easily picked off one by one, due to the fact that they are not the brightest bunch of kids and they rightfully deserve it. Lucinda Dickey from Breakin' fame is on hand as the team's mascot who does a breakdance in her alligator costume! Everything about this movie is terrible, from the acting, directing and the story nothing is worth mentioning unless you want to see Leif Garrett in his undies then this is the movie for you, otherwise forget it.
The80sExpert
January 26, 2011
I'm conflicted, there were a couple of good death scenes, and I loved the ending, but Russell is the only good actor here and she barely gets to do anything interesting and there was so much boring stuff going on throughout. I like it, but I don't like it too.
Sleezboy
June 12, 2012
It is what it is, but that does not mean it is no good. The film is super ultra lame and that is cool! The fat guy in here is pretty fun although I wonder what it would be like if Chris Farley or Artie Lagne took on that role. Cheerleader Camp is ever so tasteful as cheerleaders five: girls (one of them a mascot) and two guys (one a potential party guy and other hideous) make their visit to Camp Hurrah. Once there, Alison (Betsy Russell) starts to notice her hideous boyfriend flirting with other girls unleashing a jealousy that has whatever girl killed within the next twenty four hours. A slasher, you bet your sweet butt. It may not be smart, but Cheerleader Camp is very entertaining in a lame way which features some decent gore, gratuitous nudity (its a buffet!), and ultra lame rapping that is very catchy. I enjoy this little gift I got. I would love to see a revamped remake or sequel. I would be willing to participate, wink.
June 12, 2012
It is what it is, but that does not mean it is no good. The film is super ultra lame and that is cool! The fat guy in here is pretty fun although I wonder what it would be like if Chris Farley or Artie Lagne took on that role. Cheerleader Camp is ever so tasteful as cheerleaders five: girls (one of them a mascot) and two guys (one a potential party guy and other hideous) make their visit to Camp Hurrah. Once there, Alison (Betsy Russell) starts to notice her hideous boyfriend flirting with other girls unleashing a jealousy that has whatever girl killed within the next twenty four hours. A slasher, you bet your sweet butt. It may not be smart, but Cheerleader Camp is very entertaining in a lame way which features some decent gore, gratuitous nudity (its a buffet!), and ultra lame rapping that is very catchy. I enjoy this little gift I got.
May 5, 2012
Porky's meets Sleepaway Camp. The overblown characters are pretty fun in their slightly knowing roles as slasher victims and with some reasonable attempts at kills the movie is watchable if generic.
January 30, 2012
Cheap made slasher and doesn't make much sense but if your slasher fan(like me)you will fall for its chessiness
February 28, 2009
High camp at cheerleader camp which delivers cheers, spirit, thrills and also a few laughs. Mascot competition, with a breakdancing alligator, is just as competitive as the cheerleading. Betsy Russell is just a pleasure to watch.
January 4, 2012
Divertido slasher, una combinación de Friday The 13th y Porky's, gamberradas y sangre al por mayor, sin pretenciones.
Brody M

Super Reviewer

April 18, 2011
Extra cheesy & super corny plus bad acting but I guess that's what makes it an 80's horror movie classic.Add this 1 to your So Bad It's Good folder
Sandman1968
January 13, 2011
If any movie sounds more fun on paper than it actually was, it's "Cheerleader Camp". All of the ingredients are ere for a camp classic, but boy are they wasted. The cast alone should be enough to warrant a winner, but nobody rises to the occasion. B-movie queen Betsy Russell mostly plays it straight here, and even worse, she keeps her clothes on. Lief Garrett comes off here are completely ridiculous playing a high schooler who looks like he's in his thirties, and co-star Travis McKenna is embarrassing. For whatever reason, he loves showing off his morbidly obese body, and his comic sidekick schtick is better suited for a "Porky's" movie.
There's nothing wrong with a tongue-in-cheek slasher flick, but this just isn't funny. The very idea of Garrett playing a teen-age cheerleader is funny, but the only laugh to be found here is the 80's-style rap number he performs with McKenna. Which leaves us with the horror elements, and they're not much more successful. The special effects are particularly weak, and the scares are non-existent.
It's weird that "FRiday the 13th" was the inspiration for so many of these films because this spends/wastes so much time on "character development". For the first hour, there are only three murders and only one of those are on screen. The fake blood starts flowing during the last thirty minutes, but by that time, it's a clearcut case of too little too late. The cast is full of male models and porn stars, but only Lorie Griffin made an impression in a funny, appealing supporting role.
The rest of "Cheerleader Camp" is a let down. This is merely a blip on the slasher radar.
therealgenius
December 11, 2009
Make it, want to see it BADLY. I love the opening (and ending) music in the trailer. If the whole film was as innovative as the score, or contain at least fifteen seconds of it, then I'm made, and so is the movie. I sound like a delusional fan of a horribly bad movie but remember, I HAVEN'T SEEN IT YET, and I tend to rate films like a tv guide channel that takes itself very seriously (two stars is a C+ and a five star film would be hard to come by). It should make one worry that Marcia Karr of Killer Workout did the casting for this movie because she absolutely sucks as an actress and can't even make it as an eyebrow actor (it's ok, Eric Freeman, you're still the man). I do see a usually petite Betsy Russell get the poofy hair treatment that makes her entire silhouette plump up a few notches. This film is breakin my heart, tearin apart, so %$@# you. ;-)
John2223
John2223

Super Reviewer

November 11, 2009
Give me an B! Give me an A! Give me an D!
What does that spell? BAD.
Yes, pretty bad, cheesy and stupid slasher with a couple of funny moments, some gore and nudity.
If you're a fan of the slasher genre, it's worth a look. It's certainly not the worst I've ever seen. Otherwise...Skip it!
PumpkinGetsASnakeBite
June 25, 2010
"we're talking some serious cheerleader meat" - joe bob briggs
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

June 9, 2010
Cheerleader Camp is really a guilty pleasure. The film is on par with Sleepaway Camp as being cleverly silly, yet somewhat scary at times. Cheerleader Camp is simply put, a fun little Horror film to watch. The film is not to be taken so seriously, and in the end, if you don't take it seriously, you'll discover that a fine film lies beneath its veneer of B grade fair. The cast is comprised of Betsy Russell, who would later be famous for playing the wife of homicidal madman, Jigsaw in the Saw series also in this film is teenaged heartthrob Leif Garrett and Playboy centerfold, Pamela Ferrati. The cast seem like they're having fun with this film and it shows on screen. Cheerleader Camp is not for everyone, but if you like silly B grade slasher flicks, give this one a shot. It's a better film than everyone suggests it to be.
TWIAL123
May 21, 2010
U havent seen Cheerleader camp?
Wednesday M.
February 2, 2010
Ok Good and and Bad Things about this film but i must tell you it a personal favouirt for me but ill be profesional

Good Stuff
The Movie Poster wow thats all i will say its amazing lol

Its A Good Plot too

Bad Stuff

Blood Looks too fake

The Fact it states it has a play boy model and an ex porn star in it lol but although it say this i dont think they were sexiest i think they expected this to be a hit film lol.


Squeel

Ok is there or isint there a Second one yes and no they were told if they mad a proffit they could do a second one and they did make a profit strange as it may seam and they made the script but they never made the film now not many knew this until the same people were making a film call Camp Fear with one of the Actress from Cheerleader Camp people asumed it was a Squeel than they story came out i just told you lol
jjb3332003
October 20, 2009
"Campy" horror movie that patterns itself, as so many do, on Friday the 13th.
ljsb1417
June 12, 2009
That was seriously horrible. Bad acting. bad comedic moments, but the ending was surprisingly good. The bad guy gets away with it!
Page 2 of 5
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile