• R, 1 hr. 46 min.
  • Comedy, Romance
  • Directed By:
    Alan Rudolph
    In Theaters:
    Jan 1, 1984 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 6, 2001
  • MGM Home Entertainment
  • Choose Me
    2 minutes 11 seconds
    Added: May 9, 2008

Opening

—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25
—— And So It Goes Jul 25
—— The Fluffy Movie Jul 25
92% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
56% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
45% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
20% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
48% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

—— Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Let's Be Cops Aug 13
—— The Expendables 3 Aug 15

New Episodes Tonight

73% Chasing Life: Season 1
—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
75% The Hotwives of Orlando: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Perception: Season 3
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
57% Tyrant: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

29% Backpackers: Season 1
—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Seed: Season 2
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
86% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
76% You're the Worst: Season 1

Choose Me Reviews

Page 2 of 3
March 5, 2014
It's a hard film to figure out but it's still one of the best times I had at the movies that year. You're never really certain whether some of the more outlandish ideas were carefully thought out or if the director lucked into some of his effects. Either way it works out beautifully. I still watch it at least 3 or 4 times a year.
AJ V

Super Reviewer

September 6, 2010
A pretty unique romance film. It isn't full of the typical romantic film cliches like other similar films. That doesn't mean that it's a great movie either. It's pretty good, as it's unique, has a nice cast of actors, and it's kind of interesting. That said, it could have been better. A little comedy never hurts, for one thing. So, I haven't seen this in a while, but that's what I have to say about what I remember of this film. Overall, it's pretty good, but more for the romantic drama fans.
January 27, 2013
CTeddy Pendergrass sings the movie title for this 1984 movie. This song was a big hit for Teddy. Famous Quote here "Fuck open dreams!" this movie is always a great watch. Helps you analyze certain behaviours. watch this movie and let me know what you think. On Cable too. Holla back
spiralrayonshorts
May 17, 2012
An Ex Hooker/Bar Owner...A Mental Hospital Escapee and A Radio Sex Therapist all come together in this really boring film about desperate sad people looking for anything to fill their stupid lives with.
Michael A.
May 17, 2012
Boring movie filled with sad,desperate people..so no wonder why it's so popular with the masses.
May 4, 2012
Interesting, if somewhat flawed, movie about a sex therapy host of a radio program who can't stop yapping to everyone she knows about relationships. She becomes roommates with Eve, who has man problems of her own, She loves a man, another man loves her, that other man is married to another woman, and that other woman has the hots for the original man. So it's a bit of a complex tale of relationships. It sometimes gets silly (especially when Genevive Buijold starts yapping) and nothing really is resolved. I seemed to recall a plotline like this on a Happy Days episode once. That had a better conclusion than this.
January 12, 2012
First I was like, "Oh, it's based on a play," then I was like, "Wait, it's not based on a play?" Then I was like, "That's the last Alan Rudolph movie I watch."
Luc L.
October 26, 2010
A nice style that is refreshing to see.
February 4, 2010
makes you think as well as wett!!!
August 18, 2010
great multiple plot drama that all the story lines intersect
March 23, 2010
A rather interesting cast with a very oddball storyline! I didn't see the whole movie so I can't give it an honest rating but, since what I did see of it was on the run-of-the-mill network TV where all of the good parts get cut out, then the only option for me is to search for it online and hope to catch it.

Looks to be more of a gem with a sizable amount of dud potential.
September 1, 2008
PAN AND SCAN. Un viaje. Cine del absurdo logrado con estilo y la profundidad suficiente. Buena atmósfera y excelente trabajo de camarografía (sin considerar el maldito pan and scan). / A trip. Cinema of the absurd accomplished with style and sufficient depth. Good atmosphere and excellent camerawork (notwithstanding that goddamned pan and scan)
Morris N

Super Reviewer

February 19, 2007
Unique. I've never seen anything quite like it. Saw it again recently and I still feel the same way. Very clever film.
sazebo
April 10, 2007
CTeddy Pendergrass sings the movie title for this 1984 movie. This song was a big hit for Teddy. Famous Quote here "Fuck open dreams!" this movie is always a great watch. Helps you analyze certain behaviours. watch this movie and let me know what you think. On Cable too. Holla back
jazza923
August 12, 2007
Over rated film, but it is still decent. The intertwining stories is interesting, but it is often slow moving and most of the performances are cold, and the characters are not very involving.
dcolegrove
July 5, 2007
Ann, a radio psychologist called Dr. Love, dispenses advice, but is hopelessly mal-adjusted herself. Eve, owner of a small bar, is beautiful and promiscuous, but as she's also lonely as hell. Into their lives walks Mickey, either a wayward genius or
julianroldan
June 5, 2007
Great cmedy with even better music.
blueowlboy
May 23, 2007
it all folds into and within itself in a serpentine set of relationships that are all brilliant
May 5, 2007
A great movie about romance, "Choose Me" has a great cast and great story. I remember seeing this film on HBO and when I saw it, I really loved it and still do.
Page 2 of 3
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile