Chopper Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
May 25, 2001
Engaging even as it is appalling.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
May 24, 2001
After about an hour, you realize that Chopper is sordid and bloody with no purpose.
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 24, 2001
Bana radiates the sort of warped charisma that explains how an ultraviolent convict could capture the public's imagination.
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
May 24, 2001
Like a lot of video-game violence, much of Chopper is meant to be perversely funny. But it's a different kind of perversely funny.
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
May 21, 2001
[Read's] unpredictability lends Chopper considerable suspense.
John A. Nesbit
Old School Reviews
May 21, 2001
Did you ever feel like you should take a shower after watching a film?
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
May 18, 2001
U.S. moviegoers probably won't understand what all the hubbub is about.
Top Critic

Washington Post
May 17, 2001
Bana's gift -- and his triumph -- is that he makes us somehow care about this magnetic monster, without ever letting us feel as if we've figured him out.
Brandon Judell
Bay Area Reporter
May 17, 2001
fatally unforgettable tale of a man who makes you ashamed to be human.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 11, 2001
Whether or not you care if Chopper lives or dies, you simply can't take your eyes off him.
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
May 4, 2001
Compelling and funny even when it is indiscriminately splattering blood.
Top Critic
Jay Carr
Boston Globe
May 4, 2001
A stylish, arresting, disturbing film.
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
May 4, 2001
Bana so inhabits his part as Chopper that it becomes hard to belief that he is just acting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Tor Thorsen
Reel.com
April 27, 2001
You walk away from Chopper feeling like you've met the man himself.
| Original Score: 3/4
David Elliott
San Diego Union-Tribune
April 27, 2001
If not quite pornography of violence, it comes sniffingly close.
Top Critic
Edward Guthmann
San Francisco Chronicle
April 27, 2001
It's Eric Bana ... who justifies our interest with a dazzling performance of blunt humor, unpredictability and an edge of menace.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeremiah Kipp
Filmcritic.com
April 18, 2001
Full of flawed, stylistic overdrive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
George Perry
BBC.com
April 16, 2001
Eric Bana ... plays him as an engaging villain with a deft talent for grotesque behaviour and caustic one-liners.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
April 16, 2001
Dominik's direction is fresh and lively, and the camerawork is exceptional.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Chuck Rudolph
Matinee Magazine
April 15, 2001
As the film quickly loses perspective of Chopper Read's alleged crimes and lifestyle, it begins to slowly glorify him as an icon of self-made celebrity.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Page 2 of 4