Cinderella Man Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 18, 2011
It ain't no Rocky, but it ain't half bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
July 6, 2010
The affection for Braddock and his story can be felt in every frame and heard in every word.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
The final justification that Russell Crowe is without a doubt one of the best actors to come along in years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 27, 2009
A very solid cast, one of the most reliable directors in Hollywood, and one of the most malleable subjects in film make Cinderella Man one of the best films of 2005 thus far.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
David Cornelius
DVDTalk.com
January 16, 2009
Cinderella Man plays like a movie actively hunting for awards. But it's also a pretty darn good story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Leigh Singer
Film4
July 31, 2008
Handsome, manipulative, simplistic. It packs an uplift that bludgeons you into submission.
Top Critic
David Ansen
Newsweek
November 1, 2007
Howard's movie skillfully delivers that primal, heart-pounding satisfaction that is the promise of all boxing tales.
Top Critic
Jay Ruttenberg
Time Out
August 17, 2007
As for the fights themselves, Howard brings nothing new to the canvas. Like the movie as a whole, they work fine enough, even while encased in leaden certitude.
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
Cinderella Man is a contender, but it's not exactly a knockout.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kam Williams
Princeton Town Topics
May 7, 2007
A cross between Seabiscuit (because of the Depression) and Rocky (because of the sport), yet a fine enough film to stand on its own, even if the production falls short of both in terms of its emotional punch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
April 19, 2007
And as far as Cinderella's pumpkins go, though the movie ends with Braddock's boxing triumph in Hollywood's notorious freeze-frame approach to history, both Braddock and Baer went on to be decked by Joe Louis.
Rex Roberts
Film Journal International
February 22, 2007
As entertaining and uplifting a film as we'll get all year.
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
October 30, 2006
At moments it almost had me, but for the most part I just felt cold and watched with all the interest of a disgruntled spectator.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Russ Breimeier
Christianity Today
September 22, 2006
A fine alternative to the louder and more brainless summer movies competing with it -- an excellent drama that relies on heart and action instead of schmaltz and melodrama.
| Original Score: 4/4
Douglas Pratt
Movie City News
July 21, 2006
Howard may have replicated the family scenes as accurately as if he'd found film from a camera hidden in the walls of the original Braddock apartment, and yet the movie can't shake the sense that the scenes away from the boxing ring are somehow false
James O'Ehley
SA Movie & DVD Magazine
July 6, 2006
The film wallows in the poverty and degradation of Crowe and his family, which is a real downer for a supposed feel-good movie . . .
Top Critic
Mark Salisbury
Time Out
June 24, 2006
The fight scenes have a stinging authenticity and, although at 144 minutes it outstays its welcome, this is Howard's best film since Apollo 13
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
June 1, 2006
Stirring and inspirational in the best and worst senses of these terms, this fact-based melodrama is stamped by the middlebrow sensibility of both director Ron Howard and writer Akiva Goldsman.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 26, 2006
I only wish Howard could have shaped this and the other performances a little, toning them down or leaving a bit of a rough edge.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 16, 2006
I have never rooted for a sporting event in my life like I rooted for Braddock. I was on the edge of my couch, balled fists on my knees, praying he would prevail...superbly edited, beautifully shot, sensitively acted, and with fantastic grit and texture
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 11