Opening

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
92% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
85% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
73% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
95% Gotham: Season 1
34% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Cinderella Man Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net

It ain't no Rocky, but it ain't half bad.

Full Review Source: ComingSoon.net | Original Score: 7/10

March 18, 2011
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews

The affection for Braddock and his story can be felt in every frame and heard in every word.

Full Review Source: Matt's Movie Reviews | Original Score: 4/5

July 6, 2010
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed

The final justification that Russell Crowe is without a doubt one of the best actors to come along in years.

Full Review Source: Cinema Crazed | Original Score: 4/4

April 29, 2009

A very solid cast, one of the most reliable directors in Hollywood, and one of the most malleable subjects in film make Cinderella Man one of the best films of 2005 thus far.

Full Review Source: CHUD | Original Score: 8/10

February 27, 2009
David Cornelius
DVDTalk.com

Cinderella Man plays like a movie actively hunting for awards. But it's also a pretty darn good story.

Full Review Source: DVDTalk.com | Original Score: 3.5/5

January 16, 2009
Leigh Singer
Film4

Handsome, manipulative, simplistic. It packs an uplift that bludgeons you into submission.

Full Review Source: Film4

July 31, 2008
David Ansen
Newsweek
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Howard's movie skillfully delivers that primal, heart-pounding satisfaction that is the promise of all boxing tales.

Full Review Source: Newsweek

November 1, 2007
Jay Ruttenberg
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

As for the fights themselves, Howard brings nothing new to the canvas. Like the movie as a whole, they work fine enough, even while encased in leaden certitude.

Full Review Source: Time Out

August 17, 2007
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound

Cinderella Man is a contender, but it's not exactly a knockout.

Full Review Source: Big Picture Big Sound | Original Score: 3/4

July 14, 2007
Kam Williams
Princeton Town Topics

A cross between Seabiscuit (because of the Depression) and Rocky (because of the sport), yet a fine enough film to stand on its own, even if the production falls short of both in terms of its emotional punch.

Full Review Source: Princeton Town Topics | Original Score: 3.5/4

May 7, 2007
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press

And as far as Cinderella's pumpkins go, though the movie ends with Braddock's boxing triumph in Hollywood's notorious freeze-frame approach to history, both Braddock and Baer went on to be decked by Joe Louis.

Full Review

April 19, 2007
Rex Roberts
Film Journal International

As entertaining and uplifting a film as we'll get all year.

Full Review Source: Film Journal International

February 22, 2007
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons

At moments it almost had me, but for the most part I just felt cold and watched with all the interest of a disgruntled spectator.

Full Review Source: Dark Horizons | Original Score: 2.5/4

October 30, 2006
Russ Breimeier
Christianity Today

A fine alternative to the louder and more brainless summer movies competing with it -- an excellent drama that relies on heart and action instead of schmaltz and melodrama.

| Original Score: 4/4

September 22, 2006
Douglas Pratt
Movie City News

Howard may have replicated the family scenes as accurately as if he'd found film from a camera hidden in the walls of the original Braddock apartment, and yet the movie can't shake the sense that the scenes away from the boxing ring are somehow false

Full Review Source: Movie City News

July 21, 2006
James O'Ehley
SA Movie & DVD Magazine

The film wallows in the poverty and degradation of Crowe and his family, which is a real downer for a supposed feel-good movie . . .

July 6, 2006
Mark Salisbury
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The fight scenes have a stinging authenticity and, although at 144 minutes it outstays its welcome, this is Howard's best film since Apollo 13

Full Review Source: Time Out

June 24, 2006
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com

Stirring and inspirational in the best and worst senses of these terms, this fact-based melodrama is stamped by the middlebrow sensibility of both director Ron Howard and writer Akiva Goldsman.

Full Review Source: EmanuelLevy.Com | Original Score: B+

June 1, 2006
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid

I only wish Howard could have shaped this and the other performances a little, toning them down or leaving a bit of a rough edge.

Full Review Source: Combustible Celluloid | Original Score: 2.5/4

May 26, 2006

I have never rooted for a sporting event in my life like I rooted for Braddock. I was on the edge of my couch, balled fists on my knees, praying he would prevail...superbly edited, beautifully shot, sensitively acted, and with fantastic grit and texture

Full Review Source: Cinerina | Original Score: 5/5

January 16, 2006
Page 1 of 11
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile