Clambake

Clambake

——

Opening

15% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
55% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
87% Bears Apr 18
55% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
73% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Clambake Reviews

Page 2 of 6
December 7, 2012
Could be worth a viewing, would like to see it sometime in the future.
June 17, 2012
Actually this one is my favorite Elvis movie.
cristipadova
May 8, 2011
ink un film irelevant
AJ V

Super Reviewer

September 5, 2010
Another okay Elvis movie, much like his other movies. I recently re-watched this one because I'm a fan of Bixby, who has a part in this one. It's actually pretty funny for the most part, but it's also silly and stupid and full of Elvis songs. Overall, it's okay.
Monsieur Rick
January 15, 2010
Get out your swim trunks and towel, we're going for a clambake!

Yeah, this is pure Elvis in another of his formula movies.
There really ought to be a genre entirely for the sixties musical dramas like these. Even Elvis knew they were pretty formula, meaning guy sees girl, guy courts girl, guy fights for girl, guy wins girl.

This is pure 60's nostalgia, so forget the RT rules of the road and find out how foolish life was like back then.

While not even attempting to be a serious film project, who cares? And Elvis, his acting is hopeless, but the setting is priceless as horrible dancing scenes and beach frolic contribute to a sheer look at what passed for films back then.

PS: give you a hint....the BiG screen always helps this kind of film, so do not expect much from your 32 inch hdtv.
getshort78
getshort78

Super Reviewer

February 3, 2010
Elvis Presley plays Scott Heyward, the son of a Texas oil millionaire in this thin storyline. Scott changes places with the poor but honest water-skiing instructor Tom Wilson (Will Hutchins) to find out if women love him for himself or his money. Tom goes to the posh penthouse previously occupied by Scott, and Scott takes over as the instructor. Scott's father Duster (James Gregory) blows a gasket when he finds out what his son is doing. Boat builder Sam Burton (Gary Merrill) talks Scott into driving his new boat in the big race. Elvis delivers 8 songs in one of the more lackluster vehicles of his 1960s film catalogue. A bevy of beauties, some exciting race scene, and glossy production all help this one across the finish line.
strmynites07
November 14, 2009
want to see this movie, love musicals
EvanAlmighty10
August 1, 2009
My favorite Elvis movie. Just a fun time. Has good comedy and great songs.
Lisa C.
July 5, 2009
Elvis Presley was not an actor but the movie is fun and entertaining all the same.
rosadellago
February 19, 2009
Ugh. I can't believe I watched this! The dreadful song "Clambake" was stuck in my head for weeks!
xxxcli213xxx
December 11, 2008
nothanks not my kinda thing
familyguy1956
September 3, 2008
I have mosty all of Elvis's movies.
herestyaa
July 26, 2008
great singing and cool as ever
Hamee
April 21, 2008
Eek! An Elvis Presley movie that I must never watch!!!
LilxxCutie
April 2, 2008
i thought this film was quite good
nenasangels
March 17, 2008
This is among one of his best movies.
samanthaaac
December 29, 2007
I love the cheesy Elvis movies. lol
December 8, 2007
We rented this movie knowing that it would be completely cheesey. We were actually quite surprised that it didn't suck as much as we expected. To start with, what's with the title? The one small clambake scene is entirely forgettable. The song "Clambake", however, will be forever remembered as one of the biggest rip-offs in musical history. "Mama's little baby loves clambake, clambake. Mama's little baby loves clambake, too." The entire prince and the pauper plot is sooooo cliche. Also, there's something quite hilarious about seeing Elvis in a chem lab. And let's not forget to mention the father who sounds like Foghorn Leghorn and looks like Yosemite Sam.

However, when that's all said and done, there's a certain something about this film that makes it mildly entertaining. I suspect that it's the curl of Elvis' lips and the fact that he's trying so hard to be a real actor that's endearing. The music isn't even half bad, other than the aforementioned "Clambake".

So, if you want to be transported back to a different time or are just looking for a good old dose of the predictable, rent it. If nothing else, it's worth a laugh. If you want extra laughs, watch the theatrical trailer.
amber01058705
November 27, 2007
I Love This Movie I Would Have To Say Its My Fav Elvis Movie
October 2, 2006
Classified as a classic = Interested.
Page 2 of 6
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile