Cloverfield Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Grabby 9/11 imagery, facile jolts, and smeared textures
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
January 16, 2008
Worthwhile only for the scale of the destruction and the sheer audacity of its marketing campaign.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
I think when they started filming Cloverfield, somebody accidentally dropped the camera. Someone else said, "Cool." So they kept dropping the camera. And they threw it, and jerked it, and kicked it. And it went into terminal spasms.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
January 17, 2008
Reeves's film works hard to negate any noteworthy meaning from its mayhem.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Diva Velez
TheDivaReview.com
February 28, 2008
I've never cheered so hard for the monster to win in my life.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
January 16, 2008
An old-fashioned monster movie dressed up in trendy new threads.
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
January 18, 2008
Works as a showcase for impressively realistic-looking special effects, a realism that fails to extend to the scurrying humans whose fates are meant to invoke pity and fear but instead inspire yawns and contempt.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Brian Orndorf
DVDTalk.com
January 17, 2008
Basically a 70-minute YouTube video, Cloverfield has all the head-rattling jolt and dramatic verisimilitude of a prank phone call.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
January 18, 2008
After seeing Cloverfield, I was so frustrated and disappointed that I felt like I needed a palate cleanser. I wanted to immediately go home and watch South Korea's The Host.
Kyle Smith
KyleSmithOnline.com
January 18, 2008
A combination of unpleasantness and stupidity that would be difficult to match, unless you were stuck in bed with the shingles while being forced to watch The Ghost Whisperer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Eric Kohn
New York Press
January 16, 2008
Too bad the movie is a less-than-satisfying experiment with contrived fake documentary aesthetics.
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
February 28, 2008
Nothing more than a gimmick from beginning to end, Cloverfield is a savvy marketing campaign masquerading as a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Michael Ferraro
Bronsonfive
January 15, 2008
Think Blair Witch meets Godzilla, and since that isn't the first or last time you'll read that comparison, think of a movie that results in something less profound.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 19, 2008
Despite being only 84 minutes, it seemed overlong and padded.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Jeremy Heilman
MovieMartyr.com
January 19, 2008
Ultimately a feature-length tease, the movie remarkably insubstantial and uninvolving for something that tries so desperately to live in the moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 38/100
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
January 23, 2008
The techs and the promise of scares is the draw for Cloverfield. Personally, I would wait for the DVD and rent it (but only on a big screen TV).
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Richard Corliss
TIME Magazine
January 17, 2008
We know only what they know, see what the videocamera sees. I.e., not much.
Top Critic
John Anderson
Washington Post
January 17, 2008
A relentless, I-thought-my-eyeballs-were-bleeding exercise in visual disorientation.
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
January 18, 2008
Now that the fanboy hype has cleared, we can see Cloverfield for what it is: borrowed inspiration, trite screenwriting and amateurish acting all in the service of a ballsy idea.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
January 18, 2008
The running and climbing, the tidal waves of debris rushing down the avenues, the screams and carnage grow tiresome.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 10