Compliance Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Clayton Davis
AwardsCircuit.com
September 14, 2014
Compliance is diminutively sufficient and blandly adequate with no additional layers that elevate its small independent nature. It feels rather one note riding on the promise of a distinctive tale that never totally comes to fulfillment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
December 15, 2013
A frightening look at the power of authority and the human desire to avoid conflict.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
May 26, 2013
It never loses sight of its goal to persuade us to be more aware, more questioning of our leaders and institutions, from politicians to priests to, in this case, the police.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Margot Harrison
Seven Days
May 22, 2013
The only film of 2012 that had me actively booing its villain - a mundane monster who doesn't need to touch his victims to scar them for life.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
May 5, 2013
Compliance is a horror movie with no sudden frights, no gore, and not a single scream. It's a surveillance video, capturing us with all our blemishes; a reminder that how we see ourselves is so rarely in line with the truth
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jason Best
Movie Talk
March 25, 2013
That the events in Compliance are taking place in a fast-foot restaurant is equally resonant. The junk food we see being prepared couldn't be more disgusting. Surely, you can't help but think, anyone prepared to swallow that will swallow anything.
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
March 25, 2013
The perfect companion piece to your copy of Fast Food Nation.
Philip French
Observer [UK]
March 24, 2013
Compliance is a disturbing, exciting and instructive film about matters we should all be prepared to face.
March 24, 2013
Zobel is canny enough to gradually intensify the level of discomfort to ensure the characters' increasing irrationality feels honest in the situation, regardless of how out-of-whack it seems from a distance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rich Cline
Contactmusic.com
March 22, 2013
If a movie's success is measured by its ability to get under our skin and provoke a reaction, then this might be the film of the year. Designed to make us furious, this drama pushes us to the brink as we shout at the characters for being so naive.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Damon Wise
Empire Magazine
March 22, 2013
A punchy and effective drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mark Stafford
Electric Sheep
March 22, 2013
An effective, nasty little film from Craig Zobel.
Allan Hunter
Daily Express
March 22, 2013
An uncomfortable, provocative little drama that really gets under the skin and will not be for all tastes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Derek Malcolm
This is London
March 22, 2013
Well as the film is performed, particularly by Dowd as the manager attempting to make order out of chaos, you can scarcely credit what happens.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Christopher Tookey
Daily Mail [UK]
March 21, 2013
I admired its courageous realism, the fact that it dares to be unpopular yet truthful. Unlike most movies, it will give you plenty to think about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
March 21, 2013
The film edges forward diffidently, never quite matching strength of craft to strength of idea. It's creepily beguiling even so ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Anton Bitel
Little White Lies
March 21, 2013
Zobel's morality thriller offers uncomfortable commentary on the sport that can so easily be had at the expense of those on the lower rungs of the social ladder.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
March 21, 2013
Zobel's feature film brings out the creepy, banal horror of this culminating event, and the awful contemporary insights.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Robbie Collin
Daily Telegraph
March 21, 2013
Needs more than its "based on a true story" disclaimer to short-circuit our sceptical instinct.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Graham Young
Birmingham Post
March 20, 2013
It might make you a tougher person after watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7