Compliance Reviews

Page 3 of 57
October 25, 2014
With fantastic performances from the cast, a great plot that is gripping throughout, a good score, well shot and a decent script this is an unusual thriller that genuinely gets you thinking "Would I act the same way?"
½ October 20, 2014
Just watch the trailer, which is more intense and disturbing than the actual movie. Ultimately, the plot boils down to one question: how far are the filmmakers willing to go before they lose their nerve?
January 12, 2013
A very unsettling drama that repulses and infuriates, dwelling on the human cruelty and naïveté.
September 27, 2014
If you like sick, twisted real-life stories, you will love this one
Super Reviewer
September 1, 2014
You will be hard pressed to find a more disturbing thriller this year. Compliance is a harrowing experience, made all the more stressful when you see the terrible way these characters behave thinking the law is on their side.
The film is ultimately a testament not just to our inability to question authority but our unwillingness to. We the audience sit helplessly as we watch a young woman humiliated by people who are supposed to be her friends, all in the name of compliance to what they think is a police officer.
This film explores the dark side of humanity in a way that few films have. It does it with minimal locations and a phone. When the credits rolled I couldn't believe this was based on a true story. Then I looked up the actual case this film was based on. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that the events happened exactly as they were told in the film, and how unsettling it is to know that it happened 70 different times and that the perpetrator was acquitted.
½ August 28, 2014
¿De que somos capaces cuando creemos tener la ley de nuestro lado? Perturbadora cinta.
August 8, 2014
Implausible nonsense for any viewer who possesses even the simplest understanding of law.
½ August 1, 2014
Um chocante exercício sobre o perigo da ausência de sentido crítico.
July 31, 2014
This is just fucked up...
July 26, 2014
Disturbing and subtly horrifying, Compliance is a well written and acted film (although I question how true some of the events because how stupid the characters are), especially from Pat Healy's mostly vocal, and creepy performance.
½ July 16, 2014
It's a slow-burn but Craig Zobel keeps the tension rising. It is very compelling and frustrating.
September 3, 2012
I don't know guys. It's an interesting topic, I just wish I liked this better. I thought it was so slowly paced. It's almost in real time, which explains a lot of it, but I just thought it was so slow. The acting is good, I just don't like the characters. It's just so frustrating to watch because I felt like no one was using their common sense. Which, yes I know this actually happened, but I was just baffled at their stupidity. From a movie making standpoint, I didn't love when they revealed the prank caller. It either needed to be earlier or much later. Where it was just made it feel like a throwaway moment. The same can be said for the climax of the movie. The part that was supposed to be the most traumatizing, the most tense, was given no more weight than any of the previous scenes. And then is ended really quickly after that. I wanted to like this, I really did, and it could have been really good, but the slow pace and clunky plot structure killed it.
July 11, 2014
good but tough view for me anyway
½ July 9, 2014
Well acted, but far too frustrating to gain any level of enjoyment. I spent a good deal of the time just trying to understand how any of this could ever happen. Though, I suppose it did.
July 2, 2014
very entertaining but some moments were so idiotic that it was actually, at times, rather comical
½ June 29, 2014
its crazy if its really based on a true story..i do not get how anyone could really fall for that prank to this extreme..but as a movie it was ok.
December 16, 2012
Disturbing dar interesant
June 14, 2014
Stunning if these event occurred in reality as I found this film Incredibly unrealistic. It would shock me to think it were possible that we have individuals that would lack the most basic amount of intelligence and reasoning skills to realize that what was being requested was not from law enforcement.
½ August 18, 2012
Sandra: I'll do... everything that you need.

Compliance es una película que muestra el peor lado de la naturaleza humana, y eso nunca es cómodo de ver. Esta historia a diferencia de otras, realmente está basada en eventos reales, lo cual lo hace aún más escalofriante. El caso sigue a una "prank call" que hacen a un restaurante de comida rápida, y donde la persona se hace pasar por un policia, y acusa a una empleada de haberle robado dinero a un cliente, y mientras la historia va avanzando, es objeto de todo tipo de tratos degradantes, hasta llegar a abuso sexual.

Normalmente no me encuentro incómoda con películas, pero esta me dejó fria. No pude creer la estupidez de las personas que dejaron que los eventos escalaran a tal magnitud. En estos casos uno se pone en los zapatos de los protagonistas, y piensa que hubiera hecho yo en esa situación, y realmente espero que no hubiera reaccionado de esa manera, y da miedo lo fácil que las personas se dejan manipular. Todavía me molesta toda la situación, sobretodo por la manera realista en la cual esta hecha esta película, especialmente el guión y las actuaciones, y de hecho el caso es exactamente igual a como lo dirigieron.

Hay pequeños detalles que ayudan a crear esta atmósfera tan incómoda, por ejemplo, hay tomas de las personas comiendo y disfrutando su comida, mientras todo estaba pasando en el cuarto de atrás, al igual que los empleados que simplemente hacían su trabajo, sin prestar atención a lo que estaba sucediendo al lado de ellos. También la identidad del hombre que realiza la llamada, que al principio se muestra como un monstruo, pero resulta que es alguien que trabaja en servicio al cliente y tiene una familia, y hace todo esto para ganar un dinero extra y por morbo.

La fotografía de Compliance es hermosa, lo cual me impresiona porque toda la película transcurre en este lugar de comida rápida, y es genial que lograron crear algo tan estético, en un lugar que no lo es, como close ups de objetos típicos como son papas en la freidora o el agua enjabonada para lavar los platos, fue bastante original. La música con ese violin creó una atmósfera tensa y de terror. En general todas las decisiones de dirección fueron notables. Esta es una película para reflexionar y ver con horror todos estos eventos transcurriendo. Realmente yo la pondría bajo el género terror, ya que es realmente desagradable saber que la verdad supera a la ficción.
½ June 5, 2014
I can't believe critics liked this. Despite the closing credits' claim that such "events" have happened 70 times, I found it ludicrously implausible.
Page 3 of 57