Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

The Condemned Reviews

Page 1 of 313
John M

Super Reviewer

April 25, 2007
far more fun than it shouldve been!!
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

July 29, 2014
Surprisingly entertaining film, The Condemned manages to be a fun, entertaining two hours of low budget filmmaking. The concept is a bit derivative from Gamer, which I quite enjoyed, but nonetheless, this is a worthy action thriller well worth your time if you enjoy a low budget action popcorn ride. Well thought out despite a few clichéd ideas, The Condemned is a cool film for what it is, and it does manage to entertain you well enough for two hours and the film is pretty solidly executed for low budget filmmaking. Before going into this one, expect something enjoyable and mindless and you're sure to like it. The film has its weak moments of course, but this is sheer must see material for action buffs. The script, acting and the setting are quite interesting, and well thought out. I thought that Vinnie Jones and Steve Austin were quite good here, and they delivered something truly intense, unflinching and above all riveting. This is one of those movies that shouldn't be passed up due to its sheer entertainment value. I recommend this film to anyone that loves the genre, and even if it's a formulaic idea, it's still fun to watch because there are enough action moments to make this one stand out among other low budget action film. The film is flawed, but nonetheless, it's a worthy affair, a film that is riveting, action packed and never dull. For action buffs, The Condemned is cool, thrilling and a must see piece of film that deserves to be seen by a larger audience. Due to its low budget status, and terrific, engaging action and concept, I'm sure that this film will surely become a future cult classic, as it most definitely deserves it.
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

August 5, 2013
It's violent and possess action sequences that is arguably forgettable. The Condemned is a low-grade attempt in garnering the lethal impact of a typical action movie. 2.5/5
Phil H

Super Reviewer

December 21, 2012
Well what have we here, an early 'Expendables' type fighter? a 'Battle Royale' copy? or maybe just a 'Running Man' type thriller? well all this and many more films gone before.

The plot...a group of the most violent criminals are hand picked and dumped on a remote island. Each has a small bomb attached to their ankle which will detonate after a certain time limit. They have nothing but their skills to survive and the odd package dropped from a chopper. Only one can be left standing before the time runs out and that last man wins his freedom, FIGHT!!!.

So yes I think we have all seen this before, the general idea, and one can assume it will pretty much be like all the rest. It is a bit like a cheaper, low key, grittier 'Expendables' but with guys that aren't overly famous but a good selection of character hardmen and fighters of you will. Vinnie Jones, Nathan Jones and Austin are the bigger names here whilst other criminals are made up of really well built blokes and some good fighters like Masa Yamaguchi. Of course the plot isn't like the Sly vehicle but it is a nice ensemble of hardasses.

The whole film plays out like one setup after another, one fight, a bit of plot, then another fight etc...The fights vary from pretty cool to nothing much but its all very violent and bloody, not for the PG crowd that's for sure. All the characters have your standard backgrounds, the hero Austin is of course ex-Delta Force whilst Vinnie is ex-SAS gone bad, bog standard military guff really. All the while its watched by the internet crew and their boss who set it all up for profit and morbid kicks...tut tut so naughty.

It does work well really, can't lie, its good fun to watch but obviously stupid. Would they really include women? surely that would be rather unfair. The violence in some parts is quite close to bone really, Vinnie and his partner rape a women to death then find her husband (also a criminal) and burn him to death after beating him half to death!! so yeah bit sick.

You could say its even like 'Call of Duty' or any FPS, but with bloody murder and fights instead of gun runnin'. When the odd help package is dropped into the 'game' it does feel like a videogame of sorts.

Its certainly balls to the wall with guts n headbutts and the perfect action vehicle. Nothing original and no real surprises other than Vinnie being really quite evil, but its undeniably fun despite Austin being a plank and the ending being a big anti climax for the two main guys.
Coxxie M

Super Reviewer

August 5, 2009
The only explanation i could give to someone as to why i rented this movie when i was 17 is that i was a very stupid teenager. and now im in my 20's and i rent a little more importantly subversive, abstractly concrete, diversifyingly... uh, diverse films... like John Tucker must die.. and suff.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

August 5, 2010
No, it's not good at all and very amateurish in nature, but the fact that it's Vinnie Jones vs. Stone Cold Steve Austin is worth the entire movie. There's a lot of violence, one-liners, etc. You should know what you're getting into before you watch it, expecting a masterpiece would be stupid. I actually would have liked an all villain cast, that way there's no typical good guy to root for. However, I understand that it was made to promote WWE and Mr. Stone Cold.
Al S

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2007
A real stone cold adrenaline-rush of an action movie. It's The Running man meets Lost. A hard-core and exhilarating action-packed thriller that is just a really fun movie to watch. It's very effective and entertaining with great characters and a pretty solid story with a satisfying conclusion. A hard-boiled thrill-ride that packs serious heat and some surprising heart deep down in it's cold attitude. Steve Austin is a surprising joy to watch on film and proves to be a very capable and entertaining action hero. Vinnie Jones is electric, he's just a blast of chaos and mad man energy to show he's an awesome bad guy.
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

February 4, 2010
Great Movie! Just saw it for the second time and was just like the first time, tons of action and a good story.

The story of Jack Conrad, who is awaiting the death penalty in a corrupt Central American prison. He is "purchased" by a wealthy television producer and taken to a desolate island where he must fight to the death against nine other condemned killers from all corners of the world, with freedom going to the sole survivor.
KJ P

Super Reviewer

January 14, 2010
Delivers on the action/adventure part of it, in a big way! But, it lacks with story!
TheGame90
TheGame90

Super Reviewer

September 10, 2009
I was very impressed. Good old elimination action. Pretty much the same idea like Death Race but in a diffrent environment. But it was a lot better than i expected
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

September 3, 2007
"10 will fight, 9 will die. You get to watch."

Jack Conrad is awaiting the death penalty in a corrupt Central American prison. He is "purchased" by a wealthy television producer and taken to a desolate island where he must fight to the death against nine other condemned killers from all corners of the world, with freedom going to the sole survivor.

REVIEW
From WWE films comes this survival of the fittest picture about ten death row inmates who are transported against their will to a desolate island by an immoral television producer. Once there, they must defend themselves against one another while being broadcast live on the internet in a contest where there can only be one winner. Action movie has an intriguing setup with plenty of intense, hand to hand combat, but after a while it becomes redundant and never really delivers in terms of suspense, character, or steady camera work. Wrestler turned lead actor Austin is laconic and fairly cardboard in his portrayal of a tough, resilient survivor, but he nor the rest of the cast can be faulted for the film's shortcomings.
Edward B

Super Reviewer

April 29, 2007
How can you rag on a bad movie that is so in love with its badness?
DerekA101
DerekA101

Super Reviewer

May 19, 2008
Quick Review:Not very original, but still very effective and entertaining. I'm not the biggest WWE fan, but I really enjoy Stone Cold and he makes for a great action star. A bit one dimensional... but who cares? It's like an R rated version of the hit Reality Show Survivor that we've always wanted to see.10 death row convicts are placed on an island, and the last one to survive wins their freedom. Fun, exciting, and definitely action-packed, The Condemned is an awesome guilty pleasure! Watching Vinnie Jones and Stone Cold fight was worth the price of admission.
Dean !

Super Reviewer

July 30, 2008
A pretty decent if violent action film with backing from the WWE. The story is pretty good, although it starts to get a bit repetitive as it goes on. Reminded me slightly of the Running Man. Overall a lot better than I expected and Vinnie Jones is good as the bad guy, as always.
Gx7
Gx7

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2008
Not bad for a WWE movie, McMahon releases a few of its entertainment-management techniques in the big screen. I thought this would be somewhat corny, despite the camera shots in the fight scenes, I still kinda liked this. Wouldnt really have watched this if it wasnt for the interesting combination of Vinnie Jones and Austin anyway.

Plot: An adrenalin-charged action thriller, "The Condemned" tells the story of Jack Conrad, who is awaiting the death penalty in a corrupt Central American prison. He is "purchased" by a wealthy television producer and taken to a desolate island where he must fight to the death against nine other condemned killers from all corners of the world, with freedom going to the sole survivor. The producer films the illegal event, airing the killings live and uncensored onto the internet.
Emily A

Super Reviewer

July 15, 2007
This is what it is. I think you'd already know whether or not you'd like a movie like this. I, personally, do. The action sequences display great panache and make up for a couple of REALLY DUMB plot devices, the most significant of which is Stone Cold's origins. The worst thing about this movie was the ham-fisted way they showed the broadcast going out, as well as the clumsy and utterly blatant commentary of reality TV. All things considered, this movie comes out pretty well. It's no way near as good as Battle Royale, but there you go.
Roy G

Super Reviewer

March 26, 2008
This is a fast-paced,violent film if you like that sort of thing
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

March 12, 2007
It seems very good action movie of a WWF champ 'Stone Cold' Steve Austin's debut acting. So thrilling and dangerously of 10 death row prisoners fight each other for the last man standing to survive. It's a part of The Running Man and Hard Target.
kpn666
kpn666

Super Reviewer

December 22, 2007
Another wrestling influenced movie, this time bringing Steve Austin int the mix and the hero caught up in a sick internet live game where a 10 "lifers" are dragged to island and given the chance to escape. They only have to kill the others within 30 hours as part of an idiot producers idea of bringing live death and violence to the net to reap the rewards.

Another throw back to the good ole early 90's action flicks of heavy unrestricted violence, the action was OKAAY... nothing to special. The story is not unique, but twisted to meet modern day themes and ideas. Interesting but also tired soundtrack (old songs)

Look, wrestlers are popping up in the movies and action flicks are always welcome, but these guys cant really act, and Austin sounds like a soft redneck. Goldberg at least has an deep evil rasp and gives off a more menacing aura.

It was okay as a one off, nothing more.
Bobby H

Super Reviewer

November 4, 2007
Finally! Out of the THREE WWE Movies, one of them steps up to the plate, and actually proves itself movie worthy. Steve Austin kicked major ass, and this film was intense! It's the best film I've seen in a few months, for sure.
Page 1 of 313
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile