Connie and Carla Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
The plot is nothing new; not much here for teens.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
June 12, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 18, 2004
If you find meticulously staged, passionately sung anthems about love, beauty, truth, and joy to be tiresome, then don't drop a dime on this film. Otherwise GO!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
May 1, 2004
The film's real joy comes in its camp performance pieces, which outrageously poke fun at the guilty pleasures of musical theatre.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
April 26, 2004
"Big Fat Greek Wedding's" huge success was a surprise to me and to Hollywood. It won't have the mass appeal and will make only a fraction of the dough-but this film I get.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
April 23, 2004
Connie and Carla reminded me of two Whoopi Goldbergs in Sister Act, and I don't mean that in a bad way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Susan Granger
Modamag.com
April 21, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
April 19, 2004
Vardalos-Collette won't supplant memories of Lemmon-Curtis, but you could do worse.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Vince Koehler
Entertainment Spectrum
April 19, 2004
Nia Vardalos, Toni Collette, and David Duchovny are the stars of a new comedy from Universal Pictures.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Luanne Brown
Hometownsource.com
April 18, 2004
I went into the theater tired and dragging and emerged singing a show tune and smiling. I hope you'll have the same reaction.
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
April 17, 2004
Maybe I'm enough of a sucker for Toni Collette or maybe it was my forgiving approach to the concept, but it provided me enough laughs and chuckles to call it entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
April 17, 2004
I wanted to sing along with Connie and Carla, just like many of their adoring fans in this fun gender-bending musical.
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
April 16, 2004
It may not be subtle, but, like drag itself, Connie and Carla affords a few corny, if artless, pleasures.
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
April 16, 2004
Connie and Carla is one of those movies that sneaks up on you, in spite of yourself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
April 16, 2004
Entertaining and very funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
April 16, 2004
It's not Blake Edwards, and it's not Billy Wilder, but it does have Vardalos doing what she did in Greek Wedding, working tirelessly to please her core audience.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
April 16, 2004
An infectiously funny farce in the Some Like it Hot, Victor/Victoria tradition.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
M.E. Russell
Oregonian
April 16, 2004
The proceedings have the same sort of essential sweetness that made Greek Wedding such a huge hit.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
April 16, 2004
The movie is a throwback, unapologetically silly but a little more fun than sophisticated audiences may anticipate.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
April 16, 2004
Connie And Carla has exactly the same appeal of My Big Fat Greek Wedding in terms of charm and innocent humour.
| Original Score: 3/5
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Top Critic

Houston Chronicle
July 21, 2005

ComingSoon.net
April 30, 2004

Boston Phoenix
April 17, 2004

Orlando Weekly
April 17, 2004
Leonard Maltin
Leonard Maltin's Picks
April 17, 2004
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
April 16, 2004
Top Critic

AV Club
April 15, 2004
Page 1 of 7