Contagion Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 9, 2013
"As slick and polished as this "real" version of "28 Days Later" is, it's an utterly heartless affair."
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
Contagion may be a case of feverishly good filmmaking (and an excellent, if slightly more high brow, addition to the disaster movie genre), but ultimately it will leave you with little besides an admiration for Soderbergh's artistry.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
June 15, 2012
A drama of this magnitude deserves memorable, nuanced characters. [But] as a reminder that a single gust of panic can bring down civilization like a house of cards, it works.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
April 30, 2012
Before Contagion is anything else, it's a master class in filmmaking - shooting, editing, making a movie move.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
April 6, 2012
Soderbergh's detachment actually creates an effective air of understatement when working in tandem with the contrasting warmth and commitment of his cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matt Neal
The Standard
February 28, 2012
If you're a hypochondriac or paranoid (or both), don't watch this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
R. L. Shaffer
IGN DVD
January 29, 2012
A bit emotionless and clinical, but Contagion is a pretty spot-on blow-by-blow of what it would be like if a real viral epidemic were to break out.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Shaun Munro
What Culture
January 25, 2012
The fiercely intelligent Contagion outdoes its genre competition precisely because it doesn't dumb itself down for our sake.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Jordan Hiller
Bangitout.com
January 20, 2012
Soderbergh, who is as skilled as they come at uplifting routine templates, gives the infection movie über-A-list treatment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
January 7, 2012
At the heart of Contagion is the fear of a disease that can send the world into anarchy, a scenario which seems extreme but is actually dangerously realistic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
December 31, 2011
A first-rate cast, excellent acting, and a reasonably taut pace help a somewhat lackluster and sometimes melodramatic story line over its more-predictable soft spots.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Richard Knight
Knight at the Movies
December 30, 2011
No one becomes a zombie as in 28 Days Later but the trajectory here is about the same and 10 times more frightening because of its true-to-life, very probable scenario.
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
December 29, 2011
A supercharged cross between an episode of CSI and a World Health Organization infographic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
December 28, 2011
The disease/pandemic movie has grown up.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)
December 22, 2011
I'm not making this up: I had a coughing fit during 'Contagion.'Luckily, I was sitting at the very back of the theater, so I was less likely (I hope) to add to the tension unfolding on the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Steve Newall
Flicks.co.nz
December 7, 2011
Contagion is a reminder that we're hardly in as much control of the globe as we think.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
December 7, 2011
As soon as you hear Gwyneth Paltrow cough, you know where you're headed.
Brandon Judell
CultureCatch
November 27, 2011
A paean to death by bat droppings mixed with a bit of pork.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
November 10, 2011
A methodical exploration of the threat of pandemics and how we share space with our fellow human beings. If you aren't chilled by the potential, you should be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Terry Staunton
Radio Times
October 26, 2011
In an exemplary cast, Matt Damon stands out as Paltrow's seemingly immune husband, as does Elliott Gould in an understated cameo.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 12