Container - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Container Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 15, 2009
If someone were to tell me this was the worst film they had ever seen I would'nt argue too much with them. I was pretty absorbed from begnning to end. It doesnt really go anywhere fascinating or do anyting suprising, but the mix of images and sounds does create something poetic and special. If Tarkovsky and Harmony Korine collaborated it would look like this. A strange mix of gender confusion, pop culture disgust and fascination, along a road of consumer emptiness and the need for spiritual fullfilment. My first Lukas Moodysson experience and I wasnt sure what to expect from the Swedish realist director who wiki describes as "an outspoken left wing socialist, feminist, and vegetarian and at the same time a profoundly spiritual Christian." This stream of consciousness movie where the only sound is from a young girls voice almost whispering while an overwieght man and a thin Asian women who seem to represent the same person (when one is not carrying the other on their back "Fando Y Lis" style) is not endearing, entertaining, or profound. I watched it all, and I felt like it was an honest look at the modern world, if a despairingly cliche one at times. If your curious it's on Youtube. I'm just not sure.
March 31, 2009
I rented out the DVD thanks to its cover. Bought it the next day! A torturing film, a haunting voice, leaves you digging your nails in your knees and squeezing your heart with your hands. Tears will roll from frustration but also from its caressing tenderness . Poetic, sensitive, perversive and twisted outraged look at today´s world. A micro-look at today´s "modern" society. Watching it is like riding the train of thoughts of someone who can´t keep his/her mind quiet!

Artsy? yes, Worth it? YES! Breaking genres and rules? OH YES! Loved the way the narration moves, the imagery it creates, the hundreds of themes linked in one flowing mesmerizing voice.... left me out of breath and patience, yet with a smile that Moodysson dared do what he did in this movie. My favorite Moodysson film so far.

Not to be watched on any day, yet a must-see!
½ June 15, 2011
This is mental postmodern mental torture. I can't believe I sat through this.
November 15, 2009
If someone were to tell me this was the worst film they had ever seen I would'nt argue too much with them. I was pretty absorbed from begnning to end. It doesnt really go anywhere fascinating or do anyting suprising, but the mix of images and sounds does create something poetic and special. If Tarkovsky and Harmony Korine collaborated it would look like this. A strange mix of gender confusion, pop culture disgust and fascination, along a road of consumer emptiness and the need for spiritual fullfilment. My first Lukas Moodysson experience and I wasnt sure what to expect from the Swedish realist director who wiki describes as "an outspoken left wing socialist, feminist, and vegetarian and at the same time a profoundly spiritual Christian." This stream of consciousness movie where the only sound is from a young girls voice almost whispering while an overwieght man and a thin Asian women who seem to represent the same person (when one is not carrying the other on their back "Fando Y Lis" style) is not endearing, entertaining, or profound. I watched it all, and I felt like it was an honest look at the modern world, if a despairingly cliche one at times. If your curious it's on Youtube. I'm just not sure.
October 31, 2009
Poetic and beautiful. This is a movie that you can relax to and move into. Turn inside it and feel the fragile girl's voice touch your heart and clean your thoughts. Make you feel like you are her and she's you. Feel her pain as your pain, and your pain as her pain. That you longing togheter to end the pain.
½ August 2, 2009
A mesmerizing study of sexual identity, celebrity culture and media moulding. Perhaps a tad too long but a great experiment similar in style to avant garde film makers such as Kenneth Anger etc
April 25, 2009
This is by far the most boring film I've ever seen, or maybe I just didn't understand it.
½ March 13, 2009
Oh my god what an awful film! I am usually such a big fan of Moodysson, adoring Tillsammans, Fucking Amal and Lilja 4 Ever and seeing the worth of A Hole in my Heart. This is just self-indulgent shite and some of the laziest writing I have had the misfortune to see for quite some time!
September 10, 2008
I don't really know where to begin, it's a hardcore arthouse movie about a man who thinks he's a woman trapped in a man's body and basically is just a running commentary of the thoughts that run through his (her?) head, beautifully and perfectly voiced by Jena Malone who if i'm being honest was the only reason i watched this till the end. One thing for sure is i don't think i could sit through this again, the film has a lot of difficult and surreal concepts to it and i'm sure it would offend many viewers, but if your someone with a very open mind you might find more qualities with the film then i did. Intresting experience but not for me.
½ June 23, 2008
This film is basically a 70 minute long poem. I don't know if this is a compliment or a criticism, but I found myself so captivated by Malone and that fucking quality script that I didn't care at all for the visuals and would just as happily have thrown the soundtrack on in the car. The 3.5 star rating in no way reflects what is actually on the screen which is both impressive and disappointing. I have no problem understanding why some people despise this film, but I couldn't turn away. And yes Jena, winter's most important item is indeed a poncho...
June 19, 2008
Very very odd, slightly disturbing film delving into the mind of someone suffering from body dysmorphia
May 31, 2008
Although it's only storytelling in a very loose sense, it's insightful, honest and courageous. It captivated me from the beginning, the female narration mesmerizing me. Probably not a good film to watch when tired, and definetly only to be viewed with an open mind.
February 27, 2008
Too pretentious---Jenna Malone's voice over was pretty cool---she played a lot of roles, an anorexic, a celebrity, a boy in a woman's body, someone obsessed with a porn star--the images are mostly unrelated to the narration--seems like it could play well as an video installation---not something that should be watched from start to finish
½ February 17, 2008
The ending was excellent...

... in the regard that it did actually FUCKING end!
February 15, 2008
Moodyson said he wanted to make a movie nobody wanted to see. He succeeded pretty good... A shame since his two first movies is among the best swedish movies ever!
½ February 15, 2008
What the hell was this? I don't even know if it qualifies as a movie... A women narrator just talking garbage that no one understand anything about for over an hour. Accompanied by black and white pictures of... well I don't really know, people and crap mixed up with no sense of order at all.

If I should try to find something good about this "movie" it would be that I actually laughed two times... But that was only because the narrator started talking nonsense in the middle of a tale that almost seemed to make sense.

Watch it if you want to, but don't expect to see a movie, or anything that even remembers of a movie.
June 5, 2007
About human frailty. This movie should get you to think. Worth seeing.
½ November 18, 2007
I don´t know if it´s art or just a movie master piece!
October 22, 2007
Well this must be some new genre...very arty...but fails to deliver. A shortfilm would have been enough, why bore us to death for a whole hour.
October 14, 2007
Moodysson is way over his head...
Page 1 of 2