Cops And Robbersons Reviews

Page 1 of 7
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ September 26, 2007
Silly and nonsensical but except for Chevy Chase acting like a total moron for most of the running time not that bad.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
July 5, 2012
This is an underrated comedy that was really entertaining for what it was. I don't believe it deserved the flack it received. This is a fun, mindless comedy that has a pretty good cast. I enjoyed the film for what it was, and I really don't think it deserved the flack it received. This is an underrated film that has some good moments, a pretty interesting plot and decent acting. This is one of Chevy Chase's last good film roles, and he would stop making good comedies in the years to come. This film biggest strength is Jack Palance who gives this film its charm. I really liked him in this one, and thought he made the film as good as it was. If you're looking for a fun, underrated comedy, then check this one out. Quite enjoyable if you're in the mood, and pretty good considering all the negative reviews. This is a good film that has its moments. The actors are good in their roles, and each brings something to the screen. I found this film good for what it was, and is a far better film than what the critics have said about it. This is a good film that is one Chevy Chase's last viewable efforts. Cops And Robbersons is a fun film that you really need to shut off your brain to enjoy. Don't expect a great film, but expect something good, and you won't be disappointed. Don't believe the bad reviews on this one, as this film has plenty of good things going for it.
BEACHBUNNI
Super Reviewer
January 29, 2011
Chevy Chase plays Norman Robberson, a mild mannered, clumsy father of three living in a suburban neighborhood. Norman brings home a veteran cop, Jake Stone (Jack Palance), and his young assistant, Tony,they want to use the Robbersons home as a stakeout to spy on a mobster hiding out next door. Norman's wife Helen (Dianne Wiest) reluctantly agrees to go along, and the kids see it as a grand adventure~!!!
deano
Super Reviewer
September 4, 2007
Quite average comedy with Chevy Chase who wannabe detective who gets a taste of the real thing while harboiled cop Jack Palance moves in to set up serveillance on Chase's new neighbour. The few chuckles almost make it worthwhile.
Super Reviewer
December 24, 2007
A cute, easily digestible comedy.
September 8, 2008
don't ever throw a cat on me again.

chevy chase and jack palance of their best performance and the most funniest and hilarious moment rest of the movie. awesome jack palance the very tough cop named aka. uncle jake and chevy chase is the hilarious one starring actor as robbersons of family man. another funniest actor robert davi (but he also good role villian-comedy in "the goonies") an villian-comedy movie who in next door next to robbersons. both chevy chase and jack palance are my favorite actors ever in cop and the comedy movie and glad with chase and palance in work together.
½ December 21, 2009
A great idea that should have worked a lot better than it did. There are so many missed opportunities here it gets painful after awhile. There are some very funny sequences, not enough though. It was entertaining but it was equally forgettable. The was an episode on the Dick Van Dyke show that dealt with a similar situation that was so much better.
December 18, 2008
Or, Dirty Harry meets the Griswolds. You know that's how the studio meeting went. Unfortunately not fleshed out much more than that.
May 22, 2007
Jack Palance was hilarious. Chase not so much. Not a good comedic pairing. They cancel each other out, like they do this film.
January 12, 2007
Funny! This is a cool movie. Being a Chase fan I gave it a go and loved it! Palance is also great in this one.Definetely worth a watch!
½ April 23, 2015
One of the best Chevy Chase films.
April 19, 2015
I see the flaws but Palance is just so funny as the gruff cop I didn't care about those flaws and laughed.
October 4, 2013
Ultimately a mess, Ritchie's suburban-cop-comedy throws out a bunch of ideas (Broken family, grizzled cop opening up, worker dad with hero dreams, villainous neighbour) that never stick. Furthermore, the real shortage of laughs or inventive gags, uninspired direction that goes from stylised to low budget televisual, and poorly balanced narrative that completely shifts gears from cop to family-centered comedy, don't help matters in the slightest.
December 21, 2012
This movie is a classic Chevy Chase title. Worth the watch.
November 3, 2012
Unoriginal and with a lame screenplay.
½ August 20, 2012
Late Jack Palance is a Movie legend. I always look forward to his work, This film isn't his greatest masterpiece, i don't blame him just the script and chevy chase who made the story saturate in corny-cheesyness. Cops and Robberson is about Chase as a cop wannabe who gets his small break when Palance does a sercret steak-out in his house. Somehow Chase wrecks that for him when he smoozes with the criminal and snoops into dangerzone to feel the rush.
August 7, 2011
full of fun characters but no story
April 2, 2012
Chevy Chase and Jack Palance have a battle of wits in Suburbia in a decent 90s comedy.
March 4, 2012
Awful action movie with a few laughs, whose biggest highlight was casting the sensational Jack Palance in a role he did a thousand times across his career. Chevy Chase is unfunny here (a terrible actor) and Dianne Wiest's talent is wasted. Some jokes worked, some others were insuferable. The villains were absolute morons.
January 10, 2012
the critics are stupid for rating this poorly. this is a most hilarious buddy cop style movie with an all star cast. good from start to finish. if you haven't seen it then it's time to do so.
Page 1 of 7