Opening

89% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
84% Get On Up Aug 01
88% Calvary Aug 01
0% Behaving Badly Aug 01
39% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

59% Lucy $43.9M
62% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
88% Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
87% What If Aug 08

Premieres Tonight

88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Will Leitch
Deadspin

Everything sure is pretty, but I'm not sure this movie has anything to say.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: B-

June 22, 2013
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express

One of the best half-movies of the year.

Full Review Source: East Bay Express

August 16, 2011
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net

Every decade gets its Forrest Gump. David Fincher's version of a little known (and monumentally depressing) F. Scott Fitzgerald story is this one's. That's either a damning condemnation or just what the doctor ordered.

Full Review Source: ComingSoon.net | Original Score: 7/10

March 18, 2011
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com

David Fincher's epic doesn't wallow in nihilistic obsessions, but preached no comforting homily about life's rich pageant either. Life is feel-good in spurts - a series of oddly interconnected, occasionally elating moments that accumulate before death.

Full Review Source: Suite101.com | Original Score: 4/4

September 25, 2010

It's not an inherently flawed premise, but it is in writer Roth's saccharine-stained hands. It's frustrating, because it's easy to see how it could have been so much better.

Full Review Source: DCist | Original Score: 4.2/10

June 12, 2010
Luis Martinez
Cinenganos

La premisa es un trozo puro de fantasía y una reflexión sobre el sentido de nuestras vidas%u2026 y creánme, dicha reflexión es tan sólo antesala de las muchas que contiene este filme.

Full Review Source: Cinenganos | Original Score: 4.5/5

March 11, 2010

Sure, I cried at the end. I'm not a robot. But I cry at cat food commercials if they punch the right button. I just can't get on the Button train. I wish I could have obeyed my instincts and stayed home.

Full Review Source: Cinerina | Original Score: 3/5

December 15, 2009
Matt Soergel
Florida Times-Union

Brad Pitt spends a lifetime aging backward in The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, and there are points in the movie where your tired hindquarters feel as if they've been along for every minute of his strange journey.

Full Review Source: Florida Times-Union | Original Score: 2/4

September 18, 2009
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is the total package, a deftly assembled fairy tale that unspools like a pleasant dream.

Full Review Source: Times-Picayune | Original Score: 4/4

September 4, 2009
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion

Who knew that F. Scott Fitzgerald's short story would end up on the screen as a three-hour Botox ad?

Full Review Source: CinePassion

August 26, 2009

Between the visuals and the Pitt factor, this is a movie your girlfriend will dig, but there's enough crazy fantasy stuff going on that I'd never call it a "chick flick."

Full Review Source: UGO | Original Score: A-

August 13, 2009
Dragan Antulov
Index.hr

ostvarenje koje bi se komotno moglo nazvati Forrest Gump 2.0

Full Review Source: Index.hr | Original Score: 3/10

July 15, 2009
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures

a slow starter, and it never really speeds up into a thrilling film, save for one scene of war on the ocean. However, it's not meant to be fast-paced or riveted with action.

Full Review Source: 7M Pictures | Original Score: 3/5

June 14, 2009
Clay Cane
BET.com

Yes, Button can be glorious, but the Hollywood glamour drowns the soul that it so needs. Plus, there is the insistent reminder that we will all lose our looks and die.

Full Review Source: BET.com | Original Score: C+

June 10, 2009
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews

With fine acting all around, and Fincher's typically meticulous filmmaking engagingly, if coldly, transportive above and beyond Roth's mediocre script, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button bears examining. [Blu-ray]

Full Review Source: Groucho Reviews | Original Score: 3/4

May 17, 2009
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)

... A beautiful, heartbreaking film ... packed with tender, loving performances and some of the most astounding visual effects we have ever seen.

Full Review Source: Star-Democrat (Easton, MD) | Original Score: 3/4

May 15, 2009
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk

an outsized romantic epic built on a potentially flimsy bit of fantastical whimsy that instead becomes an affecting allegory for the fleeting joys of life

Full Review Source: Q Network Film Desk | Original Score: 3/4

May 11, 2009
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis

The movie is gentle and sweet. Nothing more. Nothing less. And told most poetically.

Full Review Source: Movie Metropolis | Original Score: 7/10

May 1, 2009
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix

Fincher's fascination with, and film's illusory power over, time deepened the mystery of his previous film, Zodiac. Such insights also redeem Button from its cuteness and kitsch.

Full Review Source: Boston Phoenix | Original Score: 3/4

April 23, 2009
Simon Weaving
Screenwize

It's a curious story indeed, a long and rambling exploration of time and what we make of it.

Full Review Source: Screenwize | Original Score: 3/5

March 21, 2009
Page 1 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile