The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
July 19, 2015
Converts an F. Scott Fitzgerald short story about a man aging backward into an overly long exercise in pseudo-profundity bearing little resemblance to its source.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2014
A man who ages backwards will never be able to bond to another person in a truly meaningful way. We can barely be expected to return affection that isn't there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
Everything sure is pretty, but I'm not sure this movie has anything to say.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 16, 2011
One of the best half-movies of the year.
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 18, 2011
Every decade gets its Forrest Gump. David Fincher's version of a little known (and monumentally depressing) F. Scott Fitzgerald story is this one's. That's either a damning condemnation or just what the doctor ordered.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Nick Rogers
Suite101.com
September 25, 2010
David Fincher's epic doesn't wallow in nihilistic obsessions, but preached no comforting homily about life's rich pageant either. Life is feel-good in spurts - a series of oddly interconnected, occasionally elating moments that accumulate before death.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 12, 2010
It's not an inherently flawed premise, but it is in writer Roth's saccharine-stained hands. It's frustrating, because it's easy to see how it could have been so much better.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.2/10
Luis Martinez
Cinenganos
March 11, 2010
La premisa es un trozo puro de fantasía y una reflexión sobre el sentido de nuestras vidas%u2026 y creánme, dicha reflexión es tan sólo antesala de las muchas que contiene este filme.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 15, 2009
Sure, I cried at the end. I'm not a robot. But I cry at cat food commercials if they punch the right button. I just can't get on the Button train. I wish I could have obeyed my instincts and stayed home.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Soergel
Florida Times-Union
September 18, 2009
Brad Pitt spends a lifetime aging backward in The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, and there are points in the movie where your tired hindquarters feel as if they've been along for every minute of his strange journey.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune
September 4, 2009
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is the total package, a deftly assembled fairy tale that unspools like a pleasant dream.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
Who knew that F. Scott Fitzgerald's short story would end up on the screen as a three-hour Botox ad?
August 13, 2009
Between the visuals and the Pitt factor, this is a movie your girlfriend will dig, but there's enough crazy fantasy stuff going on that I'd never call it a "chick flick."
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Dragan Antulov
Index.hr
July 15, 2009
ostvarenje koje bi se komotno moglo nazvati Forrest Gump 2.0
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
June 14, 2009
a slow starter, and it never really speeds up into a thrilling film, save for one scene of war on the ocean. However, it's not meant to be fast-paced or riveted with action.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Clay Cane
BET.com
June 10, 2009
Yes, Button can be glorious, but the Hollywood glamour drowns the soul that it so needs. Plus, there is the insistent reminder that we will all lose our looks and die.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
May 17, 2009
With fine acting all around, and Fincher's typically meticulous filmmaking engagingly, if coldly, transportive above and beyond Roth's mediocre script, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button bears examining. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
May 15, 2009
... A beautiful, heartbreaking film ... packed with tender, loving performances and some of the most astounding visual effects we have ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
May 11, 2009
an outsized romantic epic built on a potentially flimsy bit of fantastical whimsy that instead becomes an affecting allegory for the fleeting joys of life
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
May 1, 2009
The movie is gentle and sweet. Nothing more. Nothing less. And told most poetically.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 1 of 12