The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Simon Miraudo
October 21, 2014
A man who ages backwards will never be able to bond to another person in a truly meaningful way. We can barely be expected to return affection that isn't there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Will Leitch
June 22, 2013
Everything sure is pretty, but I'm not sure this movie has anything to say.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 16, 2011
One of the best half-movies of the year.
Joshua Starnes
March 18, 2011
Every decade gets its Forrest Gump. David Fincher's version of a little known (and monumentally depressing) F. Scott Fitzgerald story is this one's. That's either a damning condemnation or just what the doctor ordered.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Nick Rogers
September 25, 2010
David Fincher's epic doesn't wallow in nihilistic obsessions, but preached no comforting homily about life's rich pageant either. Life is feel-good in spurts - a series of oddly interconnected, occasionally elating moments that accumulate before death.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Luis Martinez
March 11, 2010
La premisa es un trozo puro de fantasía y una reflexión sobre el sentido de nuestras vidas%u2026 y creánme, dicha reflexión es tan sólo antesala de las muchas que contiene este filme.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Kofi Outlaw
January 27, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 15, 2009
Sure, I cried at the end. I'm not a robot. But I cry at cat food commercials if they punch the right button. I just can't get on the Button train. I wish I could have obeyed my instincts and stayed home.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mike Scott
September 4, 2009
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is the total package, a deftly assembled fairy tale that unspools like a pleasant dream.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 13, 2009
Between the visuals and the Pitt factor, this is a movie your girlfriend will dig, but there's enough crazy fantasy stuff going on that I'd never call it a "chick flick."
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
June 14, 2009
a slow starter, and it never really speeds up into a thrilling film, save for one scene of war on the ocean. However, it's not meant to be fast-paced or riveted with action.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
May 17, 2009
With fine acting all around, and Fincher's typically meticulous filmmaking engagingly, if coldly, transportive above and beyond Roth's mediocre script, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button bears examining. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
May 15, 2009
... A beautiful, heartbreaking film ... packed with tender, loving performances and some of the most astounding visual effects we have ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
May 11, 2009
an outsized romantic epic built on a potentially flimsy bit of fantastical whimsy that instead becomes an affecting allegory for the fleeting joys of life
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
May 1, 2009
The movie is gentle and sweet. Nothing more. Nothing less. And told most poetically.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
Fincher's fascination with, and film's illusory power over, time deepened the mystery of his previous film, Zodiac. Such insights also redeem Button from its cuteness and kitsch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Simon Weaving
March 21, 2009
It's a curious story indeed, a long and rambling exploration of time and what we make of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Keith Cohen
Entertainment Spectrum
March 21, 2009
It is the cream of the crop in the categories of cinematography, editing, art direction, sound mixing, costume design, special visual effects, makeup and original musical score.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
March 1, 2009
An exceptionally well made movie with strong performances, most notably those by Cate Blanchett and Tilda Swinton, both at the top of their games.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 12