Dark Prince: The True Story of Dracula - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dark Prince: The True Story of Dracula Reviews

Page 1 of 8
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
May 15, 2007
This had its moments, but overall, felt too tv-ish.
Super Reviewer
March 22, 2006
This movie could have been SO much better than it was. The story of Dracula the merciless prince was a good one, but they tried to murk it up with half-hearted supernatural bunk. It wasn't very well cast either. Disappointing.
Super Reviewer
October 7, 2009
I thought this was a vampire film, nevertheless I watched the whole thing. I thought it was pretty good for what it was a historical / horror film.
July 3, 2012
Though not released in theaters I believe this is the only worthy tale of the historical Draculea. If it had only been given a bigger budget and perhaps had someone other than Jane March play Elizabeta it would've been as big as Francis Ford Coppola's Dracula. The historical Prince is someone that is often distorted into whatever Hollywood needs at the time. This doesn't gloss over the hard stuff (nor does it do more than brush the surface). Vlad Draculea III is considered a hero to the Romanian people even today. If you think about it, there is a reason for this- which the movie points out clearly. Rudolf Martin does justice to the role and captures the more pensive side of the 15th century warlord prince. If you're interested in what's behind Bram Stoker's story then see this movie!
October 25, 2011
Finally a movie about the actual myth and its origins! could have been better but I have yet to see anyone else take on this story
½ July 26, 2010
Not too bad. I rather enjoyed the creepiness and realistic take on Dracula's historical origins. Aside from the final scene, the whole film is pretty much entirely historically accurate, which get's an added bonus for me and adds to the creepy vibe. It's a somewhat cheap looking production, but entertaining and creepy. Not bad at all.
½ October 23, 2008
Wasn't to bad of a flick actually. I liked it, compared to some of the other versions anyways. Showed more of the realistic side of Vlad which was cool.
½ September 5, 2007
The only good thing about this cringe worthy waste of celluloid thgat claims to be a "biography" of Vlad "the Impaler" Dracula is the cameo by the always excellent Peter "RoboCop" Weller. That is where this film earns its half-star. Otherwise, the acting is on a sub-porno level.
November 26, 2007
Story of Vlad Tepes and his love of a woman. His most torturous ways of keeping people in line, the sad and twisted suffering of his and his brother's youth. The rise and fall of Tepes and his wife's sad suicide... unable to cope with hearing the screams of Tepe's victims and the death of her father by his hands.
½ September 12, 2007
Now before you get excited this about how the legend of Vlad the Implaor came to be it not to be confused with Vlad the vampire.
August 17, 2007
Yet another Vlad/Dracula exploitation flick, this one looking like it was a Sci-Fi Chanel Original. Rudolf Martin is passable but unremarkable as the title character. In fact, "passable but unremarkable" pretty much sums up the entire production. The presence of a good but utterly wasted Roger Daltry is an especially cruel prank to play on the audience.
August 5, 2007
Another version of Dracula. Very different and entertaining. I enjoyed it and so did the rest of the family.
July 15, 2007
It's not an idiotic play on the vampire story of Dracula, those who like history and the true blood and gore of Vlad the Impaler will love this movie.
July 15, 2007
If you are a fan of the book The Historian, or Bram Stoker's Dracula. I highly recommend this movie. It gives the most accurate portrayal of Vlad Tepes (Dracula). I am a history buff, and love the concept and mythology of Dracula so this movie is right up my alley.
March 9, 2007
My all time FAVORITE movie of Martins... seriously i am SOoo in love with him...


blushes *stupid fangirl*
March 9, 2007
great movie tells the truth about the romananian prince and his devotion to his country not the false folklore myths
January 25, 2012
Though there are some historical inaccuracies I found Rudolf Martin's portrayal of Dracula to be incredibly good. It is no wonder he reprised the role for TV's Buffy verses Dracula (Season 5, episode 1 of Buffy The Vampire Slayer).

This is a very good movie that looks at the good and bad of the historical Dracula and at the end of the film even ties in some of the vampire story so that the film works as a loose prequel to Bram Stoker's Dracula starring Gray Oldman. I strongly recommend this film for any fan of Dracula or of the history of the middle ages. The film is very well done, very moody, very atmospheric and surprisingly educational.
½ August 23, 2012
Vlad Dracula, the Historical legend thereof.????
July 10, 2012
Very good historically.
July 3, 2012
Though not released in theaters I believe this is the only worthy tale of the historical Draculea. If it had only been given a bigger budget and perhaps had someone other than Jane March play Elizabeta it would've been as big as Francis Ford Coppola's Dracula. The historical Prince is someone that is often distorted into whatever Hollywood needs at the time. This doesn't gloss over the hard stuff (nor does it do more than brush the surface). Vlad Draculea III is considered a hero to the Romanian people even today. If you think about it, there is a reason for this- which the movie points out clearly. Rudolf Martin does justice to the role and captures the more pensive side of the 15th century warlord prince. If you're interested in what's behind Bram Stoker's story then see this movie!
Page 1 of 8