Dasavatharam (The Ten Avatars) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dasavatharam (The Ten Avatars) Reviews

Page 1 of 7
June 13, 2008
An atrocity from start to finish, and surprisingly offensive. Last time I checked, an Indian dressed up as a Japanese guy joking about Pearl Harbor isn't funny. Okay, the way I described that sounds kind of funny, but trust me, it was in awful taste in the picture.
½ June 15, 2014
My Rating: 2.5/5 stars; Grade: C+; Gesture: Thumbs Sideways; Status: Mediocre or So-So (Rotten); Emoticon: :-|.
½ December 19, 2012
A man - A History is Kamal Hassan
½ August 5, 2012
actual story doesn't live up to the larger than life image of the movie.
May 8, 2012
a few roles were done well, but overall the movie is bad.
May 4, 2012
"spectacular" and a "super human effort"
January 29, 2012
This film is so stupid.
½ January 26, 2012
One man's exercise in arrogance = 3 hours of my life wasted. Thank you Kamal Hassan
½ March 20, 2011
The film starts off with an incident that occurs in the 12th century when Shaivite intolerance against Vaishnavites was at its peak. An ardent Vishnu devotee loses his life to save the idol of Lord Ranganatha. Kamal plays his first role of Vishnu devotee Rangarajan in this episode which is marked by excellent technical work and the actor's extraordinary performance. From here, the film goes to a time when the whole world is on the brink of a biological warfare waged by terrorists. Actively opposing them is the American president who urges the rest of the world to combat this evil. Meanwhile, a computer chip containing a vicious biological material goes missing from a laboratory in the United States. An in-house scientist Govinda [Images] (again played by Kamal Haasan) who is aware of the dangers of the material launches a hunt for the missing material, which takes him to India. In the course of the hunt for the missing chip, Kamal takes on eight more characters and travels to many continents.

a very different movie from the south indian cinema. i liked it but it was very weird but visually stunning i had good time.
½ September 17, 2008
and the Aaskaar for Megalomania goes too...

Learn all about the heights of Tamil Chemistry and how to save the world on a Segway.

Remember Hiroshima, Remember Pearl Harbour.

HA HA HA HA...
½ December 15, 2010
story is having a touch of chaos effect. execution is nice. technical values are good. entertainment value is near perfection. the final grade of the movie is A
September 5, 2010
'God works in mysterious ways' is the moral of the story and a very pious movie it is. Dr. Hassan brings the 12th century Chola Kingdom to life (watch it in the original Tamizh, the hindi version was horrendous) .. of course he mixes it up with theaterics and rewrites parts of history .. but he is amazing as Vishnu-bhakt Nambi challenging the bigotted Shivvite Emperor, Kulothunga Chola II for the Chidambaram Temple .. after that the movie is mindnumbing entertainment :p ..
August 24, 2010
A good movie, but it could have been done better!
½ July 10, 2010
Hatsoff to the Dasavatharam team for this much presentation.. really good try butttt.. too much kamal's and CG work should be better.

The 15 mins is awesome!!!
July 6, 2010
One of the most brilliantly made movie ever both in Indian and Hollywood cinemas ..
March 4, 2010
Day : Monday
Date: 26 Apr 2009
Time: 11.15 pm
With: Noone
On : PC

Good work by Kamal Haasan but story loses grip in between. There hardly seems connection.
February 10, 2010
costly bt lameeeeeee
½ January 31, 2010
Very long film, and obviously for me there was language barrier but one of the better films I have seen in a long time
½ January 15, 2010
its very nice to watch, just tried it.
Page 1 of 7