A Dead Calling Reviews

Page 2 of 2
½ February 23, 2015
Good story line. decent acting.
March 15, 2014
One line summary: Ghosts, revenge, confused parentage, murder, obsession, but no scares.

--------------------------

Rachel is a successful roving reporter for a television station. One evening she comes home and all seems well. A home invasion occurs and the thief kills her significant other by stabbing. She's in shock. She loses her job, her place of work. She goes back to her home in Fillmore with her parents George and Marge, then gets a job at the local television station. Her first assignment is an ongoing one in which she is to report on some of the high points of the local architecture.

When she goes to first stop on the list, the 'Sullivan House,' all seems as usual until she goes upstairs. Then she hallucinates a brutal stabbing of a woman by an enraged man. On her second visit, she meets Arnold, a photographer who is investigating paranormal events using very sensitive photographic equipment. When they are about to uncover a paranormal event, a big fellow gets in Arnold's way, then stabs him to death.

Stephen does some research, and finds that Arnold was killed some years ago. Oh, my. The Chief would rather that Stephen and Rachel quit poking around the Sullivan house. So of course they go there the same night. The Chief gets a complaint about their skulking around, and confronts them in the house. Unfortunately for the Chief, Dr. Sullivan, who owns the house, has gotten out of prison, and he stabs the Chief to death.

Rachel figures out that the killer is her father and the ghost in her first hallucination is the ghost of her birth mother.

Does Rachel help resolve the ghost's psychological problems, so that the haunting stops? Will any of the cast survive Dr. Sullivan? Are there last minute surprises?

-----Scores-----

Cinematography: 6/10 Camera shake. Stupid camera angles.

Sound: 5/10 There are some big shifts in volume for no particular purpose, except perhaps for shock effect.

Acting: 0/10 Alexandra Holden and John Burke are both terrible in this film. Their delivery of lines is just poor, and their external affect seems irrelevant. Micah Costanza was wretched as Deputy Murken. Mike Korich as Arnie Howard was no prize either.

Screenplay: 2/10 Does Rachel ever mourn Brian? Why is Rachel so snotty toward her parents? Why was absolutely nothing in this film scary? Bad writing.
½ July 8, 2013
Despite featuring horror icons Sid Haig and Bill Moseley, A Dead Calling is a pointless, boring, and stupid as horror cinema can get....
May 16, 2011
She sees dead people... the lead is just awful, unscary. SHaig, LEasterbrook, & BMoseley dont help by playing "normal" people either. At Hulu.
May 15, 2011
"Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!" I *really* mean, "Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!" It was worth the price I paid!!!
November 25, 2010
Somebody in a suit said, "Hey, lets take the principal main cast from Rob Zombie's latest hit film, make their characters good and make the villain of the film as little of a threat as possible. For the lead we can get a girl that constantly looks like she has been crying and now market this unscary mess of a film to Liftetime-Television for Women because that's the target audience."
July 10, 2009
..,aAhHm,hNxTlY i liKed dA mVie,
..,bUt iT xCrExX mE,..:]
January 13, 2008
interesting concept... very familiar
½ December 6, 2008
i like the movie but the big secret i figured out about 41 minutes in and i was just listening to the movie wile on the net lol and her reaction was pure crap if i was her adoptive parent i woulda unadopted her right then and there lol good movie over all
November 23, 2008
Better than average ghost story. Decent acting and some scary moments make it worth watching. A good script and interesting camera work also help keep everything moving along.
November 12, 2008
It was revitting,exciting,and was where they got characters from devil's rejects. I think....lol
July 11, 2008
Thought this would be better since part of the cast is comprised of the same cast as "the devils rejects" very predictable B horror movie. Don't waste your time.
June 22, 2008
Should have know better than to watch this when I saw the words "directed by Michael Feifer" on the DVD, but I couldn't resist a Devil's Rejects reunion... Silly me.
½ February 20, 2008
A Dead Calling is not for True Horror Fans. Its even worster then The Movie The Devil Rejects. It is entertaining in a funny way. But this is my Opinion.
Super Reviewer
December 24, 2007
This is a good movie has some of the Devils rejects in it.not bad for its time.
½ November 6, 2007
this was well done, Has Capt. Spauding,Otis &momma from Devil's Rejects in it!!!
December 11, 2006
4.5/10. For a low budget horror film, it isn't too bad. The acting is a very mixed bag, some good, some okay, some poor. The story is on the lame side, but it held my interest generally. Some of the storyline makes no sense at all, so that very much hurt the film's overall effect.
Page 2 of 2