Deceptive Practice: The Mysteries and Mentors of Ricky Jay Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Joseph Jon Lanthier
Slant Magazine
April 14, 2013
It never bothers to attempt the one thing we'd expect and hope from a documentary about Ricky Jay: It doesn't try to bamboozle us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Gerald Peary
Arts Fuse
September 16, 2013
The filmmaker is annoyingly passive and star-struck,as Ricky Jay, speaks only to his chosen agenda.
Full Review | Original Score: 2
Daniel Eagan
Film Journal International
April 17, 2013
Rambling and unfocused, the film doesn't do justice to its subject. It will be a perfect fit for PBS fundraisers, however.
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
May 30, 2013
The stories are amusing, but the film tells us hardly anything about who Jay is offstage. We get a guided tour of his passion, but never encounter the man himself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Alan Scherstuhl
Village Voice
April 16, 2013
What sticks with you is Jay, supremely calm, his body's every stray movement natural and normal even as you come to suspect that they're anything but.
Sam Adams
Philadelphia City Paper
May 23, 2013
Ricky Jay is the master of a discipline he created: trickster, archivist, showman and raconteur rolled into one.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 18, 2013
He always holds a card you don't see.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
May 30, 2013
The larger subjects, eloquently evoked, are the sources of his knowledge and inspiration, and the singular tradition within which he works and flourishes.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
May 30, 2013
If you like magic, I bet you'll love it. I don't, and even I had fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
April 17, 2013
It's magic, pure and simple.
Austin Kennedy
Film Geek Central
May 31, 2013
It's not the tightest Documentary I've ever seen, but it offers a rare look into the life of that charismatic, mysterious character that is Ricky Jay. If you're a fan of magic, card tricks, or Jay.... definitely check it out.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matthew Sorrento
Film International
June 9, 2013
Offers us a peek into a fervent force of creativity - as with many great artists, it's one of which we have limited understanding though all the more appreciation.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
April 17, 2013
Unsurprisingly, Mr. Jay proves a hugely entertaining guide, and as generous about his professional inspirations as he is reticent about his own life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Brian Orndorf
Blu-ray.com
May 15, 2013
Although the subject doesn't come through in high definition, his legacy is hypnotic, celebrated and studied here in a manner that's wholly satisfying and often eye-crossingly mesmerizing.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Mark R. Leeper
Mark Leeper's Reviews
May 13, 2013
DECEPTIVE PRACTICE is a fascinating study of one man's mania to attain perfection... Ricky Jay right now has the compulsive desire to be better than his fiercest competitor, Ricky Jay of ten minutes ago.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
April 18, 2013
They don't call it "magic" for nothing. This movie has plenty of enchantment to spare. Here is the best documentary of 2013, so far. Don't miss it.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
June 28, 2013
I happen to love magic tricks. Deceptive Practice gave me a healthy dose of them, plus a good bit of history as well, and I appreciated it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Brian Tallerico
HollywoodChicago.com
June 4, 2013
Ricky Jay only lets you see what he wants you to see when he's on stage. Doesn't it make sense that a film about him would be similarly elusive? And sometimes even magical?
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5.0
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
May 15, 2013
Maybe this is a niche film for magic lovers only, but the remarkable and many feats of magical distraction should just about please anyone who likes to be entertained and challenged
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
May 15, 2013
...a must for anyone who's ever had the urge to pull a coin from someone's ear or even just wondered 'How did he *do* that?'
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 2