Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
43% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
53% Z Nation: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Despicable Me 2 Reviews

Page 3 of 9
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures

Plays a lot like an Ice Age sequel. There's just too many characters which were essential to the original movie but irrelevant here.

Full Review Source: 7M Pictures | Original Score: 2.5/5

July 4, 2013
Daniel M. Kimmel
New England Movies Weekly

Gru might hate this characterization since he is an ex-villain, but Despicable Me 2 is the feel good movie of the summer.

Full Review Source: New England Movies Weekly | Original Score: 5/5

July 3, 2013
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies

[A] meandering, unfocused movie that tries to force more material out of a gimmick -- without actually using the gimmick -- than is possible.

Full Review Source: Mark Reviews Movies | Original Score: 2/4

July 3, 2013
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald

I caught it almost a week ago, and I'm still laughing.

Full Review Source: Tri-City Herald | Original Score: 5/5

July 3, 2013
Nancy Churnin
Dallas Morning News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

How do you tell a story about a bad guy who is no longer a bad guy? Despicable Me 2 embraces the dilemma and adds new ones.

Full Review Source: Dallas Morning News | Original Score: B

July 3, 2013
Drew Taylor
The Playlist

This is a sequel that's even less necessary than Monsters University; often times it feels like the movie can't even justify it's own existence while you're watching it.

Full Review Source: The Playlist | Original Score: C-

July 3, 2013
Chris Knight
National Post

Despicable Me 2 does have the whiff of focus-group research about it -- more minions! -- but the story, by the same duo that wrote the original (and the same directors, too), also feels like a natural extension of the first film.

Full Review Source: National Post | Original Score: 3/4

July 3, 2013
Rob Vaux
Mania.com

The film easily surpasses the original, while leaving room for further sequels.

Full Review Source: Mania.com | Original Score: B+

July 3, 2013
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News

We do get a solid 40 minutes of Hart's new routine, one that shows his transition from underdog entertainer to front-rank, stand-up star.

Full Review Source: Philadelphia Daily News | Original Score: 3/4

July 3, 2013
Sandy Schaefer
ScreenRant

Those who adore the Minions and want more light-hearted fun in the zany Despicable Me universe should get what they are looking for in the sequel.

Full Review Source: ScreenRant | Original Score: 3/5

July 3, 2013
Mary F. Pols
TIME Magazine
Top Critic IconTop Critic

As a sequel [it] stands level with the first film (also directed by Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud), and may have the edge on it.

Full Review Source: TIME Magazine

July 3, 2013
Odie Henderson
RogerEbert.com

"Despicable Me 2" lags on occasion, but every time I found my attention waning, the filmmakers did something wicked to goose me.

Full Review Source: RogerEbert.com | Original Score: 3/4

July 3, 2013
Bruce Ingram
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

[A] remarkably tepid sequel to the surprise 2010 hit ...

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times

July 3, 2013
Paul Chambers
Movie Chambers

It's all good fun. If you have kids...they'll squeal. And, even adults will like the minions and the 3D effects.

Full Review Source: Movie Chambers | Original Score: B

July 3, 2013
Steve Davis
Austin Chronicle

Given the outlandish premise, you'll wish the film twinkled with a more savvy sense of humor and adventure, like the chapters of the Toy Story series, for example.

Full Review Source: Austin Chronicle | Original Score: 2.5/5

July 3, 2013
Nell Minow
Beliefnet

wonderfully imaginative and fun with a masterful use of 3D and breathtaking precision-timed action sequences that are both exciting and hilarious. And there are minions.

Full Review Source: Beliefnet | Original Score: B+

July 3, 2013
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly

As amusing as the minions can be, they aren't enough to carry the movie.

Full Review Source: Las Vegas Weekly | Original Score: 2.5/5

July 3, 2013
Kirk Baird
Toledo Blade

Not as consistently funny as the original, Despicable Me 2 still proves itself a quite-capable sequel, one that moves the characters and their stories along in humorous and often sweet ways.

Full Review Source: Toledo Blade | Original Score: 3.5/4

July 3, 2013
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media

More minions and romance make for a sweet, silly sequel.

Full Review Source: Common Sense Media | Original Score: 4/5

July 3, 2013

The Minions' decision to go solo next year is the smartest move since The Simpsons severed their relationship with Tracey Ullman.

Full Review Source: NECN | Original Score: C+

July 3, 2013
Page 3 of 9
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile