Despicable Me 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me 2 Reviews

Page 3 of 9
James Verniere
Boston Herald
July 4, 2013
What language do the Minions, those delightful, yellow homunculi of these 'Despicable Me' films, speak? Whatever it it, it is silliness raised to sublime, giggle-inducing heights, and renders children and adults alike helpless.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Kevin Carr
Fat Guys at the Movies
July 4, 2013
Plays a lot like an Ice Age sequel. There's just too many characters which were essential to the original movie but irrelevant here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Daniel M. Kimmel
New England Movies Weekly
July 3, 2013
Gru might hate this characterization since he is an ex-villain, but Despicable Me 2 is the feel good movie of the summer.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
July 3, 2013
[A] meandering, unfocused movie that tries to force more material out of a gimmick -- without actually using the gimmick -- than is possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald
July 3, 2013
I caught it almost a week ago, and I'm still laughing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Nancy Churnin
Dallas Morning News
July 3, 2013
How do you tell a story about a bad guy who is no longer a bad guy? Despicable Me 2 embraces the dilemma and adds new ones.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Drew Taylor
The Playlist
July 3, 2013
This is a sequel that's even less necessary than Monsters University; often times it feels like the movie can't even justify it's own existence while you're watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Chris Knight
National Post
July 3, 2013
Despicable Me 2 does have the whiff of focus-group research about it -- more minions! -- but the story, by the same duo that wrote the original (and the same directors, too), also feels like a natural extension of the first film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Rob Vaux
Mania.com
July 3, 2013
The film easily surpasses the original, while leaving room for further sequels.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
July 3, 2013
We do get a solid 40 minutes of Hart's new routine, one that shows his transition from underdog entertainer to front-rank, stand-up star.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Sandy Schaefer
ScreenRant
July 3, 2013
Those who adore the Minions and want more light-hearted fun in the zany Despicable Me universe should get what they are looking for in the sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Mary F. Pols
TIME Magazine
July 3, 2013
As a sequel [it] stands level with the first film (also directed by Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud), and may have the edge on it.
Odie Henderson
RogerEbert.com
July 3, 2013
"Despicable Me 2" lags on occasion, but every time I found my attention waning, the filmmakers did something wicked to goose me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Bruce Ingram
Chicago Sun-Times
July 3, 2013
[A] remarkably tepid sequel to the surprise 2010 hit ...
Paul Chambers
Movie Chambers
July 3, 2013
It's all good fun. If you have kids...they'll squeal. And, even adults will like the minions and the 3D effects.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Steve Davis
Austin Chronicle
July 3, 2013
Given the outlandish premise, you'll wish the film twinkled with a more savvy sense of humor and adventure, like the chapters of the Toy Story series, for example.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Nell Minow
Beliefnet
July 3, 2013
wonderfully imaginative and fun with a masterful use of 3D and breathtaking precision-timed action sequences that are both exciting and hilarious. And there are minions.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
July 3, 2013
As amusing as the minions can be, they aren't enough to carry the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Kirk Baird
Toledo Blade
July 3, 2013
Not as consistently funny as the original, Despicable Me 2 still proves itself a quite-capable sequel, one that moves the characters and their stories along in humorous and often sweet ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
July 3, 2013
More minions and romance make for a sweet, silly sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 3 of 9