Diminished Capacity - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Diminished Capacity Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Victor Olliver
Teletext
March 19, 2009
It's quite easy: either go get a sedative and calm down, dear. Or see this gentle and frankly boring-as-hell movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
December 8, 2008
Sherwood Kiraly's slight script only makes this embarrassment of riches seem more embarrassing.
Pete Hammond
Hollywood.com
November 20, 2008
This Sundance hit is a sleeper surprise of the summer -- a one-of-a-kind original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
July 17, 2008
A gentle, agreeable dramedy, Capacity reveals that Kinney has a unique hold on tone and shares a palpable charm with his actors.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
July 16, 2008
Alda's Hawkeye Pierce charm gives way to something snappish and cagey, while Broderick's fussy stiffness is perfect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
July 15, 2008
Suffering from a diminished level of interest, do we know how to live up to a title, or what?
| Original Score: 2/5
Frederica Mathewes-Green
Christianity Today
July 10, 2008
I wonder if all this worked better as a book. It begins modestly interesting, but becomes merely agitated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Noel Murray
AV Club
July 10, 2008
Didn't we invent film festivals so we could sequester all the star-studded 'how I spent my summer vacation' indie film projects and keep them out of our arthouses?
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jeanne Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
July 8, 2008
Although this is no 'Ferris Bueller's Day Off', Matthew Broderick does return to Chicago for a wonderful, wacky little gem.
Full Review
David Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
July 8, 2008
There is some suspense as to the fate of that baseball card.
Full Review
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
Boxoffice Magazine
July 7, 2008
A slog through determined wackiness, it's apt to leave audiences cold.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
July 4, 2008
The actors look as if they're having a reasonably fine time, but there's no sense of commitment here, no sense that this was a movie that absolutely, passionately had to be made.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 4, 2008
A mild pleasure from one end to the other, but not much more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Lewis Beale
Film Journal International
July 3, 2008
Smart and well-written, filled with good lines and just enough offbeat moments to make it interesting, not annoying.
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
July 3, 2008
Striving for low-key character comedy, Diminished Capacity ends up diminishing its returns.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
July 3, 2008
It has moments of sweetness, but not enough poignancy or wit to turn it into the endearing art-house comedy that it aspires to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Christopher Campbell
Cinematical
July 3, 2008
The problem with this film ... is that it features too many other sad sack characters who ... contribute to an excess of sad-sackness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
July 2, 2008
Great, just what we needed: another rote exercise in indie-feely humanism.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
Geoff Berkshire
Metromix.com
July 2, 2008
A movie about memory loss shouldn't be so forgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
James Rocchi
Common Sense Media
July 2, 2008
Bland indie comedy isn't very memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 2