The Doom Generation Reviews

Page 1 of 32
puffchunk
Super Reviewer
½ March 10, 2008
Pretty sure this was written by a 9 year old who learned the f word. It makes no sense, and they constatnly insult each other using phrases I've not heard since middle school. It gets 1.5 stars for being strange and having killing and a few short blissful moments of Rose McGowan. Otherwise I wanted strangle every character in it.
Super Reviewer
December 2, 2008
This movie has a consistent and unique tone, which is why I wasn't surprised this was an Araki film. Araki is fantastic with tone, and in this film, he creates an alternate electro junkie 90s fever-dream where the world is always on the edge of ending and everything is distorted into symbols and pop art to convey the indescribable desperation and fear the characters think rests naturally within their souls. The soundtrack is near constant, and is as much an important character as the three people this film focuses on. The story is an odd love triangle set in post modern crazy land, with the repeated incidents of sudden deadly violence and cases of unforgivable mistaken identity pushing the plot from one sex scene to another.

This film pulls into the world of these three characters so fully. Rose McGowan creates the paradigm of the annoying junkie girl from the 90s and it plays well off the sensitive stoner and daring bad boy cutouts of characters. Definitely a film for people who feel like thinking about what they are watching, as much of the detail is in symbolic 90s art creations and the main plot points reference not reality, but B movies. Watching this movie is like falling into an abyss of the 1990s and its complacent pessimism. The film just leaves one feeling unsettled and in this way perfectly captures its era and what its characters are feeling and conveys that to the audience.

Fantastic ending, a real blinder that works so well.

Cool cameos: Parker Posey and Perry Farrell of Jane's Addiction

"Most Fucked Up" highlight: head still talking, the conclusion
Super Reviewer
½ October 15, 2007
Cheesy, sleezy and gory. Rose McGowan still manages to badly act, but James Duval is really endearing somehow. It's worth the watch..but don't get too invested.
Super Reviewer
½ July 17, 2007
Why did I give this movie one star? Because negative stars was not an option. I like shock films. I used to be heavily into the industrial grunge scene (which this film thinks it mimics). I enjoy films that will take it over the edge in all capacities...not a prude here, BUT COME ON! With Rose McGowan playing (?) the over the top, nihilist, wannabe, paired up with her Bill and Ted clone boyfriend who has the IQ ten points lower than a styrofoam ball and a Dark Star poser all running around doing....NOTHING (except each other and anybody else)... You might think, "Well, there is sure to be some funny or witty dialogue." Ummm...No...no there isn't. Think of every expletive imaginable...there is your dialogue for a full 1.5 hours. Think of every act of violence from sexual violence to limbs flying...there is your action. Think of the amount of light emitting from a black hole...there you have your plot. I have passed kidney stones with more presence of mind than this film. THE ONLY redeeming feature is the soundtrack. It has Nine Inch Nails, Front 242, and Verve to name a few. My suggestion...buy the soundtrack and skip the film or risk being angered by never being able to regain that 1.5 hours of your life again that you took to watch this film.
Super Reviewer
June 23, 2008
A wee bit crappy. Gregg Araki is clearly doing things just to shock and put them out there and...it doesn't really work.
Super Reviewer
½ October 7, 2006
This film definitely has Araki's unique stamp on it, but that isn't enough to hold it together. Attempting to mesh trippy, dreamlike elements with a formally succint narrative, the film ends up running away in too many directions. It's technically polished, of course, with an expectedly fantastic soundtrack. Other than that, it doesn't have a whole lot going for it and unfortunately it gets wearisome rather quickly.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
November 7, 2012
Too weird to ignore, too nihilistic to enjoy. And wow, is James Duval a complete idiot as one of the three leads - a 10.5 on the Keanu scale. Awesome soundtrack.
iLeo
Super Reviewer
February 1, 2008
An interesting movie, with comedic lines and comments.
May 6, 2014
Other than seeing Rose Mcgowan's tits, this oddly amusing piece of post-apocalyptic junk is pretty to look at except it makes little sense in what it wants to say. Was it's message that life sucks? Well, I didn't need a movie to tell me that. Aside from the generation Xer's angsty bullshit, there were some clever one-liners and nicely lit scenes. Gregg Araki has done better though. See Mysterious Skin.
June 12, 2011
You're taking yourself (and this movie) too seriously if you're not chuckling through the whole thing. Very Tarantino/Robert Rodriguez-type of movie. The actors make an effort to 'act badly' and even though it's credited as a "Heterosexual movie" by the king of homosexual movies, it's still got your homoerotic undertones. One scene in particular is excruciatingly difficult to watch, but as an artistic piece, it's complete. And it's nice to see Rose McGowan before she decided to compete with Angelina Jolie for the biggest lips in Hollywood.
March 6, 2011
This movie had the same motives as most movies you'll see. (Blood, Guts, Sex and a good ending.) It's just done with the Gothic people of our world in mind. When you look at the different topics in movies, there all done to please different people in the world. Cowboy movies for cowboys, Biker movies for Bikers. Collage movies for Collage people and this is a movie with Gothic as it's players to feed the Gothic side of life. Just as most horror movies, it's all fictional with a lot of small sutle jokes to keep us interested. The way I judge a movie good or bad has to do with how the ending comes out. Some you'll say, that was the worst ending but this ending I was happy with.
November 5, 2010
Trashy, hollow, and watchable is what I will expect from pre-Mysterious Skin movies by Araki. This film is never offensive nor vulgar, however, but it might take some aback with the homo undertones. But it's a hetero film, remember. Badly directed and acted, utilizing some horrendous dialogue to serve as connective tissue between the sex and violence. I didn't like the menage a trois the first time around (Band of Outsiders), but in the Doom Generation it's less annoying.
½ July 17, 2008
One of the most pointless and ridiculously stupid movies that I have ever seen in my entire life! This is a character driven story too, which I find to be ironic since I do prefer movies that have character driven stories, but the acting is nearly as horrid as I have ever seen in any movie that I have ever had the misfortune to sit through...

(I am looking back and I am having a hard time believing that I was actually waiting for 'Jordan' to grow a spine! It is clear and undeniable that this movie is FAR ...to ignorant and to asinine to allow that to happen!)

The lines/dialogue delivered in this film are cheesy & boring & add to the patheticness of the movie. And obviously, that's NOT a good thing!! One of the few interesting parts of the film were the list of cameos by actors (Dustin Nguyen, Parker Posey...talented actors at that, who's talents are completely wasted) and non-actors alike (Heidi Fleiss & Perry Ferrall; and I don't mind Fleiss but, Farrell is an talentless singer/songwriter-hack who clearly only took this job to pay for his heroin habit)!

The ...ONLY... 'good' thing about the entire movie was the soundtrack, which is something of a conundrum since Perry Ferralls band of junkies are on the soundtrack, too!





Period.

Point.

Blank.
May 6, 2010
Disturbing factor: 7/10
As a movie: 3/10

I love Gregg Araki, but this movie is just kind of annoying. On list of disturbing movies mainly because of the ending, which is more irritating and sad than anything. The only half-decent character gets the brunt of torture and punishment while the other two characters that go through the whole movie up to this point to show just what shitty people they are go free and unscathed.
June 10, 2010
I thought this film was pretty stupid with a crap story line. Somebody please explain the point of this movie to me, because I can't find it.
Super Reviewer
½ December 5, 2009
I thought that this was a very poor excuse of a movie. It was as if the director was trying too hard to prove that his vision in this movie was artistic. Well, film making is an art, but not everyone is going to like it. This was a movie I didn't like. The only thing I liked about this movie was Rose McGowan, otherwise this was a complete waste of my time. This really didn't even feel like it had a story to it. Everything seemed to feel like it was way too forced.
December 3, 2009
Interesting film, to say the least. For some odd reason I kind of liked it. Interesting characters, not all are likeable though. Very black humor, but I found it's over the top dark humor to be amusing. I doesn't work on all levels, but I like director Gregg Araki and the fact he is trying something different.
September 26, 2009
This movie is great! Teen angst X10 ! No shortage of excitement! It has quite a bit of humor mixed in as well, and of course sex. Notice how often 666 comes up too. The heroine surely has a way of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Hope you like shotguns. Last but not least, just to add one last touch of interest, there are many mistaken identity situations. The ending is a bit strange.
August 26, 2009
I liked it to me it kept me pulled in the thing was I Expected an the ending to reveal why people where after Amy and where they where headed, and if the other lesbian chick ever got the them? :D
½ July 27, 2009
Despite the overwhelmingly present soft porn, this movie is a visually splendid for those of us who love counterculture and grease vultures. I like the part where they all three get coffee and you guess who got alottt of cream, who got little and who takes theirs black. And f***ing rad cameo by none other than Posey Parker- "I'm going to lop his dick off"...ah brilliance.
Page 1 of 32