Opening

67% The Maze Runner Sep 19
64% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
91% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
89% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

33% The Mysteries of Laura: Season 1
61% Red Band Society: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— The League: Season 6
56% Legends: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Drag Me to Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Nicholas Barber
Independent

Taking a break from directing Spider-Man blockbusters, Sam Raimi has come home to the gloriously tasteless, lowish-budget horror comedy he pioneered in The Evil Dead trilogy.

Full Review Source: Independent

August 19, 2014
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic IconTop Critic

O, joy, a horror flick that's smart and funny, as well as cringeworthy for all the right reasons. And up to speed on the mortgage crisis too.

Full Review Source: Wall Street Journal

August 19, 2014
Jamie Russell
Radio Times

Spider-Man director Sam Raimi returns to his Evil Dead roots in this yucky, energetic and consistently entertaining fright movie.

Full Review Source: Radio Times | Original Score: 4/5

August 4, 2013
Dann Gire
Daily Herald (IL)

The aptly titled Drag Me to Hell celebrates Sam Raimi's triumphant return to frightful and cheesy horror films that elicit as many nervous laughs as cringing shudders.

Full Review Source: Daily Herald (IL)

August 4, 2013
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)

Drag's a brief, blunt and utterly brilliant blast of humor, terror and wicked satire; a trifle that feels like triumph, a dashed-off flick that blows doors off big-budget competition, and is about as much fun as you can have at the multiplex.

Full Review Source: Metro Times (Detroit, MI)

August 4, 2013
Chris Stamm
Willamette Week

The legitimately pleasing touches of absurdity just aren't worth the struggle it takes to make it through long stretches of apathetic moviemaking.

Full Review Source: Willamette Week

August 4, 2013
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Playful and relentlessly scary.

Full Review Source: New Yorker

August 4, 2013
Jason Buchanan
TV Guide's Movie Guide

Leave it to Sam Raimi to breathe some new life into the genre most closely associated with lame sequels and lifeless remakes.

Full Review Source: TV Guide's Movie Guide | Original Score: 3/4

August 4, 2013
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org

After a certain point, the movie becomes our own cinematic damnation from which there is no escape.

Full Review Source: Cinemaphile.org | Original Score: 1.5/4

July 7, 2013
Will Leitch
Deadspin

In retrospect, I don't remember much about this film other than the gutpunch of the last scene ... but my, what a gutpunch it is.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: B+

June 22, 2013
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk

This is horror directed with a light touch but delivered like a hammer blow to the head.

Full Review Source: TheShiznit.co.uk | Original Score: 4/5

September 29, 2012
Alex Sandell
Juicy Cerebellum

Drag Me to Hell's PG-13 rating holds [Raimi] back from the all-out, blood-spraying gonzo insanity he reached with Evil Dead, but he still gets away with a surprising amount of gross-out gags.

Full Review Source: Juicy Cerebellum | Original Score: 7/10

January 15, 2012
Bob Westal
Bullz-Eye.com

There's a necessary coldness at its heart, and I'm honestly unsure whether it's a plus or a minus. I'm convinced, however, that this big inner chill is part of the reason why it's still creeping me out just a bit.

Full Review Source: Bullz-Eye.com | Original Score: 3.5/5

January 7, 2012
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net

It could do with some more insanity. That's usually the only time it really feels alive. As it is only about half of Drag Me to Hell really hits that levels, but that's a lot more than we normally get.

Full Review Source: ComingSoon.net | Original Score: 8/10

March 18, 2011
Mike Edwards
What Culture

When a film makes me smile this much (you can't see, but it's a big smile), for this long (about a week) you know it's a great one.

Full Review Source: What Culture | Original Score: 4.5/5

March 1, 2011
Tyler Hanley
Palo Alto Weekly

Director Sam Raimi returns to his Evil Dead roots for this tongue-in-cheek gorefest -- one part spooky chiller, one part campy chuckler.

Full Review Source: Palo Alto Weekly | Original Score: 2.5/4

February 1, 2011
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix

Drag Me To Hell is a genre-buster; one of the funniest and most satisfying films of 2009, and quite simply a perfect horror film. It also has possibly the greatest final-reel shock since Carrie.

Full Review Source: Quickflix | Original Score: 5/5

October 27, 2010
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au

Raimi took the horror/comedy by the scruff of the neck in 1981 with his no-budget, roller-coaster of a possession film Evil Dead...and he brings his big bag of tricks to his much-anticipated return to horror, Drag Me To Hell.

Full Review Source: sbs.com.au

August 9, 2010
Dana Stevens
Slate
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Raimi should go slumming more often.

Full Review Source: Slate

July 7, 2010

Sight and Sound

While few are going to accuse it of breaking new narrative ground, it proves one of the most satisfying horror films of recent years.

Full Review Source: Sight and Sound

July 7, 2010
Page 1 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile