Dumb and Dumberer: When Harry Met Lloyd - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dumb and Dumberer: When Harry Met Lloyd Reviews

Page 1 of 303
Super Reviewer
½ February 4, 2010
You could say that this film is disgraceful to the original all you want, but quite honestly, it is so outlandish that you may just wind up loving it for all the wrong reasons. Rehashing about half of the gags from the first film, "Dumb and Dumberer: When Harry Met Lloyd" is a pretty bland comedy. The replacements/younger versions of Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels do their best at capturing the spirit of the characters, but with such a thin plot, nothing really shines in this film. How dumb the actors try to make themselves is sad enough and I can't get enough of it. I have a soft spot for how bad this prequel is, and though it's rewatchablility is zero to none, I would still recommend this film to people who like dumb comedies. A terrible film in every sense of the word, but still a blast to watch.
Directors Cat
Super Reviewer
½ January 3, 2012
Hopefully if Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels return as a duo for a sequel to be released (if it does) we'll be able to forget this awful tragedy of cinema.
DreamExtractor
Super Reviewer
½ August 17, 2011
This was god awful, one of the worst films in the history of man kind, not funny at all.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
½ June 3, 2011
Prequel to Dumb & Dumber is an incredibly bad attempt at outdoing the original. Where to begin? The acting is terrible, the jokes are unoriginal, the script is terrible. This film one of the worst films that I have ever seen, and it doesn't deliver anything funny or amusing. The film instead of being funny is irritating with it's stupid attempt at "good" comedy which of course fails fails on all levels. If you're lucky you'll stay away from this film. If you're unlucky, you can warn fans of Dumb & Dumber how bad this prequel is. This film scrapes the bottom of the barrel and goes further still. All the actors here for exception of Luis Guzman suck. I'm actually surprised that Guzman acted in this. Dumb & DUmberer is actually a fairly great title for this film because it certainly is dumberer and makes the viewer feel dumberer for having watched it. Thnere's nothing great about this film, it's a dreadful train wreck of a movie that you wished you hadn't seen in the first place. The film is thebtype of movie that you wish could be unmade and whipped off the face of the earth. Dumb & Dumberer is nothing but a sorry piece of crap prequel thatjoins a few other films that filmmakers have tried to cash in on its far superior counterpart. Of course I'm refereing to films like Slap Shot 2, 3, Sandlot 2,3 and Caddyshack 2. All of these films failed to capture what made the originals so great. Now Dumb & Dumberer is among those sad, mediocre titles as one of the worst prequel/ sequel ever made.
Super Reviewer
½ July 29, 2010
Weirdly enough, this was actually slightly entertaining. Sure, it's a sequel to a movie that could have not ever been made and no one would care, but it still delivers some nice timing and comedy skills unknowns aren't liable to possess.
Super Reviewer
½ June 10, 2009
this is stupid. why should i want to watch 2 morons impersonate Jeff Daniels and Jim Carrey (and badly) and why WHY did i not check the back of the box to see if the LaBoof was in it?!?

Ok so i just saw it again, and it actually DID NOT make me puke my fucking lunch up! so hoorah!
Super Reviewer
½ January 18, 2010
It's a lot more juvenile than the original, but it was a lot better than I expected. It had a lot of inside jokes from the first and you could tell it was made by fans. Eric Christian Olsen actually did an almost dead on impression of Jim Carrey, I was really impressed.
Super Reviewer
½ September 7, 2007
Olsen mimics Carrey suprisingly well...but that's about it.
jagfire
Super Reviewer
½ August 23, 2007
If you even consider watching this, make sure to sock yourself in the face. Fifty times.
Super Reviewer
August 8, 2007
Not nearly as good as the first one but it was fairly decent.
Super Reviewer
July 13, 2007
The actors were really well cast and looked like younger versions of Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels. Their adventures are lame and on the gross-out side. Dumb boys!
Super Reviewer
½ November 21, 2014
The stupidity continues as the comedy goes old school in the prequel Dumb and Dumberer: When Harry Met Lloyd. Set in their carefree high school days in 1986, Harry and Lloyd become the unwitting pawns of a corrupt principle who's attempting to embezzle state funds by creating a fake "Special Needs" class. Featuring Eric Christian Olsen, Rachel Nichols, Eugene Levy, and Shia LaBeouf, the casting is pretty good; Olsen in particular does a great job at emulating Jim Carrey's performance from the original. And the comedy is well-written, staying true to the first film and offering several homages. Still, the film tries a little too hard to be like the original and doesn't quite have the same spirit. Dumb and Dumberer: When Harry Met Lloyd is fun and entertaining, but it plays things kind of safe and sticks to a standard high school comedy formula.
Super Reviewer
½ December 2, 2011
This was god awful, one of the worst films in the history of man kind, not funny at all.
Super Reviewer
½ October 19, 2010
It doesn't compare to the original, and offers very few laughs, this film just keeps getting dumb and dumber.
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2007
The Farrelly's didn't want to do this movie for fear it would diminish the quality of the original. It wasn't quite that bad thou. It had some really hysterical moments, and Hollywood chipped in with cameos (by Saget, Shia LaBouf, Cheri Oteri, Mimi Rogers, and Eugene Levy to name a few.) It most defiantly doesn't live up to the original, but surprisingly it wasn't terrible. Eric Christian Olson does a terrific job as Lloyd, the story of how they met, as well as references to the original, and the cameos make this film worth seeing. It really isn't as bad as you might think it would be.
Super Reviewer
½ July 21, 2007
I thought a prequel for Dumb and Dumber might be a good idea... until I saw it and it was Hollywood's most pathetic excuse for a movie.
xxdebxx
Super Reviewer
½ December 26, 2009
This movie is an insult to the previous movie starring Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels, a huge monument to crappy sequels. Granted there are a few laughs, however they are few and far with recycled references to the original.
Super Reviewer
½ September 1, 2012
This prequel literally gets dumb and dumber with almost no laughs. Stick to the original with Jim Carrey.
KeepGuessing
Super Reviewer
May 29, 2008
Funny, though never as hilarious as the original.
Super Reviewer
½ October 10, 2007
Less funny than a lobotomy
Page 1 of 303