Dungeons & Dragons (2000)

TOMATOMETER

AUDIENCE SCORE

Critic Consensus: Critics say this movie has a cheap look and is badly directed. Despite the presence of talented actors, the performances are really bad, and additionally, some people are offended at Marlon Wayans' character, calling it a racist throwback to black stereotypes.


Movie Info

The Empire of Izmer has long been a divided land. The Mages - an elite group of magic users - rule whilst the lowly commoners are powerless. Izmer's young Empress, Savina, wants equality and prosperity for all, but the evil Mage Profion is plotting to depose her, and establish his own rule. In order to prevent Profion from taking over her kingdom, the Empress must find the legendary Rod of Savrille that controls the powerful Red Dragons. Enter two thieves, Ridley and Snails, who unwittingly … More

Rating: PG-13 (for fantasy action violence)
Genre: Action & Adventure, Science Fiction & Fantasy
Directed By:
Written By: Mark Leahy, Topper Lilien, Carroll Cartwright
In Theaters:
On DVD: May 22, 2001
Box Office: $14.8M
Runtime:
New Line Cinema - Official Site

Cast


as Ridley Freeborn

as Profion

as Marina Pretensa

as Empress Savina

as Damodar

as Halvarth

as Elwood Gutworthy

as Vildan Vildir

as Azmath

as Three Eyes

as Orc No. 1

as Orc No. 2

as Thief No. 1

as Thief No. 2

as Thief No. 3

as Crimson Brigade

as Another Mage

as Council Mage

as Elf No. 1

as Elf No. 2

as Loyalist General
Show More Cast

News & Interviews for Dungeons & Dragons

Friend Ratings

No Friends? Inconceivable! Log in to see what your friends have to say.

Login

Critic Reviews for Dungeons & Dragons

All Critics (108) | Top Critics (31)

The average episode of Xena or Hercules offers a more compelling and imaginative photoplay.

Full Review… | December 8, 2000
Variety
Top Critic

The special effects ... are nothing special, which is as close as this painfully derivative clunker is ever going to get to a ringing endorsement.

December 8, 2000
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic

The movie has the cheap software look of something found on the Space channel at 4 a.m.

Full Review… | December 8, 2000
Toronto Star
Top Critic

This movie may be the clumsiest, most inept cinematic exploitation of an item with kid appeal that we have yet seen.

Full Review… | December 8, 2000
Detroit News
Top Critic

Without Irons' hamming, there wouldn't be much to chew on in this exasperatingly plotted mess.

December 8, 2000
Orlando Sentinel
Top Critic

I doubt anyone will be cosplaying as Snails anytime, soon.

Full Review… | September 22, 2012
Cinema Crazed

Audience Reviews for Dungeons & Dragons

Hmmmm what to think of this little gem, I saw this at the cinema on release (yes) and at the time I kinda liked it for some reason, now upon a rewatch I can't see why I thought that.

I guess at the time the effects were a little more impressive than today's standards of course plus there wasn't the huge amount of fantasy films that there are these days so this was quite a special little event. Looking back now it really is a terrible film, the acting from everyone is just abysmal and full O' cheese. Irons goes beyond taking the piss really with his rather queer hissing, cackling and facial expressions whilst his second in command played by Bruce Payne is just the campiest guy I've seen for ages...oh and he has blue lipstick on too.

The film revolves around the cliched to max partnership of Wayans (doing his best Eddie Murphy impression) and Whalin trying to be heroic and cool. The pair are just awful together and completely lacking any sense of comedic timing, there is of course a lot of attempted humour throughout but it all falls flat on its face hard.

There really is nothing to recommend here other than to laugh at, the effects are the worse CGI you will have seen for a major release (even though its an old film yes I know), tonnes of obvious bluescreen and even the costumes, makeup jobs and props all look cheap and tacky.

I still can't understand why Irons would agree to this, ditto Richard O' Brien ('The Rocky Horror Picture Show' and quite the cult name here in the UK). I suppose its because his scenes were a homage to the classic 'Crystal Maze' he once hosted, almost a homage to him really, the guy is legend but this brings him down.

The film was indeed mauled upon release but at the time (twas much younger back then) I gave it some leeway, it kinda reminded me of the 'Mortal Kombat' film and how, even though it was weak, it still had a glimmer of quality. But now I simply cannot allow that leeway anymore, the film may be enjoyed by younger kids but basically its crap.

phubbs1
Phil Hubbs

Super Reviewer

I admit it. I actually really like this movie. There was a lot of bad in it, but a lot of good too. But before you see this movie, you need to be reminded that there is a LOT of bad.

Let's start with Jeremy Irons portrayal of Profion, an evil sorcerer trying to overthrow the kingdom's government. This might be some of the worst acting you've ever seen. In the last scene, you can barely understand what he's saying! And then there's the infamous "Hatatatatata!!" moment. The supporting villain is pretty bad too. His talk speed makes Eor from Winnie the Pooh look like Chris Tucker. Doesn't help that he has blue lips. There are also a few scenes that might have been seen as Indiana Jones ripoffs.

Now let's go on to the good. Besides Jeremy Irons and Bruce Payne, the acting was actually pretty good. Marlon Wayans and Justin Whalin did a pretty good job in particular. By the time Snail is killed, we (Well, I at least) really feel for his death. Zoe McLellan did a pretty good job too, and I'm NOT just saying that because she's hot.

The plot is pretty good too, even if it is a star wars ripoff. It shows a few historical traits to make it smarter than it's 10% rating might convey.

It also has a fair amount of heart. It's no Gone with the Wind, but compared to most fantasy films, it was pretty emotional. Lot's of scenes with great emotion.

I also think that it has a great message. Though it may be lost under Irons overacting, the film has a great message about how many different people can come together to achieve a common goal.

Bottom line, this was a good movie. Not spectacular, and I can understand the negative reviews, but good. I won't reccomend it, however, to anyone other than my friends.

Marc L.
Marc Lewis

Super Reviewer

½

Not technically a 90s movie, but it certainly falls into the same weird vibe that the decade created. Now i've never played the game, but i'm sure it's nowhere close to this very crazy mythical world that really takes more from Dune and the Lord of the Rings cartoon from what I could see. The over-acting is hilarious and some of the lines are just utterly amazing in terms of originality. Mainly because no one would do or say anything that was done or said in this movie.

ythelastman89
Conner Rainwater

Super Reviewer

Dungeons & Dragons Quotes

– Submitted by Marc L (3 years ago)
– Submitted by Marc L (3 years ago)
– Submitted by Emil (3 years ago)

Discussion Forum

Discuss Dungeons & Dragons on our Movie forum!