Easy A

Easy A

85%
  • PG-13, 1 hr. 32 min.
  • Comedy, Romance
  • Directed By:
    Will Gluck
    In Theaters:
    Sep 17, 2010 Wide
    On DVD:
    Dec 21, 2010
  • Sony Pictures/Screen Gems

Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Easy A Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Blake Griffin
We Got This Covered

Easy A transcends the mold of teenage cautionary tales while still providing some serious laughs and genuine moments. It has a wildly fresh script that keeps you laughing throughout and Emma Stone is great in the lead role.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 9/10

November 11, 2013
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com

What we get is a surprisingly funny film that has some charm to it, which is not something you hear applied to comedies all that often.

Full Review Source: Examiner.com | Original Score: 3/4

September 23, 2012
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies

Full Review Source: Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies | Original Score: B+

February 18, 2012
James Luxford
The National

This is the film where Stone really established herself not only as a star but as an engaging and charismatic actress

Full Review Source: The National | Original Score: 4/5

August 30, 2011
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight

A star-making performance by Emma Stone centers this humorous look at rumor mongering and the modern high school experience.

Full Review Source: Cinema Sight | Original Score: 4/4

August 15, 2011
Ben Rawson-Jones
Digital Spy

Stone has a glittering career as a leading lady ahead of her.

Full Review Source: Digital Spy | Original Score: 4/5

July 14, 2011
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies

It does get by on lively energy, a creativity in its writing, and a star turn by Stone.

Full Review Source: Window to the Movies | Original Score: 7/10

March 21, 2011
Mike Barnard
Future Movies UK

There's no reliance on gross out moments to sustain interest and it's genuinely funny with a lively script and a supporting cast of excellent adults.

Full Review Source: Future Movies UK | Original Score: 7/10

March 12, 2011
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema

Easy A passes due to Stone's star turn and a knowing screenplay that needed a little more bravery to elevate it to a top achievement.

Full Review Source: Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema | Original Score: B-

March 9, 2011
Jason Best
Movie Talk

Emma Stone gets her best role to date in Easy A, a smart high-school comedy that recalls Clueless and 10 Things I Hate About You in its witty contemporary spin to a literary classic.

Full Review Source: Movie Talk

March 7, 2011
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope

With whip-smart dialog and an interesting premise, along with homages to the legendary John Hughes (who would be proud of this film), this high school sex comedy is way above average for this lowly movie genre.

Full Review Source: Laramie Movie Scope | Original Score: B+

December 24, 2010
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion

Ungainly but fleet, generous and, in between quips, alert to youthful discovery

Full Review Source: CinePassion

December 15, 2010
Andrew Hedley
Flicks.co.nz

"At the screening I was at, a youngish chap slouching next to me asked his friend: 'remind me why we're watching this'. 'For the girls,' was the reply. For Emma Stone, to be precise.

Full Review Source: Flicks.co.nz | Original Score: 3/5

December 2, 2010
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph

A high-school comedy that comes on both sassy and cute.

Full Review Source: Daily Telegraph | Original Score: 4/5

October 29, 2010
Graham Young
Birmingham Post

The set-up is ridiculous, but the overall message about self-respect is reassuringly old-fashioned -- that it's always better for people to decide for themselves who they want to be.

Full Review Source: Birmingham Post | Original Score: 4/5

October 27, 2010
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express

Stone is so winning in a star-is-born performance that you happily sit back and enjoy.

Full Review Source: Daily Express | Original Score: 4/5

October 25, 2010
David Edwards
Daily Mirror [UK]

This is the best high-school comedy since Mean Girls.

Full Review Source: Daily Mirror [UK] | Original Score: 4/5

October 22, 2010
Catherine Jones
Liverpool Echo

From its droll opening voiceover Will Gluck's film has us in the palm of its hand, rooting for an unconventional heroine who finds the silver lining in a huge, dark cloud over a pivotal year at high school.

Full Review Source: Liverpool Echo

October 22, 2010
John Walsh
Independent

A sparkling moral tale about a small lie that ramifies out of control.

Full Review Source: Independent | Original Score: 4/5

October 22, 2010
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix

Emma Stone could make a four-hour reading of her high school yearbook entertaining ... She's this generation's next best hope for a lovable comic lead actress.

Full Review Source: Quickflix | Original Score: 3.5/5

October 21, 2010
Page 1 of 9
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile