Easy A

Easy A

85%
  • PG-13, 1 hr. 32 min.
  • Comedy, Romance
  • Directed By:
    Will Gluck
    In Theaters:
    Sep 17, 2010 Wide
    On DVD:
    Dec 21, 2010
  • Sony Pictures/Screen Gems

Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
88% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

100% Orphan Black: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Easy A Reviews

Page 1 of 444
John M

Super Reviewer

August 25, 2010
Emma Stone (Zombieland, Superbad) does a great job as Olive. Loved this movie reminded me of many of comedies of the 80's. The directors love of 80's high school flicks is abundantly clear and it shines through in a fun movie.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

October 25, 2013
Not satisfied with just simply ripping up pages from the classic The Scarlet letter, it also copies and pillages every good 1980's movie. Sacrilege that all walks of life can be offended by. All this and horrible characters, horrible acting, people who sound like car alarms and a narration that will make you want to pour red hot glue down your ears. Like I've said before, I have to watch a film to the very end before I review, even when said film is causing me vicious brain pain and stomach irritations. Opus dei got nothing on me.
UUd I

Super Reviewer

November 28, 2012
narrating movie + smart Joke. Teen comedies should be like this.
actually half of the movie similar with my life, but I don't know how to end it.
Eliza N

Super Reviewer

June 3, 2010
This movie made me realize why i do love 80s movies ....finally .
Olive:
'' Whatever happened to chivalry? Does it only exist in 80s movies? I want John Cusack holding a boombox outside my window. I wanna ride off on a lawnmower with Patrick Dempsey. I want Jake from Sixteen Candles waiting outside the church for me. I want Judd Nelson thrusting his fist into the air because he knows he got me. Just once I want my life to be like an 80s movie, preferably one with a really awesome musical number for no apparent reason. But no, no, John Hughes did not direct my life."
Raymond W

Super Reviewer

September 19, 2010
Easy A is a charming, hilarious, and emotionally engaging teen comedy. Emma Stone is fantastic here. She was captivating right from the opening shot. The story was pretty good, but suffered from lack of material, and familiar plot twists. The films predictability took away from the overall experience, but overall, Easy A easily gets an A!
Red L

Super Reviewer

September 8, 2012
Olive decides she needs a reputation to be noticed in school, so she pretends to sleep with different kids in school. The movie is funny and I appreciate the sarcasm. The references to John Hughes films was great too.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

July 7, 2010
Combine Saved! with Mean Girls, throw in a generous helping of John Hughes's filmography, add a dash of Juno, and top it all off with some post-modern meta filmmaking, you will get this film.

Emma Stone has been in a number of films before this one, but it is here that she has given her true star making performance. She is wonderful as Olive. Apparently, director Will Gluck cast her because he didn't want someone who could become Olive, but instead, really was Olive. Based on what knowledge I have of Stone, that was a perfect casting decision, because I can't see anyone else in the role.

This modern take on The Sacrlet Letter is fun, witty, and really hilarious. It's not the most believable film, because a lot of what happens plays out fairly unrealistically, but then again, it is a satirical farce, so this isn't a problem...unless you can't suspend disbelief, and, if that's the case, you probably only watch documentaries anyway.

Moving on, this is a great film. It's fresh and smart, and the supporting cast is likewise as great as Stone. There's really a whole lot to like, and basically nothing to hate. It's not perfect, because I could just tell they were burdened by an enforced PG-13, but everyone makes the best of it anyways.

Give this one a shot. It's bound to end up being a classic...at least I hope so.
Dean !

Super Reviewer

August 11, 2010
A good high school set comedy. It's a good laugh, very witty and sarcastic with a very good cast line up. It has a cool soundtrack an a slightly 80's teen film inspired feel to it.
Paulo G

Super Reviewer

April 21, 2012
Very funny and smart at the same time. Easy A benefits from the beautiful and talented rising star, Emma Stone, as well as from a neatly written script and plot. It's unique and clever execution gives off the the feel of 80's teen films that without it, there'd be no such genre.
paul o.
paul o.

Super Reviewer

February 8, 2012
Seems too cliche to me. The constant looking back to 80's nostalgia film is just too much. Emma Stone is a sometimes unlikeable character while supporting roles from Thomas Haden Church, Lisa Kudrow, and Stanley Tucci are constantly keeping the film from being mediocre.
Sophie B

Super Reviewer

January 16, 2012
A typical teen film that didn't leave any specific mark on me. Olive was not the type of protagonist (or antagonist) I can identify with. Obnoxious and annoying she kind of spoiled the story.
maxthesax
maxthesax

Super Reviewer

November 26, 2011
What a refreshing, well penned film. Taking the well trodden teen angst high school film and poking fun at it while also telling a very interesting story, Easy A is one of the freshest films I've seen in quite some time. The tone is irreverent and upbeat, even while taking shots at the very genre the film fits into, thanks to the sure handed direction of Will Gluck and a fabulous script.

The hidden message here is spouted towards the film's end by the always wonderful Patricia Clarkson (and what a joy to see she and Stanley Tucci doing comedy together - both so smooth and natural): "you'll get through this the same way I did, with irrepressible humor!"

Clarkson delivers some real zingers in this. For example, when their adopted 10 year old proudly reports that he got a B+ on a spelling test, she deadpans "so what, everyone has spell check nowadays".

There's also a fun scene when a schoolmate comes to visit the film's heroine, Olive (a star making performance by Emma Stone). The boy asks "Is Olive here?" and Clarkson replies "hmm, well, we have a whole jar of Olives in the fridge, want some?" Then she yells upstairs to Olive "Honey, you have a gentleman caller" which prompts Olive to put on her best Scarlett O'Hara/ Blanch DuBois and drawl "oh thank goodness, I was prepared to spend my dowry on drugs and alcohol."

The story, in case you've been living with Osama Bin Laden until recently, involves a small lie that keeps getting bigger and bigger. Olive tells a persistent friend that she slept with a college student. This puts the heretofore anonymous Olive into the limelight as a trollop and fallen woman, hence the referral (nicely margined into the film) to Hawthorne's Scarlet Letter.

While some of the high school characters remain cliché there remains a certain freshness and a bit of depth, especially in the case of the film's main protagonist, the prissy, god squadder (in yet another solid portrayal, this one by Amanda Bynes).

There are countless references to other films, from paying homage to John Hughes, to poking fun at the recent Demi Moore adaptation of The Scarlet Letter, to a couple of hilarious references to Huck Finn (Olive at one point says that having a young boy run away with a large black man doesn't even happen in the movies - which of course is exactly what happens in THIS movie... so Olive throws out "my apologies to Mister Twain"). The film then goes a step further, late in the film showing the gay boy with his black boyfriend, watching the old black and white Huck Finn film. Huck and the "large black man" are on the raft and Huck says, "You must be tired, let me steer", to which the man replies "Thankee no, Mr. Huck, I's likes to steer"... which I'm sure was innocent enough at the time, but in this context, with two gays watching is hilariously suggestive.

In this era of gross out humor, this script is a marvel, being funny with intelligence and panache, its take on modern teens all the more real because the film doesn't take itself seriously in its delivery.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2011
A really funny comedy. Really shows you what teenage life is like today. Emma Stone is hilarious and it helps that there are so many gorgeous men. A definite 10/10! A must see!
Sanjay R

Super Reviewer

May 31, 2011
This movie has its moments, but it has very few laughs. Despite some nice parts, the film is extremely coy, self aware and annoying. The writers and actors try so hard to make the characters likable that they become extremely unlikable.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

October 6, 2011
Absolutely love this movie. Smart and way funny with a little bit of sweetness. The cast was all-star and just an all around amazing movie. : )
jamers2011
jamers2011

Super Reviewer

September 26, 2010
Surprisingly a great comedy!

Great cast...Emma Stone, Amanda Bynes, Thomas Haden Church, Patricia Clarkson, Lisa Kudrow, Stanley Tucci, they're all hilarious in this film. I love the references to the old 80's teen movies, but I also love that it was able to keep it's originality, too.

Good movie, I recommend it!
Alexander D

Super Reviewer

June 30, 2011
EASY A doesn't quite earn an 'A' (as in the best letter grade, not quite the meaning of the title), but it's still a very hilarious movie--I know it's redundant to say "very hilarious," but live with it. That's what it is. Emma Stone has a great major role as the sassy protagonist of the story, a take on THE SCARLET LETTER; Amanda Bynes also has a pretty good role as a snooty, Christian gossip girl; and Stanley Tucci has a fantastic minor role as the protagonist's father--well, he's always good, isn't he?
Alexis N

Super Reviewer

August 8, 2010
I'm going to go with it's just sorta okay. I don't think it needed to be nominated for any Golden Globes, but whatever. It's got a fun, young cast, including a Gossip boy.. oh Penn, you stud. Anyway, it's not realistic, she somehow has a ton of money to buy and wear slutty clothes at school and no one stops her. I remember not even being allowed to wear "porn star" shirts or thin strapped tank tops. Plus there's a lame ass musical number, I guess that's how they got the Globe nod.
Michael G

Super Reviewer

June 13, 2011
I'm not sure what I wanted or expected from Easy A but I got more. It paints a likable but unrealistic world with cool and understanding parents, a generally fun school life and a for the most part care-free adolescence where oddly, a fox like Emma Stone is somehow invisible. It doesn't break any new ground as it borrows from every 80s movie it references all the way up to Saved, but Stone further proves her comic chops as she's got a hell of a lot to work from with a hilarious script chock full of pithy dialogue.
Page 1 of 444
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile