• PG-13, 2 hr. 13 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Ryan Murphy
    In Theaters:
    Aug 13, 2010 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 23, 2010
  • Sony Pictures

Opening

97% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
100% Get On Up Aug 01
91% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
47% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

58% Lucy $43.9M
61% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
42% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

73% Chasing Life: Season 1
—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Perception: Season 3
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
57% Tyrant: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
88% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Eat Pray Love Reviews

Page 2 of 289
July 27, 2014
Great story about spiritual journey, a concept so close to my heart, yet poorly executed. If the duration was shorter, watching Eat Pray Love could be one truly enjoyable self- finding moment. But long as it is, it got boring and tedious in the middle of the story.
July 24, 2011
I found the novel very self- indulgent so was not in a hurry to see the film. It is better, only because of the visual imagery integral to the different medium. The section in Italy is particularly impressive and would make any foodie want to at least holiday there. Gorgeous scenery and delicious looking, indulgent food. As for the storyline - self-indulgent like the book, full of fortune-cookie spirituality. An overly rich, self-absorbed, self-indulgent American woman goes off to the "mystical east" to "find herself", leaving a trail of destruction in her wake, good life and a good husband.
July 22, 2010
The message was great. Find your self, change what you dont like, deal with stuff.
However the movie was cheesy and full of sophisticated crap.
Should have been funnier to convince me.
Also,Liz was a hypocrite with all that love stuff.
And my questions:
Is it that easy to meet people in other countries?
Are the countries like that or the movie is full of stereotypes?
How did James Franco became a douche after this nice role?
June 10, 2014
A selfish woman on a rich person's journey of indulgence. I felt nothing for her.
May 12, 2014
I'll just steal this internet comment to describe my thoughts on this film. "Wait, how could you not be interested in watching a narcissistic, bourgeois story about an over-privileged woman's pseudo-spiritual quest to affirm her stereotypical preconceptions of eastern philosophy?"
robinali
May 10, 2014
it was very philosophic yet exciting somehow. She was thinking too much and yet you couldn't blame her. This movie was kind of a lesson.
April 3, 2014
After seeing Bali with my own eyes couldn't resist seeing it again through a movie camera lens with a middle-class-well-off-American filter on it...
March 14, 2014
Personally, I liked this film a lot. It is ridiculously gooey and basic at times, but for some reason I was enchanted by the settings along with Julia Roberts. It reminds me of a less interesting, unoriginal version of Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations, but still manages to keep me attached to it. It's stupid, but its the kind of stupid that works for the characters.
March 10, 2014
The character Liz infuriated me as I watched her destroy what seemed to be a good marriage because she lost here way and needed some self clarity. The story reeks of narcissism and ends like a classic Cinderella fair tail riding off with her hearts desire shining white knight. It has no real substance towards a real spiritual journey. I am a Sap for a solid story and meaning but wanted my time back after watching this travesty. It fits with today's moral decay.
March 2, 2014
Go fuck yourselves, this movie is epic! Fucktards, think you're so hipster not to like good movies just because they have a hype on it. Eat a dick!
February 24, 2014
every good things they did for the first half
was completely ruined by the second half
It's like "oh this is great! then good! andddddddd it's gone"
February 23, 2014
Julia Roberts rocks! she is so good.
Monica Susie
February 14, 2014
It's a nice film, but a little boring if I'm being honest. I'm not a big fan of Julia Roberts either, but her character in the film is likeable. I've heard stories that Julia Roberts is a b*tch in real life, when a person isn't very nice in real life it always puts me off their work. However JR has never been an amazing actress and her face kind of annoys me. Anyways enough bitchin'. Eat Pray Love is about a woman, Liz Gilbert who is stuck in an unhappy marriage and instead of fall into a humdrum existence of the whole 2.2 kids and the picket fence thing, she decides to go on an adventure and travel; she goes to Italy, India and Bali, meets lots of amazing people and eats good food (even Julia Roberts isn't super slim in the film) and falls in love. Liz learns that there's more to life than being materialistic and being in a relationship to validate your self worth (prior to travelling Liz enters another unsuccessful relationship after her divorce).

I love the concept of the film; I love the idea of escaping the norms and expectations and going for your dreams and trying new things. Liz is judged for her decision to quit her marriage and travel; her friends think that she is behaving like a college student. Liz realises that marriage and babies aren't the path to happiness and I couldn't agree more. Nowadays people still have a plan; get married, get a mortgage, have babies and they think it equals happiness. However by following the norms you only loose yourself. I'm a woman who whilst open to getting married, I don't want kids and I don't want to feel like I have to follow the herd and conform. I don't want to be one of those women who are like my friends are getting married, I should get married too; my friends are having babies, I should have one too. I want to live my life as I choose to; travelling, meeting new people, making new experience, being around people who inspire me, bettering myself as a person. So I think on that level the film relates to me because it's very much about challenging the norms and finding your own path to happiness so I really admire this film for doing that.

The acting was fair; Eat Pray Love also stars Javier Bardem, Billy Crudup and James Franco. All played their respective roles decently. I think I liked Richard Jenkins the best as I found his performance the most warm and emotive and the most likeable. He plays Richard, a Texan man that Liz befriends in an Indian ashram. Althought I think this film is refreshing and touching, I found it a bit too slow paced and I did find myself getting a bit bored. Although it's a very pleasant film, it's more something that my mum would like. I can't really related fully with the film as I'm only 22 and haven't been married or had that many life experiences. I still think this is a very nice film with a lot of deep messages about love, life, finding yourself and peace. It goes to show that its not only teenagers and people in their twenties who struggle to find themselves, people in their 30's and 40's and onwards can still struggle with it.

So my verdict is that it's a nice film with sincere performances and also visually stunning; the scenery is beautiful but for me I found it hard to completely identify with and it was a little boring to sit through. I don't think this film deserves the harsh ratings it got on RT. It's a really decent watch; it may not be for everyone, but it's still a nice film which is touching. It makes me want to go out there and travel.

Grade: C/C+
February 13, 2014
Well-acted but horribly written.
starlett2005
February 5, 2014
Eat Pray Love is a decent film. It is about a married woman who realizes how unhappy her marriage really is, and that her life needs to go in a different direction. Julia Roberts and James Franco give good performances. The screenplay is a little slow in places. Ryan Murphy did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the drama and romance.
January 30, 2014
Eat Pray Love (2010)

Directed by: Ryan Murphy
PG-13, 2 hr. 13 min.
Release Date: August 13, 2010

i actually could get into this having a spiritual side almost completely undernourished. problem is the more your in touch with it the more maintenance it takes to even, how does she put it in the film searching for fulfilling her emptiness (sort of sums it up) she dos'nt even know what that is tho so is a learning yearning curve process for her. The ever the 'girlishly flamboyant' - ravishing Julia plays this 'chick flick love rejects' curvy thirty something whom finding 'the distraction' from unimpressive relationships with males is 'love itself' and the inward/outward/wheresoever of it.

Now if that dos'nt turn you off straight away good luck it is arduously slow, abt as slow as a female would embellish it's beauty and mysteriousness of it's power. Being an already, slightly worldly, metropolitan executive type of character, a lot of viewers could commiserate with her the helpless desire for it's warmth (basically) that, and if found in its rawest form can accommodate your very own individualistic compatibility even in the most pomp-ass pretentious people that can't possibly be satisfied if they think they've been there and done that in a relationship that failed.

A little under rated too for the subject matter covered a little, no a lot shallow so perhaps talk is cheapest upon this subject

**+SPOILER Alert+**
for a chick flick i liked it and really did need that spanish intuition at the end
December 13, 2013
I'm not really into chick flicks , but from what I can remember of it, it was an easy watch
January 25, 2014
This movie was a little slow and a little too long. But Julia Roberts gives a good performance.
Buggy43
April 7, 2013
A guilty pleasure for sure. I quite like this movie and everytime its on TV I catch myself watching it It's not as good as the book and Julie Roberts does get kind of annoying but I love the travel, the locations and the sweet romance with Javier Bardem. 03.13 (3)
December 29, 2013
It is sentimentality porn that seems to suggest cosmopolitan women are whiny, hedonistic, fearful of commitments and always ready to go misty-eyed listening to strange-sounding life philosophies from strangers.
Page 2 of 289
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile