Ecstasy Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ October 14, 2013
I was quite disappointed to be honest. I loved 'Trainspotting' but didn't find this film to be as interesting or as good.
October 8, 2013
This movie is 14 years out of date, it looks like Trainspotting, it feels like Trainspotting ... the film goes by the same forula as Trainspotting. It is painfully obvious and total PISH by the way.

The plot is piss, the characters are lame. " set against the backdrop of Scotland's drug-fueled dance scene " ??? LOLOLOL, shut up - what drug-fueled dance scene ! ? yeah maybe 14 years ago, but hello it is 2013, this movie came out in 2011 ....As I said this movie is 14 years too late!

lame lame lame, Kristin Kreuk gets major lame points, her character is shallow.. kinda like a grave
October 2, 2013
Lame attempt to turn later and equally lame works of Irvine Welsh into stylized and interesting cinema. TRAINSPOTTING was brilliant. But this 21st Century movie is just bad.
September 17, 2013
If you are looking for ecstasy's equivalent for what Trainspotting was for Heroin, then this is not the film. Human Traffic did it and thirteen years earlier.
½ July 28, 2013
Absolute mince that tried so hard to emanate Trainspotting and failed miserably. Dreadful acting in what was essentially meant to be a Scottish film featuring non-Scottish thespians. Is there an actor shortage in Scotland? Have Equity banned Scots from working in their nation? The story was sparse in comparison to the written version, with the bulk of it missing. Hugely disappointing.
½ July 25, 2013
Fairly terrible but, nonetheless, relatable. Kristin Kreuk is super cute.
½ June 29, 2013
I watched this film because it was based on a book written by Irvine Welsh. It wasn't a great film by any means but its worth a watch. The big problem is that at times, it tries to be Trainspotting and it seems Rob Heydon was trying to clone the formula to fit his format, but it didn't work very well. It lacked something, humor mostly, it was dry and serious at times, but it had a great soundtrack.
August 31, 2012
Between a 3/10 and 4/10, there's referencing and then there's photocopying, and Ecstasy screams "toner low".
June 16, 2013
ok I watched this cause it was the same author who wrote "trainspotting" and we all know that was a great film on the dope game, now this one was a joke, it was staged in the same area of trainspotting, some of the same lines that were used in the old movie Like Choose Life part, but instead of heroin it was ecstacy.. it was poorly put together.. sad cause i heard the book got good reviews on the story... the director poorly put some european kids in a club world where seems like XTC pills grow on trees! i mean i watched it, wouldnt say it was the worst..just disappointed cause i was expecting Trainspotting! Bleghhh
March 19, 2013
Lloyd Buist (Adam Sinclair), a drug addict ows a serious amount of money to the shady Solo (Carlo Rota). While Lloyd and his friends are out of control with drugs and partying, he must fulfill his "karmic" debt with Solo and is forced to smuggle drugs from Amsterdam to Edinburgh. Frustrated with her boring middle class and loveless marriage, Heather Thompson (Kristin Kreuk) seeks a change in her life. And when she meets Lloyd at a club, she finds just that change. Heather falls hard for Lloyd despite the fact that most of their time spent together is under the influence of illicit substances. As they experiment with this new lifestyle, they are faced with the question of whether they love their drugs, each other, or are just drugged into loving each other. After a while, Heather begins to doubt the veracity of Lloyd's feelings for her, wondering if it might not be the effect of the drugs after all. When Lloyd almost dies after a drug smuggling operation goes terribly wrong and faces the possibility of losing Heather, he decides to turn his life around, and he finds that natural highs might be the best of all. He wants to change, but first he must deal with Solo...

When I saw the trailer to this I felt a strong negative feeling. Everything connected to Irvine Welsh and his books in a cinematic way will always be compared to Danny Boyle´s excellent movieversion of "Trainspotting". "Ecstasy" is not even close. Eddie Harrison of The List stated that "... this is most definitely not Irvine Welsh's Ecstasy, but an agonisingly watered-down imitation, a long, languid come-down after the frenetic buzz of Trainspotting." Which is pretty much what it is. The production is uneven and you never feel really emotionally moved by anything that happens on the screen. The ugliness of drugs isn´t communicated in a satisfying way in my opinion. And the balance between the drugs/effects and the love story between Lloyd and Heather doesn´t work, thus the storyline becomes scattered. The idea of hiring Mark Blamire, the award winning designer who was also involved with the original marketing campaign of Trainspotting, to do the graphic design and marketing for Irvine Welsh's Ecstasy didn´t work out either, due to the fact that the result feels like a diluted version of the striking graphic material for "Trainspotting". I am more excited about the fact that Danny Boyle is more of less working on the follow up to "Trainspotting" with the whole original ensemble.
February 16, 2013
Dragged on just abit, movies are never really as good as the novels they portray.
January 16, 2013
I am a huge fan of Irvine Welsh work but unfortunately found this did not live up to either the book or the promise of Trainspotting
January 1, 2013
the worst film ever seen bar none...
October 14, 2012
Really poor film, untrue to the novel, the two leads are poorly cast, cinematography looks like an episode of Hollyoaks, opportunity seriously wasted here.
September 30, 2012
Well...I went to the premier, I felt older and uglier than everyone else there, I had huge expectations due to the Irvine Welsh endorsement of the project, and the knowledge Trainspotting was and is the king of UK indie films , so I was set up for a miserable cold rainy Tuesday evening in South East London and remembering that the last time I walked through the doors of the Ministry of Sound, (use your imagination â¦20 years ago I might add) , added to my fear of another deflated experience at the birth place off Vodka Jellies and Mecca of modern dance music . I took my seat and tucked into the free popcorn. The lights dimmed the film rolled and the music started, my ears pricked and after the 4 beats in a bar huge bass smashed through my eardrums and made my heart beat dance in time with it - I was back in the club on the podium semi naked smiling from ear to ear and chewing my jaw off !!
September 15, 2012
Another insight into the Edinburgh drug culture, this time surrounding Ecstasy. Whilst not a patch on the superior Trainspotting, this is quite interesting none-the-less. Only criticism is that it's set 20 years too late, long after rave culture has been and gone.
September 5, 2012
Loved it. Great Story well told. Amazing soundtrack. Must see
August 26, 2012
Very good drama with great music and beatiful girls ;)
August 25, 2012
sepertinya pengen mengulang kesuksesan Trainspotting, tapi gagal :D
½ August 24, 2012
hey, don't blame the novel for this trash
Page 2 of 3