El Cid

El Cid

92%

Opening

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
85% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
73% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
95% Gotham: Season 1
34% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

El Cid Reviews

Page 3 of 13
February 4, 2012
Great film, set in the middle period of the Reconquista by the Spanish Christian Kingdoms of Al-Andatlus from the Moors, at the end of the 11th Century AD (ie Battle of Hastings period). Charlton Heston does a great job on portraying Don Rodriguo Diaz de Vivar aka El Cid as a military leader with a strong conscience, while Sophie Loren, at the peak of her beauty, adds considerable decoration. The supporting cast is pretty solid too. Filmed mainly in Spain, which adds to the authenticity of the look, the movie is from that period when the multitudinous extras in an epic were actually filmed, rather than being mainly added in the computer after. Having said that, the contribution of computers to the restoration of the "print" now available in the current DVD version DOES enhance both the spectacle and the enjoyment.
December 24, 2011
Memorable film about a little known historical feature, excellent production values
December 10, 2011
recommended by hawkledge.
Matheus C

Super Reviewer

August 13, 2011
Produção baseada na lendária história do herói espanhol, El Cid faz parte do mesmo tecido dos grandes épicos hollywoodianos populares nas décadas de 50 e 60: filme de costumes, cenas de batalhas épicas, tela larga (neste caso em Technirama), trilha retumbante de Miklós Rósza e, é claro, Charlton Heston no papel principal. Ao mesmo tempo, o fato de ter sido filmado em locações reais na Europa e não em estúdios cria uma ruptura com grande parte do que havia sido produzido até então. El Cid dá continuidade à aproximação mais contemporânea às películas épicas iniciada com Ben-Hur de William Wyler e, especialmente, Spartacus de Stanley Kubrick. O uso de castelos verdadeiros e os detalhes minuciosos dados aos figurinos e cenários conferem um ar de autenticidade que se distanciam do colorido lona de circo e sensibilidade kitsch das obras de Cecil B. DeMille.

A parte intimista do filme também não deixa a desejar, com Charlton Heston em uma de suas interpretações "larger than life" de maior sucesso - o que é algo positivo, já que sua grande presença significa que o protagonista nunca se perde em meio ao escopo gigante da produção. Sophia Loren fica com o papel mais ingrato, sendo vitima da típica caracterização feminina da época. O romance do casal Rodrigo (o El Cid) e Gimenez (Loren) ajuda a dar maior peso dramático à narrativa (e era notável que os atores se odiavam durante as filmagens), mas o filme ganha vida mesmo durante as cenas de batalha. Orquestradas e enquadradas com maestria por Anthony Mann, as impressionantes tracking shots em meio a milhares de figurantes cavalgando à beira-mar nos levam a refletir o motivo de El Cid não ser tão lembrado quanto deveria.
February 26, 2011
Great Movie but the El Sid was a Black Man according to middle age, Medieval history. He was a black knight!!
AJ V

Super Reviewer

September 5, 2010
Yes this movie is insanely long, but it's also insanely fantastic too! I loved Loren and Heston together in this movie. The story is epic, and I'm surprised they haven't made more movies of it. I love this movie, and I highly recommend it.
rayman0071
rayman0071

Super Reviewer

July 18, 2009
Nominated for 7 Oscars including Best Picture, this Samuel Bronston production was one of the most spectacular mega-produced epics ever made that was astounding in budget,astounding in cast,and magnificient in scope and sheer brilliance(filmed on location in the regions of Spain and North Africa). Anthony Mann directs this astounding classic tale of the 11th Century hero(Charlton Heston) who fought to unite Spain against the Moors.
Known as history's "compassionate warrior" the film follows El Cid's remarkable journey from peace-broker accused of treason to the King's fighting champion,and later from exiled hero to legendary martyr. Unequaled in scope,grandeur and adventure this spectacular epic saga brings Sophia Loren, Raf Vallone, John Fraser, Genevieve Page, Gary Raymond and Herbert Lom with a compelling driven masterpiece of a film score from legendary composer Miklos Rozsa. See it in the full Super Panavision 70 format!
vic40186
August 16, 2010
El Cid really got the spirit of the great spanish hero Rodrigo Diaz de Vivar. The production is fantastic: the sets, the costumes, the performances, the score, the story, all the pieces match perfectly in the production. An amazing spectacle that can rarely be made these days.
November 24, 2007
BEAUTIFUL, AMAZING!!!
Jeremy S

Super Reviewer

June 21, 2008
Very Epical (if that is an adjective) you can't get more epic than the crusades. Way too slow and long though.
bobolinq
March 17, 2010
one of the first epic movies i saw. the score was magnificient. a truly noble film that is lost among the heaps of lessor works. like most films, its historical efficacy may be somewhat flawed, but so are many history books.
Emmanuel E.
January 28, 2010
I was surprised when I watched this film just recently. My Uncle said that it's a worthy film and when I've seen the whole movie, it's a really wonderful film. The gorgeous Sophia Loren is stunning and also Charlton Heston. El Cid is a remarkable film and it surpass other Hollywood movies in terms of technical and story. The story will inspire leaders and people of all generation. A must see!
Alfonso A.
January 24, 2010
A great film led to the top by Heston's performance even though sometimes cheesy and overly dramatic.
Joel M.
November 29, 2009
Certainly grand in scope, but the ascent/integrity of "El Cid" is a bit hard to take seriously.
mayelacorral1
November 23, 2009
i want to watch this movie, what i m doing for that???
constanzaboutter
constanzaboutter

Super Reviewer

November 14, 2009
Glorious, great epic, classic in terms of script and spectacle, and extraordinary representation of the famous epic poem, stately and thrilling, with everything crisp and simple on the widescreen. Sobriety and restraint are perhaps the keynotes of the film's success, with the result that a potentially risible finale in which Cid's corpse is borne into the realm of legend, strapped to his horse as it leads his men to battle, becomes genuinely stirring. Great acting from Charlton Heston, aptly heroic in the titular 11th-century patriot lead, and Sophia Loren. Miklos Rosza's superb score perfectly complements the images.
G Man
October 6, 2009
What a great film with two of Hollywood's greats. Sophia Lauren is hot. This is one of maybe ten movies that brought tears to my eyes.
jackgiantkillr
July 26, 2009
Chuck Heston wailing on Moors and evil Christians alike. I get chills when they send out his corpse on the warhorse to scare the moors. Plus Sophia Loren.
JohnHawkins64
July 15, 2009
Some movies have to come around in order for people to appreciate that particular movies importance and significance in its depiction of facts related ot historical events or periods. But, more importantly how great movies are made to hold ones attention, stimulate conversation and interaction between people long after its creidts role up the screen.
jgcjoshuab
June 5, 2009
This is a very great movie I've ever watched in my life.
Page 3 of 13
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile