Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
44% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
50% Z Nation: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
—— Haven: Season 5
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Enter the Dragon Reviews

Page 1 of 246
Apeneck F

Super Reviewer

July 22, 2007
In the film's opening flashback scenes, when the star, Bruce Lee, is told of his sister's murder, even a total lamebrain (like say, f'instance, me) understands that a total macho-on-steroids asskicking lollapalooza is on its way (and the soul of kung fu stands represented as essentially a poor man's revenge against injustice - thus the ghetto appeal). With an truly exotic locale, China, and a cast of kung fu asskickers one after another its a wonder this work hasn't been more imitated --- if anyone could replicate Lee's asskicking charisma. Did I say "asskicking" 3 times? No. More.
Joshua W

Super Reviewer

August 8, 2012
Bruce Lee vs. Chuck Norris. Even today the world's not ready for the epic-ness of this film.
Letitia L

Super Reviewer

November 4, 2011
No plot, character development, dialogue or humour to speak of... basically kung fu porn. 3 stars just for Bruce Lee's badassery and amazing weapon of a body, which carried the entire film.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

February 7, 2012
So I've finally seen Enter the Dragon and it was well worth the wait. I know very little about Kung-fu or martial arts in general but I have nothing against the genres, I just haven't seen many of the films. Is this the greatest martial arts film of all time? I think you'd probably see more martial arts in most other films of the genres, I was actually surprised by the lack of fighting but what I was also surprised by, pleasantly that is, was how close to the 70's exploitation films it was. I love the 70's and this film has the 70's written all over it, I think that is why I instantly love it
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

October 23, 2011
I've never really watched martial arts film, not because I hate the genre, but I never really knew where to start. Enter the Dragon is one of the few Martial Arts films that I've seen, and is by far one of the best that I've seen. Starring the legendary Bruce Lee, this film is an action classic as well as a classic of cinema. Not only does this film have a wonderful plot, but it has stunning fight scenes, some of the best ever put on film. Enter the Dragon is a great action film. Not only does the film boast some great fight scenes, but it has some wonderful acting and like I said, the plot is terrific. The plot is well constructed, engaging and thrilling. Enter the Dragon has got an impressive cast, and they each deliver great performances. Bruce Lee is just incredible. Enter the Dragon is one of the quintessential martial arts film. The film blends astounding fight scenes with a good story and the performances of the actors re wonderful. Enter the Dragon is a classic, and it remains one of the best martial arts films to ever come out in the genre. I highly recommend Enter the Dragon to anyone looking for a well constructed, plotted martial arts film that blends effective fight sequences with strong acting and a great plot. Enter the Dragon is a great action martial arts film that remains the standard of which martial arts films are judged upon. A great film that's very entertaining.
KJ P

Super Reviewer

October 1, 2010
The combination of martial arts and storytelling is great; however, it is a story that has been seen and told many times before, but that doesn't mean it isn't done perfectly here. As Lee travels across the world in order to kill the man responsible for the death of his sister, more than a few complications are on the rise. It seems as though the complications are just there so that an action piece can be staged, but I was completely fine with that. The martial arts sequences are phenomenal and Bruce Lee shows not only his talents as an insane martial artist, but stands out as one of the better actors in this film. The story drags a bit in the middle, but by the time you embrace yourself in what is going on, the scenery alone can pull you in to whatever is going to happen next in the plot. Every character is enjoyable and my heart was pumping through ever fight sequence. Enter The Dragon is awesome!
FilmFanatik
FilmFanatik

Super Reviewer

December 17, 2009
There is so much to love about Enter the Dragon. First of all, it's pretty much the definitive martial arts movie of all time. Second, Bruce Lee kicks a lot of ass in this movie. Third, John Saxon... enough said. Yep, there's terrible dialogue and dubbing, not to mention the plot makes no sense whatsoever, but none of that matters at all. This is by no means a compelling piece of cinema. People watch this for the sheer fun of it, and I enjoy the hell out of it whenever I stick it on!
AJ V

Super Reviewer

September 5, 2010
The classic martial arts film! I love it! Lee is awesome, the action in this movie is top notch, and the story is balanced perfectly with it. I highly recommend this movie.
Lewis C

Super Reviewer

March 11, 2008
"Destroy the image, and you will break the enemy."

It's a real shame that I'm just now getting acquainted with Bruce Lee's work because I really love this stuff. Enter the Dragon is a joy to watch for any fan of martial arts flicks.

The story is about Lee's quest to bring justice to a renegade Shaolin monk (with a fake, removable hand) at a tournament he hosts to recruit people for his criminal organization, but the thin plot is really there only to give Lee lots of guys to fight. The man beats the crap out of people to the point where you wonder why the villains even bother to try to attack him. There are lots of great, old-school fights to check out, and the choreography is very impressive.

If you have any kind of a fondness for martial arts in film, then Enter the Dragon should be at the top of your list of movies to see. It's absolute proof of what a talent and natural star he was, and a nice introduction to Lee's personal philosophy for life and the martial arts.
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

August 27, 2008
"Remember: the enemy has only images and illusions behind which he hides his true motives. Destroy the image and you will break the enemy."

A martial artist agrees to spy on a reclusive crime lord using his invitation to a tournament there as cover.

REVIEW
Who knows what could have been had Bruce Lee lived. Would he ever have made another film as good as this one? Or, would he have ended up making a string of duds and eventually become a straight to video actor like his counterpart Chuck Norris?

Enter the Dragon still stands today as the greatest martial arts film ever, the movie others are judged by. Forget that Jim Kelley can't act his way out of a paper bag or that bad haired John Saxon obviously isn't a black belt. This film has great action, Bruce Lee at his finest, attention grabbing martial arts scenes and some of the best action movie music ever laid to film.

There have been tons of copy cats but none equal the original. Buy the DVD (although the added previously cut scene is pretty boring) and enjoy this movie over and over. And if you really want to have some fun, rent Kentucky Fried Movie and watch it right after. The Enter the Dragon spoof "Fist Full of Yen" is a scene for scene hilarious parody.
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 23, 2010
B+
JonathanHutchings
JonathanHutchings

Super Reviewer

April 5, 2010
Martial arts phenomenon Bruce Lee never made a perfect movie, but Enter The Dragon, his first (and last) English-speaking star vehicle comes closest to capturing his electricity and charisma. A US-Hong Kong co-production intended to introduce Lee to an international audience, Enter the Dragon has Lee sharing screen time with two co-stars, veteran John Saxon and American karate champion Jim Kelly, but Lee dominates the movie as assuredly as he does the multitudes of bad guys thrown his way. The formulaic story, a crude James Bond riff with a hint of blaxploitation outrageousness, is nauseating in the early going, but it thankfully takes a back seat as the dynamite fighting sequences begin to dominate near the halfway point. Though it lacks the insane kineticism of the subsequent Hong Kong martial arts renaissance of the 1980s and 1990s, the movie is nicely photographed, and Robert Clouse's direction keeps the attention focused on Lees remarkable presence. The hall-of-mirrors finale, which is an update on Orson Welles masterful sequence from The Lady From Shanghai, is quite impressive. The dialogue is horrendous, as is the acting, but even through the stiff performances, Lee shows a bit of range in some of the quieter moments; but sadly, his tragic death at age 33, about a month before Enter the Dragons US premiere, would put an end to his film career.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

March 2, 2010
When you look at Kung-Fu movies, Enter the Dragon really sums up the feel and ambitions of the entire genre. Not only does it have Bruce Lee doing what he does best, but the plot is unbeatable i terms of what you want to see in an action movie. John Saxon also has to be mentioned because he holds his own against a total legend. The fight scenes are amazing, but that's not the only thing it has going for it. I think it's definitely the most accessible Kung-Fu movie because it has a very nice revenge story attached to it that anyone can grasp a hold of.
DragonEyeMorrison
DragonEyeMorrison

Super Reviewer

April 24, 2007
Take Bruce Lee away and you would pretty much have no film. Sure, the supporting cast is not bad at all, from Jim Kelly to Shin Kien as the villain, but Bruce is the main support of the whole thing.
garyX
garyX

Super Reviewer

March 10, 2007
A Shao-Lin monk is recruited to infiltrate a tournament held by a corrupt martial artist to recruit new members to his organisation. Enter The Dragon was Bruce Lee's final completed film, and this reason alone was enough to make it pass into legend, and it is a monument to Lee's incredible skill and potential. If you look at the film objectively however, it's more difficult to see as a great film in its own right. Take away Lalo Schifrin's excellent score and Bruce and it's 70s exploitation pure and simple; the characters (Jim Kelly's be-afroed black power stereotype sticking it to the man and John Saxon's adrenaline junkie playboy) are cartoon characters,and the crude photography and gratuitous female nudity are all standard elements of the trashy crowd pleasing flicks of the era. The plot also does not stand up to scrutiny; did Han (with his metal hand, cat stroking and secret base making him look like a Frankenstein's monster made up of old Bond baddies) really think that holier than holy Lee whose sister's death was caused by the lascivious advances of his evil henchmen would want to throw in with him and his drug running, white slave trading buddies...? Please. The upshot of all of this is that every second of screentime devoted to anybody but Bruce is screentime wasted, and you spend ALL of it waiting for him to reappear and strut his stuff. But when he does, he is simply incredible. Worth it for Lee and Schifrin, but anyone expecting a cinematic classic will be disappointed.
Cassandra M

Super Reviewer

January 18, 2008
Enter the Dragon is simply the Best martial arts film ever released. Simply the Best Bruce Lee movie in his short career. Way of the Dragon was Bruce's Best Hong Kong Movie. For those who've seen this movie recently, it may not appeal to you, because of Jet Li's computerised Kung Fu. Bruce Lee is the greatest Fighter in History, what you see in the movies, is twice the speed he fights in real life. There is no one like him yet, Jackie Chan is great with stunts, but in no level. Jet Li is magnificent and fast, but not in his level. I'm not even gonna mention Van Damme and Seagel. Tony Jaa is fast and powerful, but there will be no one like Lee. His acting wasn't Superb, but that doesn't stop the movie from being a Non stop entertainer. The fight Scenes are terrific, remember this is a 70s movie. The rest of the cast were decent, in particularly John Saxon, who provides some of the humour. Watch out for Bolo Yeung in a younger role. This is an example of an Martial Arts masterpiece.
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

January 18, 2007
while as a film this movie is extremely flawed, as a martial arts film it is one of the best examples of its genre ever made. the story suffered more than i expected, but lee was polarizing in every scene and overall the film is a joy to watch.
Jani H

Super Reviewer

June 11, 2008
Best martial arts movie ever! If Bruce Lee wouldn't had died, do you think he would've topped this one? Probably not, cause it's bloody perfect!
Drew S

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2007
This movie is so unbelievably dumb. Why didn't the villain just stab Bruce Lee with his claw hand instead of sneaking up on him and scratching him a bit? Who directed this shit?

The kung-fu is flashy and fun to watch but a lot of it looks totally impractical. Trying to suspend disbelief for the sake of this movie is apparently far easier for others than me, because I found myself rolling my eyes nonstop at all the dumb stuff that happens. For this to become a classic really says something about the 1970s, though I'm not sure what. That people back then would swallow anything given to them? Whatever.
Lady D

Super Reviewer

August 3, 2006
In the era of the dubbed Martial Arts films comes the last film completed by Bruce Lee (Ch?) before his untimely death.

Certainly entertaining, lacks a little storyline, but it?s fight scenes galore throughout.

The muscular, wiry and agile hereo is a joy to watch and this film is a great watch if you want to look at the history of Martial Arts.

I really want to give this film a higher rating, but if you take Bruce Lee out of the equation, you?re not left with much of a film.

3 STARS

SPECIAL FEATURES
DOCUMENTARY: CURSE OF THE DRAGON

A phenominal revealing documentary of Bruce Lee in life and death and those who surrounded him. This documentary takes you on a journey of a man who's known in every walk of life, a legend 'who will never grow old'.

This will interest any fan out there and possibly those who are not too. A slight man with a huge physical power and a sharp philosophical mind, a man ahead of his years who taught equality to those he knew.

A must see for any Bruce Lee/Martial Arts fan.

5 STARS

(Final rating averaged)
Page 1 of 246
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile