Eulogy

Eulogy

32%
  • R, 1 hr. 25 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Michael Clancy
    In Theaters:
    Oct 15, 2004 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 8, 2005
  • Lions Gate Films
  • Eulogy
    2 minutes 7 seconds
    Added: May 9, 2008

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

42% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Eulogy Reviews

Page 1 of 36
hunterjt13
hunterjt13

Super Reviewer

October 16, 2011
A dysfunctional family gathers for the patriarch's funeral.
With the characters' convoluted plotlines, even a trite voice over and an awkward framing narrative can't save this film. By the time I figured out who wanted what, who was related in to whom, and what the histories of all of these relationships were, I realized I didn't care about this people and they didn't care about each other.
I liked Zooey Deschanel's performance; she seemed at home in the awkwardness, realizing that understatement is key to this kind of comedy. Ray Romano's goofy mustache makes it impossible to take him seriously even in his more dramatic scenes.
Overall, this dramedy isn't a waste of time, but it's close.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

May 28, 2011
Eulogy is one bizarre comedy that brings a lot of laughs. When the patriarch of a dysfunctional family passes on, his family gets together in the same house the funeral and all hell breaks loose. With Eulogy you have a wonderful cast that are all funny in their own way. Eulogy is one of the most original comedies to come along in a while. Eulogy has a terrific cast of well known actors such as Hank Azaria (The Simpsons) and Ray Romano (Everybody loves Raymond) Eulogy takes a sad event and makes it funny. Very funny in fact. This is actually one wacked out comedy film, and I enjoyed every minute of it. The cast did a great job and the story was just so much fun, a dysfunctional family are forced to be together to bury their father and grandfather. What could go wrong? well, everything. it's such a hilarious ride that you can't get bored. At times the film is uneven, but considering the cast involved, Eulogy is a terrific comedy that has more highs than lows. The jokes are great and theres plenty of good scenes. One things for sure, the family in the film have a strange way of being bereaved. I really enjoyed the film because it was a different type of comedy, and one that was very refreshing. Every cast member brought something great on screen, and the laughs kept coming one after another. If you haven't seen this comedy, you should. This film is very good and is much better than most mainstream comedies out there.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

August 29, 2010
Totally cute. Kind of weird when Zooey, known for her quirky roles, was the normal one in this. I thought it was funny and dark. Very offbeat but loveable.
James A

Super Reviewer

November 25, 2007
About 3 ok laughs but overall a complete miss.
Drew S

Super Reviewer

November 12, 2007
Funny, if not excessively mean, Eulogy is a good way to spend 85 minutes. It's a solid black comedy romp with possibly the most lesbians I've ever seen in a feature-length film.

I'm probably going to hell for actually liking Ray Romano in something, but c'est la vie.
puffchunk
puffchunk

Super Reviewer

October 25, 2007
Nothing special about it, but nothing bad either. It was funny at times. The people who wrote it however have obviously never smoked pot, unless they were smoking it mixed with meth/coke/and draino.
Red L

Super Reviewer

September 8, 2007
A comedy centred around dysfunctional family and the funeral of the patriarch. I found it pretty funny. The granddaughter Kate (Zooey Deschanel) is perhaps the only sane person in the family.
Sean G

Super Reviewer

August 29, 2011
Slice of life film.
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

September 26, 2007
A great movie. Loved it from beginning to end, had a great round of actors with fantastic character portrayals.

FAVORITE SCENE: As the family stands around comforting one another at the lake, the surviving members start to sing "Papa was a Rolling Stone" and soon as the singing is peaking. Their father's casket and body is blown up by excessive gas.
Sarah P

Super Reviewer

September 9, 2007
Funny & unique family comedy, very witty, and Zooey Deschanel is excellent.
GabrielKnight
September 29, 2013
Starts off great as a hilarious comedy, and it gave me quite a few chuckles in the first half. Unfortunately, it appears the writers ran out of good jokes somewhere in the middle of the movie, as the rest of it was a train wreck.
amethystozolins
May 5, 2009
This is a must have about 6 months after anyone's funeral. It's a comedy, but strange like I want them. Favorite line(s): I don't know if your grandparents ever told you, but I used to come up here and sit when you were here. Until your grandfather hit me with a rock. Said I looked like a crow. & When it stopped raining grandpa.
January 19, 2009
It won't work. Everyone knows that the only gay relationships that last are the ones between people of the same height.
February 13, 2008
This is the definition of "ensemble cast", not a memorable role in site, but combined they pull off a good story about a family dealing with the death of a father.
February 3, 2008
The age old question: Why do movies like this go straight to DVD when so many not-funny movies are tying up valuable theater space?
X4LIFE
February 2, 2008
A pretty good film, overall. The performance by Zooey Deschanel was what really kept the film in place. All of the other actors kept the comedy working, but Zooey kept the story interesting. The casting was really good in this and the story had a good meaning behind it all.
heybarbara
June 9, 2007
I thought this movie would be like a lot of other movies I've already seen: the dysfunctional family get-together, black-comedy division... but this one was REALLY intelligent and insightful. Anyone watching this movie can surely see themselves and their own families reflected albeit in a more characterized and humorous manner. Every character is engrossed in their own personal egoistic worlds and they clash when confronted by the egoisms of their siblings and other families members. It is a definite must see and sad that it has not received the critical acclaim it deserves.
June 10, 2007
You can tell how great this movie just by reading this synapse.. :

After the death of a family's grandfather, the granddaughter (Zooey Deschanel) was asked to do his Eulogy at the funeral. Not only bothered going back to home town afraid of catching back with on-off ex-boyfriend, the granddaughter must face a reunion of an utterly dysfunctional family.

Father, who is a cheap porno movie actor and a heavy weed smoker. An uncle with his twin boys who are extremely perverted and unmannered until the only lady left the family. A could be the only normal aunt, however, a lesbian. Another angry aunt who can't shut her mouth turning her whole family tacit because she's the only one talking too much in the family. And an often suicidal newly widow grandmother.

Well?
July 19, 2007
Strange movie about family and the differences/similarities that tear them apart and bring them together. Dark comedy.
May 24, 2007
It's great! It's a funny look at a, practically, normal family. They have their constant fighting members, the unfulfilled depressed members, the outcasts, the ones who just gave up on all discipline, and even those who may have done way too much discipline. The characters make this movie. And the characters were great.
Page 1 of 36
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile