Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
30% As Above/So Below Aug 29
36% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
76% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
37% If I Stay $15.7M
21% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
19% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
39% Intruders: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
46% Reckless: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Evangerion shin gekij˘ban: Jo (Evangelion: 1.0 You Are (Not) Alone) (Neon Gensis: Evangelion 1.01 You Are (Not) Alone) Reviews

Page 2 of 25
July 30, 2014
Disclaimer: I haven't been a fan of the original anime series, I thought all the characters were deeply flawed and unlikeable. Many say that's point of the show. In any case! Here is all of the content of the first few Angels in the animated series, cutting down almost entirely on the tedious BS! I enjoyed the pacing and production value of this immensely. Makes me want to give the other film re-caps a shot.
Ben D.
June 10, 2014
Evangelion has never looked better and it successfully condenses part of the original TV series for those new to the franchise.
June 18, 2014
Rebuild of Evangelion 1.0 is a reboot of the critically acclaimed anime tv series, Neon Genesis Evangelion. Even though the story in the original got a bit confusing at the end of the series, it's still a landmark in Japanese animation. Now that a reboot to the series is made into a movie, will this be similar to the original or is it a waste of time. Let's find out?

The Story in 1.0 is basically the first seven episodes of the series. Shot in every angle shots with the same exact lines, you might think it's a waste of time if you already saw the series. Actually not really. The reason why the plot works on the material it's based on is because it only covers the first 7 episodes from the original. For example; the plot in The Last Airbender didn't work is because it was based on the first 20 episode of the tv series, making the movie plot stupid and confusing. The story is still the same from the original, but it still enjoyable for the newcomers of the series.


The animation is a major improvement from the TV series since the original went through some budget problems with the used of animation. The background is just beautiful to look at with exact details from the original. The angle shots feel exactly like the original, but the film managed to add more scenes to bring in new material to this reboot. Another major improvement is the used of CGI. The animators done a very good job on the CGI from the Evas and the Angels when they fight each other. The character designs are still the same, but in a good way. The animators make the character fell exactly on what they are from the original. The animation is worth watching in this film than the original.

The characters are obviously the same as the original, but still little material were added to these characters. Shinji is still his typical crybaby who doesn't want to pilot the Evas, but managed to get through those moments as fast as possible. Misato is a great support to Shinji like she was in the original. Rei, Commander Ikari and the other characters still play there roles as how they played in the original. The voice actor in the English version has also improve a lot from the original. Some voice actors had been switch, while others still improve their dub characters from the first 7 episodes. The characters have still been there counterpart selfs, but in a good way.

Evangelion 1.0 is definitely an improvement from the original with an unchangeable well told story, improvement animation and well acted characters from the original. This is a recommended anime film from those who just want to watch this without watching the original tv series, but those who have seen the series will still enjoy it while others believe it's a wasted of time. To me I enjoy it as what it is. Hopefully we will see more in 2.0 cause so far, this is one of the best animated film series based on a cartoon.
April 24, 2014
Pretty good but barley held my attention more then the regular episodes did when I watched them.
March 23, 2014
Just a cleaned up rehash. Very unimpressive. George Lucas would approve.
March 7, 2014
An excellently restored and enhanced version of the groundbreaking series. Even though it covers the plot of the first few episodes, it moves at a blistering pace and has adequate character development for three acts. Plus, the final act was my favorite angel battle from the series, so I was psyched to see it in HD.
March 3, 2014
Hideaki Anno brings us back to a new retelling of his famous Neon Genesis Evangelion series! Even though this first out of four films is a retelling of the first 6 television episodes, it brings new elements to the market, and is still enjoyable for any Evangelion fan!
Chris B

Super Reviewer

February 3, 2012
If you're a fan of the original anime series Neon Genesis Evangelion then you will not be disappointed with this reboot, at least not this first theatrical release. The series ran 26 episodes and had two films that were made to give fans more of a meaningful resolution than the finally two episodes of the series offered which was more of a psychological mash-up of Shinji's mind. The first film of these two was Death and Rebirth (1997) which has the first hour devoted to retelling the series primary plot points and the last half hour dedicated to new footage. This last half of Death and Rebirth make up the beginning half hour of what would be The End of Evangelion (Also 1997) and gives viewers a more tangible, albeit horrific, close to the series story and the character's fates. While the last couple episodes of the series were a psychological delve into Shinji's mind, The End of Evangelion is the outright devastating physical conclusion to the series and a harsh reality to accept.
The first of the proposed four film rebuild of Evangelion, Evangelion: 1.11 You Are (Not) Alone is essentially an introduction to the characters and story line of the series and one that sticks very closely to the original series narrative. There are some slight differences in story and certainly the film boasts a much bigger budget and utilizes the advances in the decade or more since the earlier films and boasts both hand-drawn animation and the latest CGI blended together seamlessly and visually it is gorgeous to view! While I've seen it on Blu-ray and admired the quality, seeing it at my local cinema recently along with 2.22 and 3.33 in a three-film marathon was a totally engrossing and visually sensational experience unlike any other! The CGI involved really adds to the style and feel of the series and breathes new life into the proceedings, especially the angels and their functionality. This first film is condensed certainly but still does a fantastic job at capturing the many battles with the various angels but more importantly it clings to the psychological and humanity of the central story arc and it's Jewish and Christian symbolism all of which add dramatic and visual depth to the series and of course this/these films!
January 17, 2014
I'm personally liking the movies, more than the Series.
January 26, 2014
Just as good as the series, but with much cooler CGI.
November 2, 2009
A remake that improves the animation and redoes the first six episodes of "Neon Genesis Evangelion". This is excellent science fiction, mixing an engaging plot and themes of fate and self doubt.

Earth is torn asunder by giant beings known as Angels. A scientist creates giant robot suits known as Evangelions, and child pilots must put the fate of the Earth on their shoulders as they battle these otherworldly foes.

The newest pilot is Shinji Ikari, son of the creator. He is depressed, has father issues, and is reeking of self doubt. He is brought to the last line of defense that Earth has, an underground bunker known as Tokyo-3. There he must overcome his own fears in order to save humanity.

This is science fiction at its best. The story is engaging, as the species the humans are at war with have little to no back story. They are mysterious, powerful, and have a knack for destruction.

On the other hand is the main character's journey. His depression is a little steep in this version, as he mopes around since only he knows what it is like to face down these foes. It begins to take a physical and mental toll on his fragile state, and we see him come to terms with that.

Only one of four planned movies, and the updated animation definitely improves the medium. I look forward to the others, as this is only 1/4 of the entire story.

Despite re-doing the first six episodes, there is faster progression of character development with less screen time. There is also more nuance in the characters, little nods that you have to pay attention to in order to notice. I really enjoyed the updated animation.
January 10, 2014
3.5/5 Definitely worth watching for the amazing spectacle that it is, but dramatically fails due to the inaction and whining of the main character.
January 6, 2014
It's a very well-animated retelling of the pre-Asuka episodes of Neon Genesis Evangelion, cutting out all the many, many times that Shinji's run away from home and making the episodes fit into one cohesive movie. Taking the VAs from the TV show and "End of Evangelion" and applying them to read mostly improved lines, the English dub does an excellent job at showing the characters' struggles (and Shinji's screaming actually sounds pained and frightened this time rather than funny). Also, I love the slight relationship between Shinji and Rei that is further developed in the Rebuild series - what a good choice. And everybody knowing what Central Dogma houses - that's a breath of fresh air.

However, the product placement in this is near-distracting. Doritos and Pizza Hut - I see that capitalistic enterprises go on as planned after Second Impact. I just had to quote Aaron Fink's Doritos Locos taco review - especially that laugh at the beginning.
November 26, 2013
A gorgeous retelling of the first few episodes of NGE, this is supposedly a redux of the original series sans money problems and such, a lot of theory's have this pegged as a sequel, in either case, this is a great beginning chapter for Evangelion.
November 17, 2013
Really intense and intresting, weird somethimes, but really stunning and enjoyable.
legittimelord
November 3, 2013
A fantastic retelling of the first six episodes of the orignal series.
November 1, 2013
n this remake of the groundbreaking anime, evangelion has the best mecha fight scenes between the Evas and the Angels which are preety decent. Alot of great character development and lots of heart and soul put into the characters followed by the well voice acting cast. It's not just an epic giant robot movie, its also deep and touching adding some religious themes for effect. I give Evangelion:1.11 You Are (not) Alone a 9.8 out of 10
closedmouth
September 19, 2013
Shinji's still annoying as hell, and some of the CGI is pretty terrible and out of place (Angel 5 looks completely ridiculous). But the action is just as ludicrously over-the-top in the best way, so anything not involving angsty conversations is exciting to watch. I haven't seen the original series for almost a decade, so I'm not a super-fan offended at the desecration of his baby, but it is a shame they couldn't have just cleaned up the animation in the original and released it as a series. It's kinda clumsy releasing it like this.
August 19, 2013
Having never seen the original series i did not know what to expect at all from this movie. This story, the universe it is set in has so much potential at points i was gobsmacked at the whole machine city, bio-mechanical weaponry and all the ideas surrounding the film. However the most whiney protagonist in the universe accompanied by a thrown in the deep end introduction with not enough later explanation made this a bit of a let down. That being said it wasn't bad, it was in essence a good introduction to the story, but having yet to see the later films i'm a little underwhelmed. Hopefully the story will improve as the entire arc develops. That being said, the visuals were some of the best i have ever seen in anime.
Page 2 of 25
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile