Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close Reviews

Page 2 of 9
Jason Best
Movie Talk
March 5, 2012
What seemed a gimmicky device on the page feels even more awkwardly whimsical and implausible on screen
Charlie Lyne
Ultra Culture
March 4, 2012
Feels like a Very Special Episode of a hopelessly lightweight kids TV show, misguidedly attempting to have its say on an issue it can barely comprehend, let alone interpret.
Top Critic
Leah Rozen
TheWrap
March 2, 2012
In the end, the movie is about healing and coming to understand that some things can't be explained.
Martin Roberts
Fan The Fire
March 1, 2012
I knew after I came out of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close that I had been manipulated, but I didn't feel it mattered because the film told a story about a grieving family which had weight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Martain
The Mercury
February 26, 2012
I can see why some might find the film sickly or overly sentimental, even a little forced, but it worked well enough on me to have me wiping away a few tears.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
February 26, 2012
I found this to be a peculiar movie. Some parts drew me in whilst other, not-so-believable parts, pushed me away.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
February 24, 2012
[A] dark daydream about coping with the secret guilts we all harbor, about the creeping horror of thinking about that day that all New Yorkers dealt with...
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
February 23, 2012
Its louder is better approach is just too much. The tantrums, the tears, the bloody tambourine the main character shakes at every given moment. It all culminates into a dizzying mesh of over the top sentiment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
James Croot
Flicks.co.nz
February 23, 2012
Veering from Amelie-esque whimsy to The Hours-like maudlin.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
February 21, 2012
Daldry honed his prowess for stories about boys on a mission with his worldwide hit, Billy Elliot (2000); here, the stakes are different but the need for audiences to feel the film is again paramount
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
February 21, 2012
Eric Roth has crafted a wonderful screenplay from Jonathan Safran Foer's novel that reveals the vulnerable inner voice of the young boy who not only loses his father, but bears a heavy burden of guilt
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
February 19, 2012
It's the metaphor which is important here. The dawning realisation that searching for something might be more important than what you do or do not discover.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Philip French
Observer [UK]
February 19, 2012
By the end of the movie you feel like throwing Oskar's tambourine in the East River and sending him off to swap written messages in silence with his grandfather.
February 18, 2012
Thomas Horn ... carrying a myriad emotions on very young and capable shoulders, regardless of obvious irritable character traits.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Sexton
This is London
February 17, 2012
The situation is wrenching in too many ways at once. You sit there, first cringing, then fighting back, out of primitive self-respect.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Catherine Jones
Liverpool Echo
February 17, 2012
Daldry draws a memorable and believable performance from the youngster, who had never acted before but who has to carry the bulk of the film's narrative on his slender shoulders.
Alex Zane
Sun Online
February 16, 2012
Just rather dull and a little bit long.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Allan Hunter
Daily Express
February 16, 2012
It is a heartfelt, heartwarmer of a film that lacks the pain and profundity that the subject matter really deserves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Antonia Quirke
Financial Times
February 16, 2012
So slow and self-important that its Academy Award Best Picture nomination only proves that the shortlist is too long...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
David Jenkins
Little White Lies
February 16, 2012
Fascinating despite itself. Which every way you fall, this will provoke a strong reaction.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 2 of 9