Farewell, My Queen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Farewell, My Queen Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
May 21, 2013
It should be retitled; 'Sidonie, Marie Antoinette's just not that into you.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
June 1, 2013
A mood of melancholy and the film is beautifully lit and shot. But there's something missing in the telling and its often disjointed structure mitigates against the emotional satisfaction we are seeking
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
July 13, 2012
Jacquot's lavish décor and costumes are like the perfume the women use instead of bathing: They may cover up the willful carelessness at the center of the project, but it's still there.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Justin Chang
July 9, 2012
A well-observed but emotionally muted costume drama.
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
July 11, 2012
Farewell, My Queen was shot in Versailles, but its flat schematism only highlights that the backdrops had a better story to tell.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Stephanie Zacharek
July 12, 2012
The experience of watching it is something like lounging on a satin divan, being fanned lazily with a bouquet of ostrich plumes.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Roger Smith
FILMINK (Australia)
February 7, 2014
Farewell, My Queen is a knife-edge drama that steadily builds tension that at times becomes as unbearably tense as the relationship between the three leading ladies.
Chris Stuckmann
August 22, 2012
Beniot Jacquot [...] compliments immersive storytelling with a cast full of painstakingly authentic performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Michael Nordine
Willamette Week
January 9, 2013
By the time Seydoux realizes what's in store for her and her queen, we're almost as surprised as she is.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
CJ Johnson
ABC Radio (Australia)
June 5, 2013
It's kind of the Rosencrantz and Gulidenstern Are Dead approach to history, observing it from the perspective of a "minor character", and it works ... it's a fascinating glimpse of a moment in history from, essentially, a safe bystander.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
July 19, 2012
Jacquot takes a refreshingly understated approach to costume drama, avoiding historical generalizations to focus on the particulars of palace life and the psychological states of individual characters.
Jesse Cataldo
Slant Magazine
July 9, 2012
Control is the operative element in Benoît Jacquot's work, with the main caveat being that when someone has it, someone else does not.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Stephanie Merry
Washington Post
July 26, 2012
The foreboding and chaos contrast neatly with the lavish costumes and sets.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
June 6, 2013
While it does not hang together as a whole, Farewell, My Queen is still an interesting and engaging film that should be overall commended for what it does achieve.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 1, 2013
History doesn't let us feel much sympathy for Marie Antoinette. But "Farewell, My Queen" almost has us rooting for her and those who love her by its finale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 19, 2012
Benoit Jacquot's engrossing film tells a story we know well, seen from a point of view we may not have considered.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
July 13, 2012
It's a strangely unsatisfying combination of bloodless observations and unresolved sexuality. But Diane Kruger's queen, a mature beauty mourning the loss of her youth, is a vivid portrait of willfulness, childishness and genuine neediness.
Simon Foster
January 20, 2013
The complex triangle at the dark heart of his film, set against the surging social change of a nation, makes for both a superb historical epic and a compelling human drama.
Chris Foran
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
September 6, 2012
As a portrait of a world ending, it's frequently compelling stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 2, 2012
Filmmaker Jacquot has always had a knack for directing actresses, and both Seydoux and Kruger luxuriate in the end-of-an-era-ness.
Mark Jenkins
January 22, 2013
Page 1 of 4