Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
44% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
53% Z Nation: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Farewell, My Queen Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show

It should be retitled; 'Sidonie, Marie Antoinette's just not that into you.'

Full Review Source: 2UE That Movie Show | Original Score: 2.5/5

May 21, 2013
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile

A mood of melancholy and the film is beautifully lit and shot. But there's something missing in the telling and its often disjointed structure mitigates against the emotional satisfaction we are seeking

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

June 1, 2013
Kyle Smith
New York Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Jacquot's lavish décor and costumes are like the perfume the women use instead of bathing: They may cover up the willful carelessness at the center of the project, but it's still there.

Full Review Source: New York Post | Original Score: 2/4

July 13, 2012
Justin Chang
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A well-observed but emotionally muted costume drama.

Full Review Source: Variety

July 9, 2012
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Farewell, My Queen was shot in Versailles, but its flat schematism only highlights that the backdrops had a better story to tell.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: C

July 11, 2012
Stephanie Zacharek
Movieline

The experience of watching it is something like lounging on a satin divan, being fanned lazily with a bouquet of ostrich plumes.

Full Review Source: Movieline | Original Score: 6/10

July 12, 2012
Roger Smith
FILMINK (Australia)

Farewell, My Queen is a knife-edge drama that steadily builds tension that at times becomes as unbearably tense as the relationship between the three leading ladies.

Full Review Source: FILMINK (Australia)

February 7, 2014
Chris Stuckmann
Moviedex

Beniot Jacquot [...] compliments immersive storytelling with a cast full of painstakingly authentic performances.

Full Review Source: Moviedex | Original Score: 4/5

August 22, 2012
Michael Nordine
Willamette Week

By the time Seydoux realizes what's in store for her and her queen, we're almost as surprised as she is.

Full Review Source: Willamette Week | Original Score: B+

January 9, 2013
CJ Johnson
ABC Radio (Australia)

It's kind of the Rosencrantz and Gulidenstern Are Dead approach to history, observing it from the perspective of a "minor character", and it works ... it's a fascinating glimpse of a moment in history from, essentially, a safe bystander.

Full Review Source: ABC Radio (Australia) | Original Score: 3.5/5

June 5, 2013
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Jacquot takes a refreshingly understated approach to costume drama, avoiding historical generalizations to focus on the particulars of palace life and the psychological states of individual characters.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

July 19, 2012
Jesse Cataldo
Slant Magazine

Control is the operative element in Benoît Jacquot's work, with the main caveat being that when someone has it, someone else does not.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 3.5/4

July 9, 2012
Stephanie Merry
Washington Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The foreboding and chaos contrast neatly with the lavish costumes and sets.

Full Review Source: Washington Post | Original Score: 3/4

July 26, 2012
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy

While it does not hang together as a whole, Farewell, My Queen is still an interesting and engaging film that should be overall commended for what it does achieve.

Full Review Source: Cinema Autopsy | Original Score: 3.5/5

June 6, 2013
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service

History doesn't let us feel much sympathy for Marie Antoinette. But "Farewell, My Queen" almost has us rooting for her and those who love her by its finale.

Full Review Source: McClatchy-Tribune News Service | Original Score: 3/4

January 1, 2013
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Benoit Jacquot's engrossing film tells a story we know well, seen from a point of view we may not have considered.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 3.5/4

July 19, 2012
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's a strangely unsatisfying combination of bloodless observations and unresolved sexuality. But Diane Kruger's queen, a mature beauty mourning the loss of her youth, is a vivid portrait of willfulness, childishness and genuine neediness.

Full Review Source: Wall Street Journal

July 13, 2012
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au

The complex triangle at the dark heart of his film, set against the surging social change of a nation, makes for both a superb historical epic and a compelling human drama.

Full Review Source: sbs.com.au

January 20, 2013
Chris Foran
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

As a portrait of a world ending, it's frequently compelling stuff.

Full Review Source: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel | Original Score: 2.5/4

September 6, 2012
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express

Filmmaker Jacquot has always had a knack for directing actresses, and both Seydoux and Kruger luxuriate in the end-of-an-era-ness.

Full Review Source: East Bay Express

August 2, 2012
Mark Jenkins
NPR.org
January 22, 2013
Page 1 of 4
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile