Fast Five (2011) - Rotten Tomatoes

Fast Five (2011)

TOMATOMETER

AUDIENCE SCORE

Critic Consensus: Sleek, loud, and over the top, Fast Five proudly embraces its brainless action thrills and injects new life into the franchise.

Movie Info

Former cop Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) partners with ex-con Dom Toretto (Vin Diesel) on the opposite side of the law. Dwayne Johnson joins returning favorites Jordana Brewster, Tyrese Gibson, Chris "Ludacris" Bridges, Matt Schulze, Sung Kang, Gal Gadot, Tego Calderon and Don Omar for this ultimate high-stakes race. Since Brian and Mia Toretto (Brewster) broke Dom out of custody, they've blown across many borders to elude authorities. Now backed into a corner in Rio de Janeiro, they must pull one last job in order to gain their freedom. As they assemble their elite team of top racers, the unlikely allies know their only shot of getting out for good means confronting the corrupt businessman who wants them dead. But he's not the only one on their tail. Hard-nosed federal agent Luke Hobbs (Dwayne Johnson) never misses his target. -- (C) Universalmore
Rating: PG-13 (for intense sequences of violence and action, sexual content and language)
Genre: Drama, Action & Adventure, Mystery & Suspense
Directed By:
Written By: Chris Morgan
In Theaters:
On DVD: Oct 4, 2011
Box Office: $209.8M
Runtime:
Universal Pictures - Official Site

Cast

Vin Diesel
as Dominic Toretto
Paul Walker
as Brian O'Conner
Jordana Brewster
as Mia Toretto
Tyrese Gibson
as Roman Pearce
Matt Schulze
as Vincent
Gal Gadot
as Gisele
Don Omar
as Santos
Elsa Pataky
as Elena Neves
Geoff Meed
as Macroy
Geoff Mead
as Macroy
Joseph Melendez
as Chief of Police Alem...
Luis Gonzaga
as Cash House Door Guar...
Carlos Sanchez
as Evidence Technician
Ben Blankenship
as Lead DEA Agent
Pedro U. Garcia
as Conductor
Pedro Garcia
as Conductor
Jay Jackson
as Field Reporter
Arlene Santana
as Field Reporter
Kent Shocknek
as News Anchor
Sharon Tay
as News Anchor
Andy Rosa Adler
as News Anchor
Show More Cast

News & Interviews for Fast Five

Critic Reviews for Fast Five

All Critics (192) | Top Critics (38)

Fast Five is grindingly mechanical -- and not just because of all the emphasis on car repairs and retooling.

Full Review… | October 7, 2011
TheWrap
Top Critic

...achieves the sort of zen chaos that defines the Die Hard films

Full Review… | March 31, 2015
LarsenOnFilm

Hard-core fans of the series with enjoy it but others should steer away from this over-the-top action flick.

Full Review… | June 30, 2013
Big Hollywood

Forty minutes of this movie are big dumb fun. The other 85 forget the fun part.

Full Review… | June 22, 2013
Deadspin

Has really transformed this series from camp action cinema to exciting heist cinema.

Full Review… | May 27, 2013
Cinema Crazed

The last 2 entries were stupid too, but at least this one was well directed and features some of the most impressive stunt work I've seen in years.

Full Review… | May 14, 2013
Film Geek Central

Audience Reviews for Fast Five

½

This series is not one of the best in the world. This movie isnt going to be the biggest blockbuster of summer 2011. No one is going to win an oscar from this. That said this movie was fun. In fact one of the more fun movies in the franchise. I am not sure if it was The Rock looking like he was just having too much fun or the extremely cute Jordana Brewster or even a very out of shape but still charming in his way Vin Diesel, the movie was a nice fun ride with the right humor, the right action. Not original in the least but a good popcorn flick to start off the summer.

jmanard52
John Manard

Super Reviewer

½

A new film, a new venture and a whole new never ending stream of super modded cars for Toretto and his crew. No need for explanations on how they get these cars, they just get them, deal with it people.

Fairly disappointing, overly long and actually slightly dull new chapter in this chav/hip hop racer franchise. Amazing it has lasted this long really but the films have been a roller coaster of quality for me. First film was a boy racer flick complete with dumb neon underside lighting but fairly original and fun. Second film was a bit of a rehash with colourful new street racer characters and dripping in bling...was pretty awful.

Third film was a straight to the shops deal which many didn't like BUT is actually by far the most superior of the franchise due to the excellent and very realistic drift racing making it a proper street racing film. The fourth film regroups the original cast and has a drug running plot. This means the street racing has been pushed to one side in favour of generic action man hokum.

Now we have number five which seems to have ditched a lot of the street racing element and is more of an out n out heist flick. Along the lines of 'The Italian Job' remake with flashy over the top car/people stunts, the usual regular cliched team of criminals and the usual regular cliched breaking in techniques that we've seen so often now we could all break into banks ourselves.

Still impressed with the cast continuity though I gotta admit. Everyone is back again including Bridges from number 2 and Schulze all the way from the very first film. It is also of course the first introduction of Dwayne Johnson into the franchise and he fits in perfectly in all honesty. He stands around barking orders with his chest puffed out, arms glistening and holding large weapons.

There is a hint of street racing but that's all we get...a hint, we don't see the guys winning their fast cars. I think the stupidest scene in the film is where they race police cars together, they just waltz in and steal four cruisers, apparently, then try to make us believe that these regular police cruisers are fast souped up motors!! and manual!...they do realise the US mainly uses auto? (of course they used fast cars in reality as stand in's).

Highlight is the fight between Diesel and Johnson, two big slapheads grunting n sweating over each other which is pretty decent but after that it gets silly again as both Johnson and his female partner decide to join Toretto and his criminals in the heist! The final big chase/escape sequence is impressive with tonnes of carnage and wreckage, your basic common destruction porn fix. It does admittedly command your attention, yet I wonder how many innocent people Toretto manages to kill right at the end.

If you want street racing you won't find it here, this is a bank heist flick which isn't too original. Reasonable mindless fun but nothing new, seen this kind of thing so many times and this offers nothing new. This film marks the end for the street racing aspect in this franchise and enters the saturated action heist genre.

On a final note I might add...there's no way Toretto's Dodge Charger could ever compete against Brian's Skyline GTR at the end. How many times are they gonna try and show this to us??

phubbs1
Phil Hubbs

Super Reviewer

½

An energetic, high-octane entry in the much celebrated 'Fast and Furious' franchise concerning Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) breaking Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) out of prison, and how they get their gang back together to do a job in Rio de Janerio in hopes of buying their freedom back, all while being tailed by a tough as nails government agent (Dwayne Johnson). The first 'Furious' film does hold a nostalgic piece of my heart, given it was a movie I really enjoyed growing up, and even though I told myself I would not go back after the horrible second film, I decided to give this one a try after the sudden, heartbreaking death of Paul Walker, coupled with this film in particular receiving positive buzz. The result is a brainless action movie that fully embraces its own ridiculousness while adopting the plot line of "The Italian Job" and pushing the pace ten times past the normal limit. The acting is appropriately over the top to compliment its insane plot line, especially Johnson who really gives this franchise the energy it needed, and the chase scenes and plot twists are largely enjoyable despite being completely predictable for the most part. Basically it is almost impossible not to have a great time watching this movie, and for that it accomplishes its job more than well.

Dan Schultz
Dan Schultz

Super Reviewer

Fast Five Quotes

Dominic Toretto: The only thing that matters right now is the people in this room.
– Submitted by Humphrey O (12 months ago)
Roman Pearce: When are you gonna give Martin Luther King his car back?
– Submitted by Wayne S (3 years ago)
Hobbs: Give me the damn veggies.
– Submitted by Zashira G (3 years ago)
Hobbs: You're mistaken if you think you got a goddamn choice boy!
– Submitted by Izaack R (3 years ago)

Discussion Forum

Discuss Fast Five on our Movie forum!