Opening

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Jul 11
100% Boyhood Jul 11
15% Rage Jul 11
21% A Long Way Down Jul 11
—— The Class Of '92 Jul 08

Top Box Office

17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $37.1M
23% Tammy $21.6M
85% 22 Jump Street $9.8M
31% Deliver Us from Evil $9.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $9.0M
48% Earth to Echo $8.4M
49% Maleficent $6.2M
53% Jersey Boys $5.2M
24% Think Like a Man Too $4.9M
90% Edge of Tomorrow $3.7M

Coming Soon

—— The Purge: Anarchy Jul 18
—— Sex Tape Jul 18
36% Wish I Was Here Jul 18
—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25

Premieres Tonight

100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
60% Ray Donovan: Season 2
79% The Strain: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Devious Maids: Season 2
—— Endeavour: Season 2
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
64% The Last Ship: Season 1
100% Last Tango in Halifax: Season 2
69% The Leftovers: Season 1
50% The Musketeers: Season 1
46% Reckless: Season 1
54% Salem: Season 1
50% True Blood: Season 7
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
80% Vicious: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

—— 24: Live Another Day: Season 9
84% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
79% Penny Dreadful: Season 1
84% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1

Fast Five (2011)

tomatometer

77

Average Rating: 6.4/10
Reviews Counted: 191
Fresh: 148 | Rotten: 43

Sleek, loud, and over the top, Fast Five proudly embraces its brainless action thrills and injects new life into the franchise.

79

Average Rating: 6.5/10
Critic Reviews: 38
Fresh: 30 | Rotten: 8

Sleek, loud, and over the top, Fast Five proudly embraces its brainless action thrills and injects new life into the franchise.

audience

82

liked it
Average Rating: 4/5
User Ratings: 132,597

My Rating

Movie Info

Former cop Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) partners with ex-con Dom Toretto (Vin Diesel) on the opposite side of the law. Dwayne Johnson joins returning favorites Jordana Brewster, Tyrese Gibson, Chris "Ludacris" Bridges, Matt Schulze, Sung Kang, Gal Gadot, Tego Calderon and Don Omar for this ultimate high-stakes race. Since Brian and Mia Toretto (Brewster) broke Dom out of custody, they've blown across many borders to elude authorities. Now backed into a corner in Rio de Janeiro, they must pull

PG-13,

Drama, Action & Adventure, Mystery & Suspense

Chris Morgan

Oct 4, 2011

$209.8M

Universal Pictures - Official Site External Icon

Watch It Now

Cast

Latest News on Fast Five

December 21, 2011:
Vin Diesel Says Fast 6 and 7 Are on the Way
He will continue to drive above the speed limit for the foreseeable future.
October 4, 2011:
RT on DVD & Blu-Ray: Fast Five and Scream 4
This week on home video, we've got quite a selection, mostly of hi-def reissues of existing movies,...

ADVERTISEMENT

Friend Ratings

No Friends? Inconceivable! Log in to see what your friends have to say.

All Critics (191) | Top Critics (38) | Fresh (148) | Rotten (43) | DVD (5)

Fast Five is grindingly mechanical -- and not just because of all the emphasis on car repairs and retooling.

October 7, 2011 Full Review Source: TheWrap
TheWrap
Top Critic IconTop Critic

[Johnson's] skin looks as though it's been slathered in butter; his enjoyment is infectious and keeps the movie speeding along.

May 9, 2011 Full Review Source: New Yorker | Comments (4)
New Yorker
Top Critic IconTop Critic

That force of chaotic and unsatisfiable desire that Freud called the id is much closer to the surface in a movie like "Fast Five" than ever before in action-cinema history, and part of Lin's peculiar genius is that he barely tries to conceal it.

April 29, 2011 Full Review Source: Salon.com | Comment (1)
Salon.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The chemistry of the core cast - steered by Vin Diesel and Paul Walker - keeps this outing from running on fumes.

April 29, 2011 Full Review Source: Denver Post | Comments (5)
Denver Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The whole thing progresses to one of the looniest heists of all time. The result is the most exciting, visually jazzy, and absurd entry in the series.

April 29, 2011 Full Review Source: Chicago Reader | Comments (2)
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

As the summer of 2011 approaches with the speed of a souped-up Dodge Charger, I'm going to take my action-movie blessings where I can find them.

April 29, 2011 Full Review Source: Slate | Comment (1)
Slate
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Hard-core fans of the series with enjoy it but others should steer away from this over-the-top action flick.

June 30, 2013 Full Review Source: Big Hollywood
Big Hollywood

Forty minutes of this movie are big dumb fun. The other 85 forget the fun part.

June 22, 2013 Full Review Source: Deadspin
Deadspin

Has really transformed this series from camp action cinema to exciting heist cinema.

May 27, 2013 Full Review Source: Cinema Crazed
Cinema Crazed

The last 2 entries were stupid too, but at least this one was well directed and features some of the most impressive stunt work I've seen in years.

May 14, 2013 Full Review Source: Film Geek Central
Film Geek Central

Fast Five boasts incredible action scenes that are all varied and equally exciting. The film is full of clean, well choreographed shots that are easy to watch and the cast works great as a whole unit, making the film's running time breeze by.

March 25, 2013 Full Review Source: We Got This Covered
We Got This Covered

Like a shot of nitro to the franchise and shows there's plenty left in the tank.

January 31, 2013 Full Review Source: Lyles' Movie Files
Lyles' Movie Files

Manages to be more fun than any movie with its outrageous carbon footprint has any right to be.

January 12, 2013 Full Review Source: McClatchy-Tribune News Service
McClatchy-Tribune News Service

The series has found new traction in the heist format -- resulting in a fun and immensely entertaining ride.

October 2, 2012 Full Review Source: ScreenRant
ScreenRant

One film was enough, two was plenty, but five is just absurd. Undoubtedly, there will be several people who will flock to this film just because it has cars zooming back and forth, so at least some people will be pleased with it.

September 20, 2012 Full Review Source: Examiner.com
Examiner.com

The jauntier vibe makes for easier viewing between the big high-speed car set pieces, which are every bit as big, loud, and crazily over-the-top preposterous as one would expect and hope.

February 7, 2012 Full Review Source: TheMovieReport.com
TheMovieReport.com

It's about cars, girls and fighting and doesn't pretend to be anything else. For sheer gall alone, "Fast Five" provides much entertainment. Just not much intellect.

December 13, 2011 Full Review Source: The Baltic Times

Forget physics, it's just a fun blast of action movie ingenuity, as is the film as a whole.

October 4, 2011 Full Review Source: MSN.com | Comments (2)
MSN.com

It's not like I'm asking for The Road Warrior... just some basic coverage and a less-than-total reliance on camera movement to generate excitement.

August 26, 2011 Full Review Source: Projection Booth | Comments (3)
Projection Booth

Director Justin Lin has a spooky, second sense for staging bombastic action sequences, even if he breaks every law in physics to make them work.

July 6, 2011 Full Review Source: BrandonFibbs.com
BrandonFibbs.com

Spins its wheels. Shifts between gravel-voiced speeches (about true family) and bicep-offs. Throttling dialogue, long hard looks, and heist clichés skid on for blocks.

June 22, 2011 Full Review Source: Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada) | Comment (1)
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)

There's arguably even more gun and car play than in F&F4, with the prolonged car chase finale easily chiming in as the best, most imaginative one in the franchise so far.

June 16, 2011 Full Review Source: The Age (Australia)
The Age (Australia)

It's trying so hard to pleasepleasepleasepleaseplease. But that's also why it's entertaining

June 7, 2011 Full Review Source: Movie City News | Comment (1)
Movie City News

For those needing preposterous stunts, laugh-out-loud bad dialogue, testosterone-fueled posturing and an "Ocean's 11"-like plot apparently written by and for 13-year-old boys.

May 31, 2011 Full Review Source: Spectrum (St. George, Utah) | Comments (8)
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)

nostalgic for older team films, and a world in which people interacted face to face

May 30, 2011 Full Review Source: DVDTalk.com
DVDTalk.com

Audience Reviews for Fast Five

I think it would be unfair of me to proclaim that Fast Five is more of the same nonsense we've seen throughout the franchise because it isn't. They have have created a brand new type of nonsense, an improved nonsense if you will. Gravity is still totally ignored as is death, if your character dies in the franchise then you can always come back no questions asked. You can also kill innocents and police with no consequence. The cars take a bit of a back seat really, the one race opportunity is completely ignored with only a before and after scene to show for it, which I have to say was refreshing as we've seen it all before. The big problem with this film is the story. It's so stupidly ridiculous it's amazing it ever got green-lit. I liked the way they got everyone's favorite characters from the franchise and got them together but this crime 'dream team' serve absolutely no purpose. What did Han do exactly? He drove one car once but was chosen for his 'best in the world' crime credentials? It's poor character development and lazy writing. Vin Diesel's constant mumblings on family is tiresome too, especially when one of his 'brothers' dies and requests with his dying breath that he visits his only son. Does he? Does he hell, he's got a ton of money to steal for no good reason. If they had the amount of money needed to fund such an audacious heist then they probably wouldn't have needed to bother in the first place.
April 1, 2014
SirPant

Super Reviewer

An energetic, high-octane entry in the much celebrated 'Fast and Furious' franchise concerning Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) breaking Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) out of prison, and how they get their gang back together to do a job in Rio de Janerio in hopes of buying their freedom back, all while being tailed by a tough as nails government agent (Dwayne Johnson). The first 'Furious' film does hold a nostalgic piece of my heart, given it was a movie I really enjoyed growing up, and even though I told myself I would not go back after the horrible second film, I decided to give this one a try after the sudden, heartbreaking death of Paul Walker, coupled with this film in particular receiving positive buzz. The result is a brainless action movie that fully embraces its own ridiculousness while adopting the plot line of "The Italian Job" and pushing the pace ten times past the normal limit. The acting is appropriately over the top to compliment its insane plot line, especially Johnson who really gives this franchise the energy it needed, and the chase scenes and plot twists are largely enjoyable despite being completely predictable for the most part. Basically it is almost impossible not to have a great time watching this movie, and for that it accomplishes its job more than well.
December 24, 2013
Dan Schultz

Super Reviewer

A new film, a new venture and a whole new never ending stream of super modded cars for 'Toretto' and his crew. No need for explanations on how they get these cars, they just get them, deal with it people.

Fairly disappointing, overly long and actually slightly dull new chapter in this chav/hip hop racer franchise. Amazing it has lasted this long really but the films have been a roller coaster of quality for me. First film was a boy racer flick complete with dumb neon underside lighting but fairly original and fun. Second film was a bit of a rehash with colourful new street racer characters and dripping in bling...was pretty awful.

Third film was a straight to the shops deal which many didn't like BUT is actually by far the most superior of the franchise due to the excellent and very realistic drift racing making it a proper street racing film. The fourth film regroups the original cast and has a drug running plot. This means the street racing has been pushed to one side in favour of generic action man hokum.

Now we have number five which seems to have ditched a lot of the street racing element and is more of an out n out heist flick. Along the lines of 'The Italian Job' remake with flashy over the top car/people stunts, the usual regular cliched team of criminals and the usual regular cliched breaking in techniques that we've seen so often now we could all break into banks ourselves.

Still impressed with the cast continuity though I gotta admit. Everyone is back again including Bridges from number 2 and Schulze all the way from the very first film. It is also of course the first introduction of Dwayne Johnson into the franchise and he fits in perfectly in all honesty. He stands around barking orders with his chest puffed out, arms glistening and holding large weapons.

There is a hint of street racing but that's all we get...a hint, we don't see the guys winning their fast cars. I think the stupidest scene in the film is where they race police cars together, they just waltz in and steal four cruisers, apparently, then try to make us believe that these regular police cruisers are fast souped up motors!! and manual!...they do realise the US mainly uses auto? (of course they used fast cars in reality as stand in's).

Highlight is the fight between Diesel and Johnson, two big slapheads grunting n sweating over each other which is pretty decent but after that it gets silly again as both Johnson and his female partner decide to join Toretto and his criminals in the heist!. The final big chase/escape sequence is impressive with tonnes of carnage and wreckage, your basic common destruction porn fix. It does admittedly command your attention, yet I wonder how many innocent people Toretto manages to kill right at the end.

If you want street racing you won't find it here, this is a bank heist flick which isn't too original. Reasonable mindless fun but nothing new, seen this kind of thing so many times and this offers nothing new. This film marks the end for the street racing aspect in this franchise and enters the saturated action heist genre.

On a final note I might add...there's no way Toretto's Dodge Charger could ever compete against Brian's Skyline GTR at the end. How many times are they gonna try and show this to us??.
September 24, 2013
phubbs1

Super Reviewer

    1. Roman Pearce: When are you gonna give Martin Luther King his car back?
    – Submitted by Wayne S (18 months ago)
    1. Hobbs: Give me the damn veggies.
    – Submitted by Zashira G (20 months ago)
    1. Hobbs: You're mistaken if you think you got a goddamn choice boy!
    – Submitted by Izaack R (21 months ago)
    1. Dominic Toretto: So what we're talking about is 100 million dollars.
    – Submitted by Izaack R (21 months ago)
    1. Elena Neves: I'm motivated.
    2. Hobbs: So, make sure you got your funderwear on.
    – Submitted by Karthi K (23 months ago)
    1. Hobbs: You know I like my dessert first.
    – Submitted by Rodney C (24 months ago)
View all quotes (33)

Discussion Forum

Discuss Fast Five on our Movie forum!

What's Hot On RT

Richard Linklater
Richard Linklater

What are his Five Favorite Films?

The Hunger Games
The Hunger Games

New Mockingjay teaser trailer

Emmys
Emmys

Full 2014 nominations list

Planet of the Apes
Planet of the Apes

Watch interviews with the cast

Emmys Gallery
Emmys Gallery

Nominated actors and actresses

Foreign Titles

  • Fast & Furious 5 (Fast Five) (UK)
  • Fast & Furious 5 (FR)
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile