The Father of My Children (Le pere de mes enfants) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Father of My Children (Le pere de mes enfants) Reviews

Top Critic
Andrea Gronvall
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Stephen Cole
Globe and Mail
November 5, 2010
The film is achieved with a rare tenderness and grace by 29-year-old French actress-filmmaker Mia Hanson-Love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
David Roark
Dallas Morning News
August 6, 2010
While the movie is far from perfect, those potential missteps are, in the end, part of what makes The Father of My Children so beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
July 23, 2010
A modest drama about a suicide and its aftermath that never quite moves an audience as it should.
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
July 23, 2010
A subtle work on an exceedingly difficult subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
July 23, 2010
The Father of My Children is exceptional drama. Compelling and unforced, it shows sensitivity and evenhandedness in approaching a difficult subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
July 22, 2010
It is a film about children and their parents, and not knowing where fate, or life, can take you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Anthony Lane
New Yorker
June 1, 2010
You could argue that the film fails to revive the harassed intensities of its first hour, but I doubt whether they could have been sustained; and what we get instead, with its stunned and glassy air, yields a slow-breathing drama of its own.
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
May 28, 2010
A tale of cinema, a story about the agonies of trying to work outside the cinematic mainstream (even in France!). Yet what makes the movie so affecting is that it‚(TM)s also a love story about a family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
May 28, 2010
Beautiful, profound and, given the gathering tensions of its story, phenomenally full of life.
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
May 28, 2010
There is much opportunity to turn the film into a soaper, but Hansen-Love resists.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Noel Murray
AV Club
May 27, 2010
The Father Of My Children is largely about how life drifts by, and how we don't always leave the mark in the world that we'd hoped, so Hansen-LÝve resists the urge to overdramatize or over-stress.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 27, 2010
The film's second half is the most touching, because it shows that our lives are not merely our own, but also belong to the events we set in motion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic

Time Out
May 27, 2010
This is only half a great movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
Village Voice
May 26, 2010
Hansen-Love‚(TM)s fevered mix of love and resentment toward this man lends urgency and eros to his professional and personal unraveling.
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
May 26, 2010
Writer-director Mia Hansen-LÝve is telling two stories here: The first is a concentrated, slow-burn tale of personal self-destruction, while the second is an anecdotal, perceptive study of a family dealing with tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
May 20, 2010
The Father of My Children loses focus and sags into a how-we-got-through-it family procedural.
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
May 20, 2010
What French writer-director Mia Hansen-Love has created is an extraordinarily empathetic humanistic drama, a film of love, joy, sadness and hope that understands how complex our emotions are and does beautiful justice to them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Dave Calhoun
Time Out
March 25, 2010
The essence of the film is a welcome compassion and curiosity about inner lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Justin Chang
Variety
May 18, 2009
Marked by moments of remarkable stillness amid its emotional tumult, the film's classy, perceptive treatment of potentially maudlin material merits wider arthouse attention than it's likely to receive.