Fay Grim Reviews

Page 1 of 32
LWOODS04
Super Reviewer
½ August 4, 2010
Cast: Parker Posey, Jeff Goldblum, Saffron Burrows, D.J. Mendel, Liam Aiken, Jasmin Tabatabai, Chuck Montgomery, James Urbaniak, John Keogh, Claudia Michelsen

Director: Hal Hartley

Summary: When it's discovered that her deceased ex-husband's manuscript contains information that could threaten national security and implicate the government in a variety of conspiracies, Fay Grim (Parker Posey) is forced to travel to Paris and retrieve the book before it falls into the wrong hands. A follow-up to the critically acclaimed Henry Fool, this puzzling thriller from Hal Hartley also stars Jeff Goldblum and Saffron Burrows.

My Thoughts: "It's an offbeat kind of film full of some odd, quirky characters. The story is OK and interesting enough to keep you watching, but it just wasn't anything special. Parker Posey, is what kept me watching this movie. She does a really great job in this film. I enjoyed Jeff Goldblum, in this as well. Thought him and Parker were quite funny in this. The acting in this film is a bit over the top, which makes the film seem even more silly. But I think it was the directors intention to have some of the scenes to come off that way. In the end, it was just an OK flick with some funny moments. If your a fan of Parker Posey, I would say have a go at this film."
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ February 6, 2008
[font=Century Gothic]"Fay Grim" takes place seven years after Fay Grim's(Parker Posey) husband, Henry Fool, vanished after catching a flight to Sweden under an assumed name.(It's a long story, trust me. Or rather a long movie: "Henry Fool.") CIA Agents Fulbright(Jeff Goldblum) and Fogg(Leo Fitzpatrick) ask her if she has read any of Henry's journals which they believe could be a threat to national security. One notebook is in the possession of a publisher(Chuck Montgomery) who passes it along to Fay's brother Simon(James Urbaniak) who is in jail for helping Henry escape. Two more are in France and Fay agrees to retrieve them in exchange for Simon being released from prison, so he can home school her son, Ned(Liam Aiken), who has been expelled for a little underage fellatio...[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]Written and directed by Hal Hartley, "Fay Grim" is a convoluted mess of a movie with ill-defined characters. It's not that all of the necessary elements are not in place, just too many of them. To make matters worse, too much time and energy is given to trying to explain the MacGuffin. In the end, it is irrelevant whether the journals contain government secrets, the pornographic ravings of a madman or a great egg salad recipe. And whenever it feels like there is a coherent statement about the national security state on the horizon, the movie simply stumbles off into another brick wall.[/font]
Super Reviewer
½ May 22, 2009
Well, all's I got to say about this movie is that it's a bit of a mess. I like stories where ordinary people are thrust into extraordinary situations, but this was just convoluted as all get out. The last half-hour was pretty good, but I spend the first two-thirds of the movie wondering what the hell was going on and why I should give a damn about Parker Posey's character.

Then I found out it was a sequel to something. Kind of wish I'd have know that BEFORE I rented it!!!
Super Reviewer
½ October 7, 2007
It was an unexpected movie. Though Parker Posey makes it worth watching because of her acting, so it's a good movie.
Super Reviewer
June 7, 2007
A deadpan espionage send-up that more than overstays its welcome.
whosinthenews
Super Reviewer
October 18, 2009
In Fay Grim Hartley rearranges Henry Fool's characters into a more lighthearted, ironic espionage tale. Unfortunately this film seems to only work in the minds those who enjoyed and looked forward to the further exploits of the original's characters, since there is an overall sloppiness to the sequel's construction. The humor is sometimes crisp enough, as is the talent involved, but mostly this just felt like an unnecessary epilogue which, in some cases, causes the original to lose meaning. The primary example being the validity given to Henry's "confessions" when the crux of the first was that his character was ultimately full of shit...and besides, if Henry's work had been even remotely related to spy/travel memoirs, why would he have gotten so visibly upset when Simon rejects its artistic worth?
Super Reviewer
June 14, 2007
Wow. Suprisingly a hit with me. Great storyline, with Parker being her best as Fay Grim. Strong story with great acting by a supporting cast. I do need to see Henry Fool to understand this sequel, but nonetheless it was a great movie, but makes me wanting more....
June 24, 2011
Unpleasantness about spies, terrorists/freedom fighters, and bystanders involved/uninvolved in spy moves. And Fay Grim and her family caught up into it all. One viewing was enough for me.
May 22, 2011
Henry Fool being one of my favorite movies, I had high hopes for this one. Unfortunately it didn't work for me at all. While Parker Posey was great as always and Hal Hartley's trademark dialog was prominent is a few spots, overall it was just too silly to be even funny. I was expecting a comedy but it's really a spy thriller parody.
½ August 4, 2008
Going into the movie not knowing it was a continuation of a previous story, so it did get a little confusing. None the less it was a good movie, thought I did feel Parker ws over acting in some cases of the movie.
½ July 13, 2007
This movie is a continuation of Hal Hartley's 'Henry Fool'. Even though I have enjoyed Henry Fool and Hartley's previous works this one kept getting less interesting by the minute. The story seems like it will take off till the end of the movie, however, the ending is missing completion and is exactly where we left off with from the beginning. Parker Posey is great nontheless, I expected a little more from Hartley, but even though the acting is great the movie was made to be bigger than the actual plot.
June 8, 2007
Royal Tenenbaums meets Spies Like Us. The second act turns really serious which makes it both good and bad at the same time. Liked the humor in the first act wish it had more of it in the second.
June 5, 2007
A very entertaining and funny film. A surprising sequel to Henry Fool as well. I was really surprised by how cool, involving and grim this film could be. It is "the Empire Strikes Back" of this ongoing story.
May 26, 2007
I found this to be quite good. Parker Posey shines in it, and Jeff Goldblum is fun to watch. The story itself is quirky but funny. At least it is funny for the first hour & 15 minutes then the last 40 minutes or so it switches its pace and becomes an intriguing espionage. I honestly can't remember if I saw Henry Fool. It seems familiar. I try and check out whatever Hartley or Parker Posey do so I wouldnt be surprised if I saw it and just forgot it. Well, I guess Henry Fool needs checking out again.
½ June 4, 2007
This film started out with a bang and ended with a confusing whimper. Parker Posey delivered a great performance, and Jeff Goldblum displayed his usual eccentricities.
½ May 26, 2007
Hal really made some smart choice here.

It is interesting to know how, sometimes events in the world need to play our before your story can continue.

"An honest man is always in trouble," - Henry Fool
½ May 30, 2007
Great Spy thriller! Not bad at all...Good performance, nice editing, no so great cinematography but close enough for cigars!
May 19, 2007
Strange thing about this is that.. I really didn't realize it was a sequel until I watched the special features. I vaguely remember hearing about Henry Fool, but never got the chance to watch it.. I think this film is really good as a stand alone film.. (although I think there were some things that might have been more meaningful had I known the characters history) Wonderful cinematography.. The acting was very hitchcock like.. which seems a bit too... fake .. eventually you get to the point where you don't notice it though.. it's just part of the characters..

I am not quite sure I like the end, but I suppose it makes sense..
½ May 16, 2007
0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%& 0123456789%&
Page 1 of 32