Fifty Shades of Grey - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fifty Shades of Grey Reviews

Page 1 of 223
Super Reviewer
January 29, 2016
Though the depiction of a BDSM relationship as solely abusive is ridiculous, and the characters are bland cardboard cutouts, some of this I actually enjoyed. It makes fun of itself occasionally and can actually warrant a laugh. Visually this film is pretty well shot, with balanced, eye catching frames, and beautiful visuals of the Seattle landscape. The soundtrack and songs were really tonally perfect, though I didn't see the film as a love story so much as an off-balance depiction of an already degraded and misunderstood group of people.
Super Reviewer
December 18, 2015
Firstly I'm not quite sure how I feel about the movie. In all honesty I have read the book and I can safely say the movie is far more toned down and hence more compelling to watch than it was to read, yet I felt like the sex scenes were never quite sexy just really awkward. And hence my confusion with this movie because when its not showing a sex scene the movie was actually quite comedic and Dakota Johnson kills it adding far more layers to the one-dimensional Ana of the book. Jamie Dornan on the other hand can be quite wooden (pun not intended, okay maybe it was HA) and doesn't necessarily catch the tortured soul of Christian Grey. I mean lets be honest here the books are complete shit so there's not much working for the movie from the beginning and secondary characters are given about a minute's screen time each and hence totally underutilised. It's beautifully shot and well-lit and props to the actors for being comfortable to strip down next to nothing but the movie lacks substance and doesn't explore the psychology of BDSM culture. In summation I think Dakota Johnson was the highlight of this film and I hope she finds better work as she has the acting chops. This review feels awkward sorry. 2/5
Super Reviewer
½ February 17, 2015
An infinitely more sexist version of Twilight, only with BDSM (or the ridiculous, twisted idea that E. L. James has of it) in lieu of vampirism but, of course, with another low-self-esteem "heroine" and a gorgeous, domineering and overcontrolling stalker as her phallic object of desire.
Super Reviewer
½ July 10, 2015
Well........it looks nice.
Super Reviewer
½ April 12, 2015
It wasn't terrible. I had read the first couple pages of the book and found the writing to be insufferable, but I also fully expected the screenplay to iron out the kinks (heh) like with the "Twilight" movies, which had better material to work with in comparison. Anastasia is still a little unnecessarily inept and vapid at first and Dakota Johnson oversells her mousiness, but she proves herself a subtle comedienne in the hardware store and drunken voicemail scenes.

Jamie Dornan is sufficiently sexy and tortured and predatory, but the script is careful to make sure Ana's free will is at the forefront of every decision, though some may argue it's the illusion of freedom because she's so inexperienced and he's so persistent. Even so, that doesn't make her decisions any less her own, nor his lust any less an earnest desire for connection in the only depraved way he knows how. It's a problematic relationship dynamic, to be sure, and there's really only one Harlequin fantasy way to end it, but so far, the representation seems unmannered and unfettered (heh).
Super Reviewer
February 15, 2015
While this was an improvement from the book and offered titillating erotic scenes, it suffers from the same defects from its source material. Unrealistic dialogue, no real ending, a weak plot development, and ultimately uninteresting characters. It even felt boring at times.
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2015
Against my better judgement, I decided to view the film "Fifty Shades of Grey." This "film" is essentially a overly sensual build-up to a BDSM moment that honestly never pays off, and leaves you hanging more than any cliffhanger could think of doing in years. With no real story and no real ending, this film is a pile of sappy and creepy scenes slapped together, with great lighting, camerawork, and a solid performance by Dakota Johnson. Overall, "Fifty Shades of Grey" does not in any way live up to it's hype and I felt like I wasted two hours of my life. The fact that I had a blast laughing at the dialogue that was supposed to be seductive was enough to let me have a bit of fun and not completely trash this film. In the end, it is a horrendously written film , with poor direction, terrible chemistry, and a conclusion that is pointless, just like the events preceding it. I will not ever be excited for a sequel to this film. While not exactly as atrociously bad as I was expecting, "Fifty Shades of Grey" is a lifeless picture. Stay far away.
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2015
This movie simply fails on every level. With an absurdly abysmal dialog, weak acting and next to no chemistry between the lead actors, makes this movie unbearable to watch.
skactopus
Super Reviewer
½ February 24, 2015
Sam Taylor-Johnson's adaptation of Fifty Shades of Grey puts emphasis on the Grey. The color grey; as in bland.

For a 2 hour story surrounding kinky sex, there is very little in the way of arousing excitement. The story is thin and it never seems to be heading in a forward direction. Integral plot details are far and few in between, leaving the sex to stand out.

On the subject of sex, there are a number of erotic scenes with a bunch of buildup for them. To associate with the R-rating, these scenes never fully engulf what makes the Fifty Shades of Grey what it's meant to be. Possible pushing to the NC-17 rating is what is needed.

Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan are attractive in their own right, but viewing their performances is very tiring. Maybe the characters are meant to be this way, but it's easier to read then view on screen.

Fifty Shades of Grey does have a few moments, and only a few. Easily passable.
Super Reviewer
½ February 23, 2015
Despite being occasionally entertaining as a trashy erotic thriller, Fifty Shades of Grey's thin plot, shallow characters, terrible dialogue, and mediocre acting dampen the experience. The similarities to Twilight are remarkable (except the explicit sex scenes obviously) and after reading that this was originally fan fiction of Twilight everything made complete sense. The relationship is not a healthy one at all much like Twilight and the plot is thin at best. The excessive length of the film at over 2 hours was too much for what little plot there was. Nothing substantial happens in the second hour until the end when they end it on a cliffhanger for the next film. If you are a fan of the book I'm sure you will come away satisfied, but everyone else should skip unless they want to enjoy it as a trash romance.
Nate Z.
Super Reviewer
½ February 13, 2015
It's hard to be ignorant of the publishing phenomenon that is 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James. The erotic trilogy became notorious for its numerous and often outrageous sex scenes. I have many female friends, and relatives, who read the series, and while not a one will admit to finding the series ostensibly "good," they each read every book. In a way it reminds me of another popular yet critically maligned romantic series - Twilight. It should be no coincidence then that Grey began its early life as Twilight fan fiction. The movie adaptation was a hotly followed topic. After all, people argued, how could it possibly be rated R? How could you adapt it to the screen? With a female director (Sam Taylor-Johnson, wife to actor Aaron Taylor-Johnson) and a female screenwriter (Kelly Marcel) to steer the adaptation process, I figured I would at least get a sense of exactly what was so uncontrollably appealing about the series. For a film designed to be titillating and provocative, I came away wishing it had more action (of any sort) because the movie was just so freaking boring.

Anna (Dakota Johnson) subs for her sick roommate and gets to interview playboy billionaire Christian Grey (Jamie Dornan). He takes an interest in her innocence. And so he runs into her at the hardware store where she works, he fetches her after a drunken text on her part, and whisks her away to his luxurious Seattle high-rise. Before things can get frisky he has to share a secret. He's a dominant looking the world over for women who are willing to submit to him and be his submissive. The world of sadomasochism is a new one for Anna, a 22-year-old on the verge of graduating college. However, she's drawn to Christian and accepts his terms, and that's when the sex gets taken to another level.

So much of the film is the drawn out flirtation between two characters that I found painfully uninteresting. Wasn't this supposed to be the exciting and sexy story of risqué sex and overpowering urges? I'm by no means the target demographic but I felt unmoved by the onscreen sex because it was so sedate by Hollywood standards. I've seen more enthusiastic and engaging sex scenes skimming the channels of late-night cable TV. It certainly doesn't even come close to rivaling some of the steamier sequences of films past, like 9 1/2 Weeks, The Dreamers, Henry & June, Last Tango in Paris, The Piano, Risky Business, Sex and Lucia, Don't Look Now, Y Tu Mama Tambien, Dangerous Liaisons, sex, lies, and videotape, Little Children, Mullholland Drive, and Secretary. For fans of romance with BDSM, please give 2002's Secretary a chance since it is 500 shades superior to E.L. James.

I understand that most erotic TV series and films are readily designed for men, and 50 Shades was designed for women, and there are differences in approach and stimulation, but for a product that is famous for the degree of kink involved, I was sorely disappointed by the results. In short, the movie needs more kink. It plays out as an introductory guide to bondage and S&M. This aspect isn't even explored until the very end. It's too timid to really give in to the thrills of its premise and likewise the demand of its readership. There's a lot of nudity, mostly from Johnson, but the sex scenes themselves are rather ordinary and sedate, all things considered. There are four of them in total for those curious readers wishing to keep track (I also tried keeping track of the times Anna bit her lower lip but lost count). The sex scenes are filled with plenty of moaning but not a one of them builds up to climax, a strange omission since we're tracking Anna's pleasures. I wasn't expecting the graphic, and graphically drawn out, onscreen sex of Blue is the Warmest Color, but I was certainly expecting more after all the hubbub. In the end, a sexy movie is going to be known for its sexy scenes, which may or may not include sex (I feel like fans are going to be justifiably irked by the absence of full-frontal male nudity - come on, give the fans a bone here). 50 Shades of Grey is ironically far too tepid to register as much more than sub-soft core eroticism.

Then there are the characters, both of which are too one-dimensional, and also boring, to bring much interest. Cinema has always been interested in good-looking people getting it on, but unless there's careful attention to plot and character, then you're just recycling the same soft core setups. It is wholly transparent that James' novel began as Twilight fan fiction because the couple occupies the same unhealthy relationship roles. The female lead is a stand-in for the audience/readers; she's a mousey, shy, normal girl who gets swept away by a brooding and dangerous man who tells her he's no good, insists she should not be with him, but cannot help himself falling for her because he sees her inner beauty. He's more male chauvinist than complex character, and his obsession is less a sign of a tortured psyche and more, as displayed, a clear indication of a sexual predator. Anybody who requires his paramours to sign legal documents about what he can put inside them seems like somebody not worth knowing. He tracks her down across the country when she dares to see her mother because Anna didn't ask his permission. Control freak or a budding sociopath? With a lack of tawdry sex scenes, the far majority of the film is Anna and Christian ramping up their almost endless sexual tension, which the movie will hit you over the head with. I didn't feel a single thing between the two of them, partly because of how poorly written they are and also because of the lack of chemistry. We watch her bite her lip a thousand times. We watch her stammer. We watch him stare rather intently like a shark. The filmmakers are doing the work for us rather than allowing a romance to blossom organically. It's cajoled and manipulated and feels inauthentic in every sense, even before the trip to the playroom begins.

There is one standout scene that is actually sexy, and apparently it's quite different from the source material. As Anna and Christian go over his legal language for his submissive, they treat it as a business meeting with an arch sense of professionalism. It's one of the few times Anna displays a spark of personality, as well as decision-making, as she goes line by line and says what she will and will not do. It's played with a wry sense of humor but there's also a sexy undercurrent throughout the scene, where these two adults are having fun with the preliminaries. If the rest of 50 Shades of Grey had this same sense of personality and fun, it might have worked as an engrossing erotic fantasy.

Johnson (Need For Speed) is an enjoyable screen presence even if there's absolutely nothing interesting about her character. Anna is so absent a personality that it makes it easier for the story to present someone else doing all the work for her, pushing her, prodding her, giving her form. Johnson plays a lot of scenes for laughs, which work in a titter-generating way. I kept hearing Patricia Arquette's voice whenever she spoke, but I may be alone in this unusual observation. Dornan (TV's The Fall) on the other hand is terribly wooden. Again, he's playing a rather terrible character with rather terrible dialogue, but it's hard to feel any authentic sense of passion from the guy. It's hard to say whether these actors are miscast or whether there could ever possibly be a suitable matching because of how lacking the simplistic characters are. They're archetypes, and ones the movie has to keep persuading you are totally hot for one another.

So what is it that makes this property the would-be blockbuster that it is? The story arc has been done before for decades, going all the way back to Rudolph Valentino's Son of the Sheik: the mysterious prince who comes and sweeps the princess of her feet to his exotic world of privilege. 50 Shades isn't reinventing the wheel but it has struck a chord, and perhaps it's the wish fulfillment angle, the introductory angle to a world of BDSM, or the plain Jane ordinary heroine that acts as a cipher for readership. The books are the books and the movie must be judged on its own account. I'm sure most of the series' fans will be pleased one way or another, though I doubt many of them will find the movie an improvement over the book. Then again it does strip away James' wretchedly torrid writing. If it wasn't for the 100 million books sold worldwide, this movie wouldn't be generating any of the hype it is, but is that the film's fault? The hype machine unfairly builds expectations that will fail to be met, but then again it's the oversaturated exposure that has ensured 50 Shades of being a Valentine's weekend event for half the planet.

Surprisingly boring and rather tepid, 50 Shades of Grey feels too callow to be the provocative film experience it wants to be. It needs more of just about everything; more characterization, more organic coupling, more story, more romance, more kink. It is lacking in too many areas, though the production values are sleek, like it's the most technically accomplished episode of Red Shoe Diaries. It's a tedious story of the hazards and joys of giving up control, but I didn't care about the characters. I need more than pretty people staring at each other for an hour while a breathy remix of a Beyonce son plays over the scene (to be fair that Beyonce remix is hot). The actors don't connect together and the Christian character comes across as more of a monotone jerk than wounded bad boy. I'm sure 50 Shades has pushed millions into exploring aspects of their own sex lives they would not have felt comfortable exploring beforehand, and good for them. My friend Angie quipped that, if nothing else, the release of 50 Shades of Grey will cause a spike in battery sales for its opening weekend. It's a shame then that the movie is too limp where it counts to be serviceable.

Nate's Grade: C
Super Reviewer
September 12, 2015
Makes you feel ashamed. Not just because of the source material, but because you realize you are wasting two hours watching a movie about nonexistent characters and pointless plot points. It is about as artistic as putting a fork in a blender, and about as enjoyable as putting your hand in with it.

I hate this movie.
Super Reviewer
June 19, 2015
Trashy and exploitative, Fifty Shades of Grey is a provocative piece of escapist fantasy. In this dark and sadistic tale, a young woman named Anastasia Steele is drawn into a controlling and abusive relationship that's cloaked in eroticism. Both the story and the characters are poorly written, and the performances by Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan aren't very good. Also, the sex scenes don't feel congruent with the tone of the rest of the film; which undermines the development of the characters and their relationship. And while there's an attempt to make Anastasia empowered, she's really isn't, and is emotionally and physically abused to break her of her puritanical views of sex and romance. Fifty Shades of Grey is a vapid and pointless film that tries to get by on shock value.
Super Reviewer
March 11, 2015
Fifty Shades of Grey is that rare experience that leaves you angry, as it has insulted my intelligence and my attention. I don't even know where to begin. The cast try their hardest to make it past a worthless script and laughibly awful dialogue. Its involves Anastatia Steele, a young woman who interviews billionare Christian Grey. The two become quickly attracted to each other and she is pulled into his lavish world, but she soon discovers he has a dark secret. Dakota Johnson plays Anastatia and Jamie Dornan plays Christian. These two have little to no chemsitry on screen, with Johnson feeling like a young child against Dornans creepy and completely serious performance. A little humor could have done the characters some good, since the complete lack of any fun between them made their romance as boring as it comes. This is a film that was made strictly because of the success of the book, which most would agree is porn for soccer moms. It was not a well recieved book so I never imagined the film would be any better, but I gave it the benefit of the doubt nonetheless. But this erotic Twilight ripoff simply doesn't do anything interesting for nearly two hours and gives us a joyless and strange romance with actors with absolutely no chemistry. To call this film an expensive porno would be accurate, as the story here is about as intersting as a porno. Fifty Shades of Grey will certainly become a series, but it will clearly be made out of greed and not quality.
Super Reviewer
½ February 21, 2015
TIE ME UP, LET ME DOWN - My Review of FIFTY SHADES OF GREY (2 1/2 Stars)

Based on the originally self-published book by E.L. James, which originated as fan fiction of the TWILIGHT saga, FIFTY SHADES OF GREY is as toothless as its inspiration and strangely enough, bloodless. This is odd considering the BDSM nature of its central relationship.

Directed by Sam Taylor-Johnson (NOWHERE BOY) and adapted by Kelly Marcel (SAVING MR. BANKS), the filmmakers appear to have borrowed more from its kinkier 1986 predecessor, 9 1/2 WEEKS, than from the aforementioned Vampire Trilogy. With sleek but barren 80s-style Production Design by David Wasco (PULP FICTION) and uncharacteristically faceless cinematography from the usually brilliant Seamus McGarvey (ANNA KARENINA, ATONEMENT), FIFTY SHADES feels like an empty product from a lost time. Think FLASHDANCE with light domination instead of tight gyration. I mean, Jesus! Our heroine uses a flip phone fer crissakes! A flippin' flip phone!

Fortunately, that heroine is played by Dakota Johnson (daughter to Don Johnson and Melanie Griffith), and she is so good here that she almost makes the film worthwhile. I loved her on the short-lived sitcom, BEN AND KATE, noting her ability to utilize terrific comic timing while making room for vulnerability. Her style is highly reminiscent of her mother's, who claimed she learned how to relax and breathe in front of the camera by working with Mike Nichols on her star-making triumph, WORKING GIRL.

Her daughter has clearly taken her mother's advice and brings such charm to her role. The character is Anastasia Steele, a ridiculous name that I think even Fabio would be embarrassed were he to pose for a book cover called THE BODICE RIPPINGS OF ANASTASIA STEELE. Indeed, it's exactly where that character name belongs. Regardless, Johnson is poised to become a huge star, and her work here is deserving of praise.

Back to the story - Anastasia is sent by her roommate Kate, who comes down with the flu (Eloise Mumford, a dead ringer for Sienna Miller) to interview business tycoon, Christian Grey (Jamie Dornan) in her stead. Grey, of course, turns out to be young, gorgeous and manipulative. They quickly fall for each other. You can tell because she chews her pencil and he stares at her. Soon enough, he admits to her that he doesn't do romance and instead prefers a dominant/submissive relationship.

Naturally, because he's rich, great looking, has a helicopter, rents out gliders, and owns a killer apartment, she says yes. I suppose that's the aspirational appeal of this claptrap, but let's not kid ourselves; had Christian Grey been played by Jonah Hill as a homeless sexual deviant, she would be spraying mace instead of her scent all over this stinker.

Eventually, Grey starts raising the stakes by...um...really? He spanks her? He flogs her lightly? He covers her eyes and binds her hands with a necktie? I'm sorry, but I've seen more subversive acts in a Village People video than anything going on here. Late in the film, she asks Grey to bring out the big guns. He chooses a simple belt to whip her a few grades harder than before, but that damn belt was hanging next to notched paddles and fare edgier fare. Why pull punches at the climax? Many will say it's because Grey is developing feelings for Anastasia. That would be true if I believed Grey possessed them, but as portrayed by Dornan, he's a one-note empty shell. Sure, that's the part he was hired to play, and I'm sure Dornan has some talent, but he's just not given the chance. I kept waiting for something shocking - a cigar burn, welts, blood, crazy zipper masks - I don't know. When did sex movies become so tame? This is just kinda boring, meandering, and oftentimes silly. It's not the disaster everyone was fearing/hoping for, mainly because of Johnson, but it's not gonna make anyone whip out a c*m rag either. SHORTBUS seems so long ago.
Super Reviewer
August 19, 2014
Here I am, sitting within an entire cinema full of what I assume is horny book worm women.... and I mean.. FULL.. there was like, maybe... two other poor guys, that looked like they had been dragged along to this opening screening... and I suddenly felt like I was that kid who was about to be turned into a mouse in that movie "The Witches" because I'M AN INTRUDER....

SO, while these women fight over better seats, because they're not sitting in their allocated seats, the arguments that prevailed was the highlight of my night... with groups of 50+ year old women refusing to move seats so they could get a better view of their knight and shining armour they all fantasied over all these years... security was called, popcorn was COLD and even Mr. Grey took his bloody helicopter and said they're all fifty shades of f%# up...

Put aside my traumatising event of attending this premier because of those being psychotically frustrated around me, the film started 30 minutes late because of these selfish seat issues. I found my self enjoying the awkward funny element of the story more than I liked the book. With only reading half of the book, I only seen half of this coming..

For those who don't know, 50 Shades is originally a popular book trilogy that traces a relationship between a college graduate and business man. It is notable for its explicitly erotic scenes featuring elements of sexual practices involving bondage/discipline, dominance/submission, and sadism/masochism (BDSM)., if you didn't catch that... there you go.

Anyway, the film entertained me and of course, my girlfriend, who would be the only reason I sit in fear inside my home away from home watching a movie like this at the cinema... on a full moon... full of hungry vampires.... lol.. no.. It's a great film to get out with your girlfriend, boyfriend.. or.. your right hand... or, that creepy person sitting next to you.... just take this as a warning that the cinema for this flick, may or may not turn into WWE WrestleMania 50.

I can see this being a cult classic, with Team Grey T-shirts and maybe some vampires or shiny diamonds of some sort in the next movie, just sayin... more dragons would be cool too.... However, I really enjoyed this film and loved the ending (because I was able to get to my helicopter and fly very far away) haha, nah, It was a great ending and I will look forward to the next film... Just not the premier... I may even read the bloody book because I'm bloody interested now ain't I...

Overall... that's all. Later baby.

PS. Dear Local Cinema, if you ever hold the sequel premier, we're going to need a bigger boat.
Eddie Chung
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2015
Neither competent nor graphic enough to stand on it's own, Fifty Shades of Grey will struggle to resonate with any of its audience.
Super Reviewer
February 19, 2015
Trying to spice up soft core pulp by hard selling a limp romance, this oftentimes dull adaptation of E.L. James' steamy novel ends up to be many shades shy of sexy or entertaining. At least, the movie tries classing up the joint. The novel's one-note first person prose wants for creativity so bad that it might as well be presenting an emotionless MS-DOS conversation between a computer and user. But many readers submitted wholeheartedly to this rudimentary format, expectantly awaiting H'Wood to up the ante of their lurid fantasies with a full tilt boogie bells and whistles, er, whips and chains interpretation. Despite coloring in the Grey areas by focusing on the courtship, backstories of the two PYTs, and build-up to the S&M in the first act, the rest plays out like a whimper--not a bang. It's amazing how a flick with so many supposedly scintillating acts actually ends up to be boring. Even with all of the hard bodies and spanking, no sparks fly between what's on screen and the audience. Worse, moments and whole scenes abruptly just end. Nothing, ahem, climaxes. It's understood that Christian Grey isn't a romantic but his masochistic acts should at least elicit more than yawns from moviegoers.

In this R-rated adaptation of the erotic romance novel by E.L. James, literature student Anastasia Steele's (Johnson) life changes forever when she meets handsome, yet tormented, billionaire Christian Grey (Dorman).

Director Sam Taylor-Wood attempts to bring some verve to their 'dating' portion, trying to get you invested in these rather colorless characters. Ultimately, however, she and screenwriter Kelly Marcel fail to make the goings-on go flush with liveliness. Dakota Johnson seems bound for bigger and better things despite this tourist trap stop in Dullsville. Jamie Dorman, meanwhile, sometimes looks the part but sometimes looks like he doesn't want to be there either.

Bottom line: No Spank You, Ma'am
Page 1 of 223