Opening

20% The Identical Sep 05
20% The Longest Week Sep 05
71% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
72% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.1M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.9M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
31% As Above/So Below $8.6M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.3M
37% The November Man $7.9M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $6.0M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.6M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

—— The League: Season 6

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
56% Legends: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
43% Houdini: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3

The Fighting Seabees Reviews

Page 2 of 3
April 23, 2014
Watching one of my all time favourite movies. I watched it countless times as a kid.
March 19, 2014
another good WWII propaganda pic
April 20, 2012
Army is still better...
December 14, 2011
This is a straight up Hollywood- propoganda- you-better-we-can-beat-the-Japs flick. While briefly kinda sorta capsulizing the creation of the SeaBees construction battalion during World War 2 it's loaded with good ole John Ford/ Wayne Irish drinking buddies battling stock war footage Japanese and USA Navy command. It's a paint by the numbers film but it's a great example of golden age Hollywood supporting the war effort in the 1940's.
Dave J
August 8, 2011
Monday, August 8, 2011

(1944) The Fighting Seabees
WAR

Silly propoganda patriotic war picture centers on a construction crew who do construction work for the US army! With John Wayne as the man whose in charge of instructing the workers what to do! Wayne is not a commander yet, but is granted to be one after disobeying an order of hiding out in a bunker, but as soon as a single person doesn't listen and gets himself shot in the process, he valiantly grabs a bunch of guns for his construction workers and leads them to a fight against the Japanese even though most of them had no experience in weapon training. In the first 30 minutes of the film, Wayne gets angry because his construction crew aren't allowed to be equiped for any weapons to defend themselves against surprise atacks from the Japanese, even though Waynes construction crew received no army training in handling a guns and then gets awarded as commander for getting most of his unprofessionally trained construction crew shot and killed in the process of doing this pointless act. This is an entirely a fictional propoganda US war picture, made 1 year before WWII ended!

1.5 out of 4
Apeneck F

Super Reviewer

June 2, 2011
No more no less than a propaganda film, made during wartime. Wayne plays a construction chief convinced to the necessity of training construction workers to fight as well. There's a couple of good action scenes and Susan Wayward for the curious love angle ( she's the only female around on a Japanese held island!). Standard fare.
TWIAL123
May 24, 2010
U havent seen Fighting Seabees?
Henrik S

Super Reviewer

December 26, 2009
Watched it for 30 minues but lost my interest. Pointless American Propagandha flick.
339z
November 15, 2009
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch....its got a good cast of actors/actressess throguhout this movie.....i think that dennis o keefe, john wayne, susan hayward play good roles/parts throughout this movie....i think that the director of this wartime/drama/action/adventure movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie....i think that the fight scenes n the gun shoot outs were good throughout this movie i think that this is a good war movie 2 watch
Hamee
August 3, 2009
I think that I can survive without this one.
July 25, 2009
Saw it before and really love his movies
ima365ryder
March 11, 2009
Outstanding movie John Wayne is my family favorite actor
xxxcli213xxx
December 10, 2008
no thanks not my kinda thing
November 22, 2008
All-American hero John Wayne takes a crew of construction workers and turns them into one of WWII's toughest fighting forces in this action-packed war classic. But first he has to convince the army b...( read more read more... )rass to let his civilians bear arms, and then he's got to whip them into combat shape. Now Wayne is fighting for his life on a different battlefield when he's brought up on court-martial charges for leading his troops in an all-out assault against the Japanese. It's Wayne at his best, playing the kind of rough-and-tumble man of honor that made him a legend and Hollywood's biggest star. An entertaining combination of strong supporting performances by Daniel O'Keefe and ravishing, about-to-be superstar Susan Hayward.
abricru
April 2, 2008
Love the pairing of Hayward and Wayne. Love the movie, but the romantic subplot has a silly ending to me.
Whitewarriorfightingevil
February 1, 2008
i sang this is school and i am scared for life
lepip33
July 19, 2007
My favorit war propoganda movie.
mrsdad513
June 22, 2007
its a very good flim
Page 2 of 3
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile