Opening

62% The Maze Runner Sep 19
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
45% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
53% Z Nation: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Final Destination (2000)

tomatometer

33

Average Rating: 4.7/10
Reviews Counted: 93
Fresh: 31 | Rotten: 62

Despite a panel of X-Files' alums at the helm and a promising premise, flighty performances and poor execution keep Final Destination from ever taking off.

36

Average Rating: 4.5/10
Critic Reviews: 28
Fresh: 10 | Rotten: 18

Despite a panel of X-Files' alums at the helm and a promising premise, flighty performances and poor execution keep Final Destination from ever taking off.

audience

69

liked it
Average Rating: 3.4/5
User Ratings: 481,797

My Rating

Movie Info

Alex Browning, is embarking on a trip to Paris with his high school French class. In the plane's cabin, buckled-in and ready for take-off, Alex experiences a powerful premonition. He sees the plane explode in a fiery blaze moments after leaving the ground. Alex panics and insists that everyone get off the plane. In the melee than ensues, seven people including Alex, are forced to disembark the ill-fated aircraft. Back in the departure lounge, Alex and his friends Billy and Tod; Clear a young

Sep 26, 2000

New Line Cinema - Official Site External Icon

Watch It Now

Cast

Latest News on Final Destination

November 20, 2007:
Are You Ready for Final Destination 4?
Final Destination 2 director David R. Ellis will soon be taking moviegoers to the most final-est...
October 3, 2007:
James Wong to Write, Direct Live-Action Dragon Ball Movie?
Last month, we discussed the news that Fox had fast-tracked its long-planned Dragon Ball live-action...

ADVERTISEMENT

Friend Ratings

No Friends? Inconceivable! Log in to see what your friends have to say.

All Critics (100) | Top Critics (28) | Fresh (31) | Rotten (62) | DVD (28)

Generates a respectable amount of suspense and takes a few unexpected turns while covering familiar territory.

March 27, 2009 Full Review Source: Variety | Comment (1)
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This portentous chiller is a nasty piece of work.

January 26, 2006 Full Review Source: Time Out
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Pure garbage.

January 1, 2000 Full Review Source: Detroit News | Comments (3)
Detroit News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

An original shocker that keeps the tension going.

January 1, 2000 Full Review Source: Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The writing by Wong, Glen Morgan and Jeffrey Reddick meets the low standards of a mediocre TV movie.

January 1, 2000
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It starts by cheating death and ends by cheating us.

January 1, 2000
Boston Globe
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Teens fear the reaper in this so-so thriller.

January 1, 2011 Full Review Source: Common Sense Media
Common Sense Media

Becomes little more than a typical--if highly atmospheric--slasher film, complete with the cheesy dialogue and gimmicky conclusion.

January 3, 2010 Full Review Source: TheMovieReport.com
TheMovieReport.com

...an innovative (and unexpectedly influential) exercise in horror.

September 29, 2009 Full Review Source: Reel Film Reviews
Reel Film Reviews

...glib, well produced, and reasonably well acted, adding up to slick pop drivel.

April 25, 2009 Full Review Source: Movie Metropolis | Comment (1)
Movie Metropolis

About as subtle as an amplified death rattle--only not quite as fun to listen to.

September 16, 2007 Full Review Source: Bangor Daily News (Maine)
Bangor Daily News (Maine)

Tedious and derivative, it will soon be long forgotten.

February 17, 2005 Full Review Source: Cinemania | Comment (1)

A grossly underrated horror film with an intriguing premise and foreboding atmosphere.

February 6, 2003 Full Review Source: Radio Free Entertainment | Comment (1)
Radio Free Entertainment

"Hamhanded teen-philosophy stuff about fate and death's design and living forever and nobody controls my destiny."

January 31, 2003 Full Review Source: Flick Filosopher
Flick Filosopher

A ridiculous film, but I guess I had fun watching it.

July 20, 2002 Full Review Source: Goatdog's Movies
Goatdog's Movies

Porťm, o filme ť bem-sucedido naquele que ť o quesito mais importante para este tipo de produÁ„o: assusta.

May 31, 2002 Full Review Source: Cinema em Cena
Cinema em Cena

There's some mind-numbing dialogue as teenagers spout philosophical soundbites about Life and Death, but it's worth the wait just to see a guy's head sliced in half by a sheet of steel.

March 24, 2002 Full Review Source: Boston Phoenix
Boston Phoenix

It's an adrenaline-fuelled film full of big jolts, black humour and a nicely building sense of foreboding and dread.

December 10, 2001 Full Review Source: Shadows on the Wall
Shadows on the Wall

A fun romp with some genuinely chilling shocks.

April 17, 2001 Full Review Source: BBC.com
BBC.com

Devoid of logic, suspense, humor, credible characters or even a whiff of imagination, Final Destination deserves an untimely demise of its own.

January 1, 2000
South Florida Sun-Sentinel

If you feel in the need for a generic teen horror film, there is no reason to choose this one over any of the others.

January 1, 2000 Full Review Source: Internet Reviews
Internet Reviews

If ever there was a vehicle destined to be shown late at night on the USA Network, "Final Destination" is it.

January 1, 2000 Full Review Source: Deseret News, Salt Lake City
Deseret News, Salt Lake City

Audience Reviews for Final Destination

"If the movie theater is your final destination, pray to Thy Deity that this has not been reissued."

Final Destination is based on an unproduced X-Files episode, called ‚Flight 180‚≥. If you already knew this, who‚(TM)s to say whether you‚(TM)ve even seen the movie. That one factoid is, as far as I‚(TM)m concerned, the only interesting point in Final Destination, and you can find it anywhere free of spoilers. Let‚(TM)s consider that The X-Files didn‚(TM)t want to produce ‚Flight 180‚≥. Now I must wonder, why would anyone waste over $20 million making a movie out of something that had the dramatic depth of an X-Files episode, refuse to enhance it from that, and cast the druggie side of Hollywood teens (those from Varsity Blues and American Pie).

Read more at themoviefreakblog.com
November 22, 2013
spielberg00

Super Reviewer

If Death had a personality ... what kind of personality would that be? The first of the series makes a strong start with the proposition that the Reaper might be a poetic yet meticulous workman, an artist, bound to see a job through no matter what. A guilty pleasure of mine.
October 26, 2011
ApeneckFletcher

Super Reviewer

Great idea for a film, but the cast executed their roles poorly. I remember thinking this movie was thrilling and eerie when I was 11 at the time of release, but being older now and watching.....it's just kinda cheesy.
September 26, 2011
Eric Alvarez

Super Reviewer

I can't believe this film is 11 years old. This must be one of the most enjoyable cinematic experiences I've ever had, and certainly one of the most memorable. Being 15 and seeing these cartoon death scenes in live action with gratuitous gore was awesome. I've decided to revisit the franchise and this film still holds up. There's great build up towards the opening disaster. It's filled with dread, even after having seen it so many times. The film is brilliant in that death is an unseen entity, you can't outrun it. As the death toll increases, the paranoia sets in. It also has some excellent moments of comedy without ever getting so stupid. Most importantly, we can actually care for some of these characters. They are not kept in this insular vacuum either. The FBI do take notice, but aren't trying to terrify these kids. It's weird, funny, and a little frightening. Perfect late night entertainment.
August 29, 2011
kiriyamakazou

Super Reviewer

    1. Clear Rivers: It's almost autumn.
    2. Alex Browning: It's the end of June.
    – Submitted by Alyssa B (12 months ago)
    1. Carter Horton: I told you, You were next!
    2. Alex Browning: So then, it skipped me.
    3. Carter Horton: So, who's next?
    – Submitted by Matthew D (23 months ago)
    1. Bludworth: There are No Accidents. No Coincidences. No Escapes. YOU CAN"T CHEAT DEATH.
    – Submitted by April B (2 years ago)
    1. Student Singer: You my friend here's to you my friend.
    – Submitted by Peter A (2 years ago)
    1. Tod Waggner: We say that the hour of death cannot be forecast. But when we say this, we imagine that the hour is placed in an obscure and distant future. It never occurs to us that it has any connection with the day already begun, or that death could arrive this same afternoon - this afternoon which is so certain, and which has every hour filled in advance.
    – Submitted by Kerwin M (2 years ago)
    1. Carter Horton: As far as I know, this shit can circle around and get us all again. But for right now, I'm the safest fucker in the world, because you're still NEXT.
    – Submitted by Kerwin M (2 years ago)
View all quotes (8)

Discussion Forum

Discuss Final Destination on our Movie forum!

What's Hot On RT

Critics Consensus
Critics Consensus

Maze Runner is Better than Average

Simon Pegg
Simon Pegg

What are his Five Favorite Films?

Hunger Games
Hunger Games

New Mockingjay - Part 1 trailer

Talk Like a Pirate Day
Talk Like a Pirate Day

Memorable pirates picture gallery

Foreign Titles

  • Final Destination (2000) (DE)
  • Final Destination (2000) (CA)
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile